We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to see the city, the canal and Caso Viejo all in one day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Panama

Barefoot Panama
Ave A | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
+507 6780 3010
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: BarefootPanama is a top notch tour company offering the best in service, quality and value.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great way to see the city, the canal and Caso Viejo all in one day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Booked a private tour for our family group of 8. The kids (all in their 20's) really connected with Kevin our guide , we thought they might be a little bored with all the historic stuff, but not so, Kevin conveyed the story in a way that was entertaining and informative to us all .Well organized and knew where to be when to avoid the crowds and long lines. Only negative was the poorly operating airconditioner in the van.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamatours, Owner at Barefoot Panama, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
I wish there was 1 person in all of Panama CAPABLE of fixing anything.. but there is not.. so, i bought a new van, GREAT a/c
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    33
    12
    4
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not Happy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We booked a 'custom' tour and were charged three hundred and sixty dollars - paid in advance entirely. Our itinerary was to be picked up, have a guided tour of Miraflores locks, a couple of other attractions in the city, lunch and then a tour of Casco Viejo to be followed by dinner and a ride back to the hotel - which was outside the city. The cars and drivers that picked us and dropped us off were good. But we really did not get a 'guided' tour. The drivers themselves gave us some information during the drives and that was it.
At Miraflores we were dropped off to fight the hordes ourselves while some other groups were being shown around by their English speaking guides. It was extremely busy with multiple levels and we deserved a guide for what we paid. Otherwise, we could have paid the $8 admission fee and done it ourselves. This is the only place we saw Kevin. He handed us our tickets and sent us on our way - with one ticket in his hand - perhaps waiting to show another group around.
Our driver was a very nice guy, and highly educated, but he is not a trained guide. That was not what we asked for. He did give us a running commentary during the entire trip and was very cordial. We spent a lot of time waiting to get up Ancon hill for a few minutes of hilltop viewing and also spent some time at Point Culebra, which was so-so. He got off with us at both places and gave us some history.
Lunch was at a place on Amador. After that, we were driven to Casco Viejo and driven around a few blocks with some commentary from the driver. No walking tour as we thought we would have. We then did some walking ourselves and eventually sat down to dinner. With some coordination, another car and driver picked us up and dropped us off at the hotel.
Frankly, if I had the time to read enough I could have set this all up for a third of the price - but I was too busy before leaving and chose to take this 'custom' option. Poor choice.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamatours, Manager at Barefoot Panama, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
We did EXACLY what you asked for.. thus the 'custom' part..it was private. the problem sometimes is that you think you know what to do and you tell us and it doesnt work out to be what you expected, because you didnt take our advice and thats great, you want to do it your way, instead of the way we recommend . AND we waited until 9pm to shuttle you to Gamboa, 1 hour outside the city.. making it a 13 hours tour (pick up was at 9am, you were were 45 minutes late) and I was there with tickets so you didnt have to wait in line..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is how you should experience Panama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and I decided to use our Honeyfund money to get a guided tour of El Valle. Best idea EVER!!! Darren an ex-pat living in Panama knew about things none of the guide books had even the smallest mentions of in El Valle. If we would have gone ourselves we would have spent 40% of the time trying to find the small historical sites and attractions. We even made a side stop on the way back to a local favorite Flan shop. When we got back we literally instantly emailed Kevin about booking a tour of Monkey Island and the Wounaan village. Again Darren knew his stuff. The local boat guide they used was spotting crocodiles on the beach from over 50 yards away. He had the right kinds of fruits for the monkeys and we saw our resorts tour of the monkey islands show up to see the monkeys with not treats as if they would spend more than a minute with them. The tour we took of Casco Viejo was also choc full of details and history. We can't recommend these guys any more. Its like hanging out with your own friend while he give you a tour of his home city. What could be better?

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamatours, Owner at Barefoot Panama, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Awesome new edition to barefoot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Barefoot Panama Tour Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We had a few days in Panama City and took the full day city tour with Barefoot Panama. Kevin was super knowledgeable about Panama's history, culture, and key sites. The tour gave us everything we needed. We also got to hear first hand about living in Panama and all the crazy ways things get done (or don't get done) in the country. We saw the main sites and missed all the bus crowds. He even saved us money on cab fare (giving us much better advice on cost of fare than our hotel). I highly recommend Kevin and Barefoot Panama!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamatours, Owner at Barefoot Panama, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Yes! nice review.. be aware people.. only the taxi from the airport is regulated.. thanks for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Barefoot Panama With Kevin O'Brien”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My wife Nadine & I took a holiday from Costa Rica to Panama to experience some of the tours available with a highly recommended tour operator, Kevin O'Brien. From the start we hit it off with Kevin. He was right on time, personable and extremely knowledgeable about Panama, it's culture and history. We also made a tour with Jeff and he also was very knowledgeable. We were very impressed. with both Kevin & Jeff. If you are planning a trip to Panama I would suggest you contact Barefoot Panama.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamatours, Owner at Barefoot Panama, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
That really means a lot to us, coming from the kings of tourism in Costa Rica!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barefoot Panama also viewed

 

Been to Barefoot Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Panama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.