We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel
Calle 8 y Ave B, Casco Viejo, Panama City 64063, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 74 Panama City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We LOVE this place. It was home away from home. Casa Sucre is one of the loveliest B&B I’ve ever seen with cherry hard wood floors adorned with wicker furniture, oversized modern paintings, and mini-palm trees. The rooms are impeccably clean and cozy. The hotel owners (Alyce and Richard) are gracious, warm, and completely inviting. And they make an amazing breakfast, perfect to one's individual liking. I highly recommend this beautiful hotel, located in Casco Viejo, a lovely neighborhood with wonderful restaurants and striking architecture.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    25
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
61
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Casco Viejo has so much character that a stay in this area of the city is a must. It's the most fabulous area to just wander around in all day and wonder. Rich and Alyce are truly divine and never did I hesitate to ask questions. They can help you with anything and you need to save some room for the wonderful breakfasts. Upon arrival my wife and I were treated to champagne. I would not hesitate to stay here again...better see it before the Casco Viejo changes too much!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

This B&B was recommended as part of our wedding party-- arrangements for 3 nights were easy and direct on-line and reasonable; but, we wondered --what really to expect? With its "sugar" name, small size & its almost ancient neighborhood and the brief glimpses we saw on-line. Of course, being sorta "country-mice" from the rural USA south and leaving our house about 3:20 AM to travel to such a big city, its refreshing and calming to be taken directly to the front door, met by a strong staffer who quickly handles the luggage and soon be relaxing in a comfy room with plenty of beverages, snacks and air-conditioning. To be brief, we had a good stay, ate & drank well and liked the B&B--and they even took care of my scratched ear-- bleeding in a crazy way during my shower- about 1 hour before the wedding. Thanks!

Room Tip: We hit a week when street/ sewer construction/repairs were busy--our nice corner room seemed to catc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The location in the old part of Panama city is wonderful, the apartment we stayed in -comfortable but the owners are the real treasure of the sweet Casa Sucre ! we spent only one night in their warm, modest Palace and enjoyed it very much. The art on the walls is wonderful, the breakfast delicious and plentiful but above all will remain with me their warmth and the joyful welcome we received. A big thank you Rich and Alyce.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

It is impossible to imagine a more wonderful spot than the Casa Sucre. Upon arrival we were greeted and hugged by the lovely owner Alyce who was very helpful and attentive. She proudly showed us out suite and answered all of our questions. She then gave us a bottle of champagne and that was the start of a beautiful three nights.

The Casa Sucre is a loving restored UNESCO Heritage site in the middle of the most enchanting neighborhood in the city and possibly all of Central America. The owners take pride in their home and they will happily sit and chat with guests. We enjoyed the owners and many of the other guests as we sat having evening drinks.

Each morning Alyce made breakfast herself and needless to say, the food was amazing. French toast the first day, omeletes the second, hearty fruit salad the third.

Most imprtantly, the rooms were tastefully decorated and very comfortable. There was plenty of hot water and the neighborhood was sleepy quiet after 10 or so.

For a truly special experience, I highly recommend staying here. One night and they will make you feel like you are at home.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Casa Sucre is a beautifully restored post-colonial bed and breakfast located in _the_ neighborhood to stay while in Panama, Casco Viejo. I stayed there twice, in the Sucre Dos room and later in my trip with friends, in the Calicanto Suite. Both rooms were well-appointed, spotless, and nicely (if simply) furnished.

Casa Sucre offers everything I've come to expect from small hotels and B&Bs in the last decade or so of traveling: intimate, restored surroundings that make you feel like you have a home away from home in a foreign country (instead of an impersonal big box hotel), a free breakfast in the morning, more reasonable prices generally, and individualized attention and assistance with questions. But of all the places I've stayed, Casa Sucre is far and away the most warm and friendly. Richard and Alyce truly put their heart and soul into the property, and it shows in every detail, from the quality of the restoration and the furnishings to their warmth and friendliness. And Alyce's breakfast is not your typical B&B breakfast: Expect a hot meal, including some of the best scrambled eggs and omelets you'll ever eat.

If you come to Panama City, you should stay in the Casco, and if you do, you should stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah Valley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

For travel -weary North Americans tourists, Casa Sucre is a wonderful respite. Beautiful, well appointed rooms, are such a treat and are presided over by charming proprietor Alyce Sherman. Her breakfast was one of the best I've ever had served in a B and B. Located in Casco Viejo, the "French Quarter" of Panama City, Casa Sucre is a great base for sight-seeing and experiencing the best of Panama City. Alyce can make a lot of excellent recommendations.

Room Tip: I'd select a room on the inside courtyard where there is less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle 8 y Ave B, Casco Viejo, Panama City 64063, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midwest Hospitality in the Middle of the Americas and a Home Cooked Breakfast to Start Your Day! Located in the historic Casco Viejo neighborhood of San Felipe, Panama, Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel is a renovated 1873 five bedroom three apartment guest house for those visiting our historic city. With its unique architectural history, picturesque buildings, cathedrals and churches, ruins, museums, varied and diverse cultures, and gourmet restaurants, guests of Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel will have the best of the city waiting just outside their door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.