We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant with delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maito

Maito
Final de la Calle 50 | 4to Local a Mano Izquierda, Panama City 081602944, Panama
(507) 391-4657
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 673 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I loved the ambiance of this small house turned restaurant. The food is good and fresh! The carpaccio was delicious and the portobello risotto worthy of a *** restaurant!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank USACapetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Panama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I came here a couple of nights ago with my boyfriend and family to celebrate my birthday. We have been living in Panama for 5 years and had heard of the restaurant but had never tried it. The place is a little hard to find but it was worth the drive.

I liked the muted decor and little touches that made the place special (the garden outside, the water served in a wine bottle; the waiters with their beautiful panamanian olive-colored guayabera shirts, the bamboo covered ceiling, etc) and was especially impressed that the menu included a lot of local flavors and ingredients, like local goat cheese and organic plants... Quite rare in Panama.

We ordered two appetizers and four different dishes so we could taste as many flavors as possible. The Best dishes where by far: the Baby Back Ribs, Salmón de la Huerta and the Pulpo appetizer. My dad, being a great cook himself is very hard to please and Maito has his seal of approval.

The only hiccup in the whole experience was when my birthday dessert arrived... without a word from the waiter. I didn't expect a song (it's a relatively fancy place and also happens to be freakishly quiet) but at least a Happy Birthday would have been nice ;)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank molia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food was great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Food was great, a little hard to find the place because the sign was not lit up but besides that great evening. Will recommand

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grosszen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The items we had were all from the recommendations of the waiter and were simply delicious. Service was perfunctory and efficient. The setting has character and the tables were well spaced that even with the presence of a few large groups in the same room, your conversation can still stay private.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bradleeflorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nice place to taste panamanian flavours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

It´s a very nice place to taste Panamanian ingredients. I could not say it is a gourmet place, but I really enjoy it

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pepeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maito also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Maito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing