We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Panama" hats off to Casa Sucre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel
Calle 8 y Ave B, Casco Viejo, Panama City 64063, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 71 Panama City B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“"Panama" hats off to Casa Sucre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

What a treat it was staying at the Casa Sucre with inn keepers Alyce and Rich! They are the wonderful hosts in this beautifully restored and decorated boutique hotel in Casco Viejo. They were very helpful in recommending local restaurants and activities as well as connecting us with the expertise of driver/guide Tomas. The comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms and breakfasts in the cafe made us feel quite at home. A great introduction to Panama City!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    23
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
58
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed for four nights with Rich and Alyce at Casa Sucre and had a lovely stay. The apartment that we had was set of from an interior patio and it was very secure and quiet. They were SO helpful with directions and set us up on a tour to the Embera Village that was one of the highlights of our three week trip to Panama. They have an adjoining coffee shop/cafe that was fantastic with great espressos. We would definitely return to Casa Sucre. Very clean. Very secure. Very private.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I spend 10 days in Casa Sucre and it was a haven of peace coming there from the busy city. Alyce and Richard are very kind and helpful, so is their staff. Food and drinks in the restaurant are nice and tasty, and it's a great place to sit, have a rest and watch the world go by. Casa Sucre is in a great location and you can walk around Casco Vejo, no need for a taxi, everything is in walking distance. I will stay here again when I come back to Panama.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casasucre1, Owner at Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and comments. We wish you safe travels as you continue on your journey.

Best,
Rich, Alyce and Abisha;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentville, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We booked this hotel on-line and it was a great find! We arrived by bus (exhausting) and were very warmly welcomed by Alyse and Richard, our owner hosts who spoke perfect English. Great music and some red wine sympathetically offered to soothe and calm us did a great job at reviving our spirits . We loved the Casco Viejo , old Panama City , neighbourhood where they are located, near the Presidential Palace. This is an up and coming area with tons of history, restorations, and photo ops. Our hosts gave us good tips and suggestions . We ate at nearby restaurants within walking distance ( Casa Blanca, Tantala, Clementinas) and ran out of time before we ran out of exciting discoveries here. Casa Sucre also has a cafe with delicious treats and that is where breakfast is served each day. There is a Cerveseria, La Rana Dorado that serves on site draught beer ( a bit of a rarity we found) within walking distance , heading towards the fish market .
Rooms are comfortable , ( AC, WiFi ) well decorated and have access to outdoor balconies and a large common area with comfortable seating . Our room had TV, fridge, microwave and en suite. We visited during the National Patri celebrations and as Alyse and Richard headed out fora mini break, they left us to lock up and leave on our own time . Taxis are readily available here and cost about $8 to the Domestic Airport here; $12 to the Panama Canal Miraflores Locks

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Taxi dropped me off right in front of Casa Sucre on my birthday visit to Panama. Ready to live it up as much as I do in Miami, I needed a caffein booster and stopped into this quaint cafe. Decor was so cool, old, historical, clever, and cozy. We took in their extensive menu, ordered what turned out to be great coffee, and quickly made chit-chat with the owners. Wow, these people were so nice, before long the owner was walking us over to a near by club Tantalo to help us get on the list for that night's rooftop party. We drank our excellent coffee in this superb little cafe and set off to buy some souveneirs. Before long, the owner of Casa Sucre came walking down the street towards us to give us wrist bracelets to make our entrance to that night's festivities smoother.They were so welcoming and sweet, I really felt at home. If I lived in Panama, I would be there every day! So if you do go to Casco Viejo, put this on your list!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

What do you want in a great overnight place to stay: clean, comfortable, friendly, great location and more? Casa Sucre has all of this and more. The hotel is a beautifully restored building that is almost 200 years old - I am a contractor, and I was very impressed. The location is so convenient to the extremely quaint Casco Viejo (historic area of Panama); once you find a parking area you can walk to everything: food, shopping, historic buildings, etc.

Now the best for last, the owners are the greatest. Not only did they make us feel welcome and at home, but the morning we were leaving and on our way to the airport, our car's battery died. The owners, Alyce and Rich, and there employee (did not get his name) spent a good half an hour or more to help us; they ran to a adjacent business owner and found jumper cables, waited for the battery to get a little charged and got our car started to make sure we got to the airport on time. What hotel is going to go out of the way like that? These people and Casa Sucre are the best!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night and it was our favorite place out of many during our trip. The location could not of been better with many restaurants nearby. The rooms are clean and comfortable and our stay was most enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle 8 y Ave B, Casco Viejo, Panama City 64063, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midwest Hospitality in the Middle of the Americas and a Home Cooked Breakfast to Start Your Day! Located in the historic Casco Viejo neighborhood of San Felipe, Panama, Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel is a renovated 1873 five bedroom three apartment guest house for those visiting our historic city. With its unique architectural history, picturesque buildings, cathedrals and churches, ruins, museums, varied and diverse cultures, and gourmet restaurants, guests of Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel will have the best of the city waiting just outside their door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.