We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of flavors in Panama” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maito

Maito
Final de la Calle 50 | 4to Local a Mano Izquierda, Panama City 081602944, Panama
(507) 391-4657
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 524 Restaurants in Panama City
Price range: $15 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Oasis of flavors in Panama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away in a house-turned restaurant set back from the main road, guests are greeted by lovely open veranda and herb garden. The dishes are beautifully presented and refined. The atmosphere is elegant and tranquil.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    61
    22
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I loved the ambiance of this small house turned restaurant. The food is good and fresh! The carpaccio was delicious and the portobello risotto worthy of a *** restaurant!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I came here a couple of nights ago with my boyfriend and family to celebrate my birthday. We have been living in Panama for 5 years and had heard of the restaurant but had never tried it. The place is a little hard to find but it was worth the drive.

I liked the muted decor and little touches that made the place special (the garden outside, the water served in a wine bottle; the waiters with their beautiful panamanian olive-colored guayabera shirts, the bamboo covered ceiling, etc) and was especially impressed that the menu included a lot of local flavors and ingredients, like local goat cheese and organic plants... Quite rare in Panama.

We ordered two appetizers and four different dishes so we could taste as many flavors as possible. The Best dishes where by far: the Baby Back Ribs, Salmón de la Huerta and the Pulpo appetizer. My dad, being a great cook himself is very hard to please and Maito has his seal of approval.

The only hiccup in the whole experience was when my birthday dessert arrived... without a word from the waiter. I didn't expect a song (it's a relatively fancy place and also happens to be freakishly quiet) but at least a Happy Birthday would have been nice ;)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food was great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Food was great, a little hard to find the place because the sign was not lit up but besides that great evening. Will recommand

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Superb.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The items we had were all from the recommendations of the waiter and were simply delicious. Service was perfunctory and efficient. The setting has character and the tables were well spaced that even with the presence of a few large groups in the same room, your conversation can still stay private.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maito also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Maito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.