We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for business or pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Plaza Panama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Plaza Panama to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 50 con 53 este | Urb. Marbella, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 111 Hotels in Panama City
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great location for business or pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

For the first part of the trip we are staying at the RIU Plaza Panama City. I have stayed at many RIU Resorts over the years and figured this was a safe bet given we planned this at the last minute. It turns out this is an excellent choice. The hotel is less then 2 years old and a great location for both business & pleasure. This morning the First Lady of Panama was here. Apparently it's a very popular spot among the diplomats and executives.
The rooms are large with floor to ceiling window giving you great view of the city. This morning we enjoyed a wonderful buffet breakfast at Restaurant Art which is included with your stay.
The hotel offers many amenities one of which I am enjoying now, the pool.
This is definitely a good choice when staying in the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    382
    101
    48
    37
See reviews for
205
338
53
328
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is in the business district. We thought that business people would expect service like we are used to in the US, but they don't get it. With the exception of Marco at the pool bar,who was exceptional, we saw groups of staff at breakfast, and in the bars, just chatting together instead of attending to customer needs. We waited 10 minutes for coffee at breakfast, and the same in the Studio bar for service there. It's inexcusable, and its a management issue that needs to be addressed.

Room Tip: There are 20 floors before you have to pay executive prices. As for one of the higher floors as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have stayed here twice now, staff at Reception are average, not overly efficient or knowledgable but pleasant. Lifts are confusing, make sure you get the correct one for your floor. Breakfast is good and waiters are generally extremely good, coffee is outstanding. Not much to see if you go for a walk outside but seems to be within quick reach of activity by taxi. Rooms are modern and veery very nice, lighting controls took a bit of getting used to. Really liked this hotel and would recommend for business or holiday

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We booked last minute for excellent value, and had a great stay. Staff was fantastic - accommodating, friendly and willing to offer assistance with restaurant bookings and tour recommendations. Would recommend upgrade to Club access, and take a cab... traffic at rush hour (4-7pm was CRAZY!) Pool was beautiful, and sushi restaurant modern and chic. Buffet breakfast was AWESOME! Thanks for a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: We were on 32nd floor - great view of city scape. Ask for a dehumidifier to help with air circulati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camano Island, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Friendly helpful staff, excellent breakfast with great selection came with the room. Location in Panama is on we'll traveled street near banking area and not far from shopping malls. Car parking was included.
I liked the decor and layout of the room, comfortable and modern.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Best location, breakfast buffet included in rate and it is expectacular one of the most complete buffet breakfast i've had. Rooms are spacious and staff is wonderful. Free wifi and parking. Highly recomend staying here. We travel to Panama every other month for a week and since we discovered the Riu. It is our place of stay

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a new hotel (from 2010) that still looks and smells new. Has a good atmosphere and the rooms are very nice with comfortable beds and flat screen tv. In Panama hotels are expensive for what they really are (value wise), but this one offers a good balance dollar vs comfort. Now, I mean physical comfort: The bed, room quality. If you're on business you'll find WiFi is a pain. Doesn't work well in the rooms. You have to go to the lobby. Then towels are not thorouly washed and have this light "smell". Calling front desk after 9pm a challenge. When they do answer, do not know who's calling. Service still a challenge at this place. But I pick it for the price and just because it's new.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Panama

Address: Calle 50 con 53 este | Urb. Marbella, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#6 Business Hotel in Panama City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
#9 Family Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 644
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Plaza Panama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.