We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel - great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Plaza Panama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Plaza Panama to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 50 con 53 este | Urb. Marbella, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 111 Hotels in Panama City
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel - great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We had a great week long stay here.
The hotel is beautiful inside and kept very clean. Rooms were large and were cleaned impeccably by the cleaning staff. There were more English tv channels then we typically have when we travel. Heard mention of water not being warm in the reviews but it was great - hot all the time. Comfy bed. Great view of city from 31st floor.

Staff at hotel were very nice - always genuinely courteous. There is a need for more staff to speak English as we often struggled communicating in the hotel (this also resulted in us paying more for items than we should have).

Extra special mention to Benjamin in the lobby - he was very welcoming, extremely helpful (and a fluent english speaker!) and really ensured our stay was top notch. He's a fantastic asset to the hotel.

The ladies at the concierge desk were so helpful and pleasant - thanks very much Karen! Thanks also to Angela.
The pool area is seriously an oasis in the middle of a big bustling city. It was kept very clean, had great music, and great service - all the time. Horacio was just awesome making sure everything at the pool is perfect and he's friendly and welcoming! We ended up forgoing plans to go to the beach to stay here and enjoy the great pool time.
Thanks to Lorenzo at hotel bar - helpful and welcoming.
As mentioned in other reviews the breakfast is great - you couldn't ask for more. Great selection. Friendly staff.
Few tips for travelers:
-Try and take cabs from down the street (ie bus stop to the left when you exit hotel) instead of from hotel. The cabs totally take advantage and locals don't pay more than $3/4 to go anywhere in city. We told cabbies what we wanted to pay (establish this before you get in) and we would give them the exact amount when we got out of the cab (make sure you do this). If they don't agree to the amount, let them go, others will stop 15 secs later and one of them will agree to the price.
-There is a full 24 hour grocery store on via espana a 8 min walk from the hotel called Reys. Great for getting snacks, liquor etc.
-Calle Urugray is a 4 min walk from the hotel (walk left when you exit hotel) and there is some nightlife there and other hotels etc. A lot of prostitutes in the spots along there so we preferred Bits at the Hard Rock hotel (note they scammed us on drinks so be careful)
-If you make a left when you leave the hotel and go down Calle Urugray you can walk right down to the Cinca Costera where you can walk along the water all the way to the old city (you will see the fish market along the way).
-Another lively area close to the hotel to eat or visit the casinos; walk up to Beirut (many other things around there once you get to Beirut you'll see)
-Recommend getting some basic spanish phrases and words before you arrive. You will struggle (as we did) if you don't, as most people in Panama do not speak any English.
Suggestion for hotel:
Keep up the excellent work. We will definitely be back and will recommend to others! Consider inviting guests (by invitation delivered to their room) to social nights at the bar downstairs so that guests can meet other guests. There were other couples at the hotel that we would have liked to meet in an informal setting. Also the bar area is fantastic and appears to be often empty.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    382
    101
    48
    37
See reviews for
205
338
53
328
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel is one of the best in Panama City. It is reasonably priced and at least when we were there seemed to be a mecca for various commercial conferences and meetings. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Travellers should know that closing the room cuts off the electricity unless a key is left in the inside slot. The food is alright but eating in a nearby restaurant is probably the best move. Service is quite good at the RIU and this extends to getting a cab or a bus to the Old City or the canal. Panama is hot and humid at all times of year so lunch at the pool area is popular.
I would not advise walking around Panama City at night, cabs are plentiful and the cost is reasonable. The breakfast is very good, just be careful when you consume it. A late breakfast leads to a feeling that you are being hustled out. You are. The breakfast buffet is included in the price and I would advise eating early.
All in all this is a reasonably priced hotel and one of the best in Panama City.

Room Tip: The higher the better. Panama City can be a noisy place during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Panama City doesn't boast many hotels this clean and luxurious. The rooms are large, spotless and well-equipped, with WiFi.

The service is friendly and helpful and mainly English-speaking, although we found the concierge service a little under-staffed.

The breakfast buffet is plentiful, with lots of options (try the traditional Panamanian breakfast!), fresh juices and great coffee. The restaurant by the pool is excellent, with fantastic food, including vegetarian options and great ambience.

A little cafe in the lobby sells sandwiches, but this is somewhat overpriced. Room service is extremely efficient. The gym is small but clean and well-equipped.

The location is good, although a taxi within the city is only a few $ anyway (walk a few hundred yards away from the hotel and flag a taxi down to get a better price!). For a great view of the city at night, head up to the terrace on the roof over the pool.

All round, this hotel is good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

The Riu Plaza is located in the heart of Panama City. It is a great hotel with fantastic rooms. It is only a short walk over to Hard rock casino. The are several shops and restaurants all within walking distance. Prices for rooms are quit reasonable. $200 for a 1 brm suite that is quite large.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed seven nights in Feb-Mar 2014. Considering we were there during carnival, the hotel was busy but managed the crowds well. One of the elevators stoped working on a Friday night and was fixed on Monday morning which was as much as anyone could expect, remaining two handled the volume fairly well. Rooms very nice, Glass wall between very modern bathroom with two sinks, fridge flatscreenTV. Traffic is heavy but crossing street etc. not a problem as it moves slow. Walking after dark was OK if you are heading towards the ocean, We did have someone follow us as we headed up to the Marriot one night but shining a flashlight around seems to deter them. Pool is nice and the felow looking after deck chairs etc. was very helpfull. Food at the pool was good and the drinks OK, don't order anything complicated.
Buffet breakfast very good and service also top notch.
Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 26th floor and the view was great! Our room, 2621 looked down on the pool which was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

So I'm taking a shower, look down and see yellow water all over the tub (i'm like... did I just pee?).

I get out and see that the water that I was tacking a shower absolutely yellow. Yuck.

I am sure that someone in the hotel knew about the "yellow water" and did nothing. They just dont careñ

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed 5 nights for a family wedding, and used the Riu as a base for shopping, touring, and generally being astonished by Panama City, a town that in 15 years has gone from backwater to boom town full of glitter and skyscrapers.The hotel is big and busy like many business hotels, but the staff is very friendly and helpful. Location is ideal for walking to shopping centers and Calle Uruguay clubs and restaurants. The pool restaurant is very pleasant as well for dinner, and the breakfast, as every review has mentioned, is unbelievable. The lobby snack bar is convenient for snacks and sandwiches, particularly take-away, and there are dozens of fast fooderies and fine dining in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Panama

Address: Calle 50 con 53 este | Urb. Marbella, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#6 Business Hotel in Panama City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
#9 Family Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 644
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Plaza Panama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.