We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely destination hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf to your Saves list
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Omar Torrijos H, Panama City 0844-2014, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
HOLIDAY PROMO - SAVE 20%
Ranked #37 of 111 Hotels in Panama City
North Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
530 reviews 530 reviews
172 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
366 helpful votes 366 helpful votes
“Lovely destination hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I had room 515 which faced the rainforest and the golf course.  It was quiet, clean and had Koehler fixtures in the bathroom.  There was a large spa-type shower and excellent and abundant lighting.  I enjoyed the infinity pool and the good buffets in the dining room. There was good wi-fi and air-conditioning.

They have two pools -one an infinity pool overlooking the rain forest and the other a wading pool. There are lots of comfortable places to sit nearby.

Housekeeping was a teeny bit sloppy.  The corners of the room and the bathroom need more than just sweeping. It was not that bad, but noticeable because of the steller condition of the rest of the room.  The maid left the balcony door slightly ajar and I didn’t notice it until after dark as there were flying insects in my room. So check that the sliding glass door to the balcony is closed all the way.

This is a lovely destination hotel and I enjoyed the quiet.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the view of the rainforest, though my room also had a view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne C, Manager at Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed the balcony door left ajar, and the housekeeping issues with out team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback as it will help us fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    106
    40
    9
    7
See reviews for
93
112
7
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Pretty surroundings on the continental divide with the rainforests all around. It was a good location for us since we were going on a 6:30am tour of Lake Gatun to see wildlife and to do some fishing. Our tour guide Juan was very good and knowledeable about the area. We did see a lot of wild life and also caugh 6 fish!
The hotel staff was also very nice, very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne C, Manager at Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
On behalf our our entire staff at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great location, clean and comfortable rooms, huge shower, pretty view, good breakfast, helpful staff...highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne C, Manager at Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to your return.

Regards,
Adrienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This hotel is a reflection of Radisson style and values, and I would stay here again. Other reviewers correctly point out that this is not in Panama City, so if you are looking to walk around from your room after dinner, stay downtown! Rooms were spacious and clean, bathroom was beautiful (I am thinking of a remodel of my on home after seeing this one), staff was courteous, helpful, and someone nearby always spoke English. The restaurant was very nice and diners complimented the food. Hotel is about a 15 minute cab ride from the Miraflores Visitors Center (without traffic), and the front desk can arrange a lift. They use their own van when available, but do charge for the ride at about the same rate as a taxi. Trip to the international airport can take over an hour during the AM rush hour. Trip to the domestic airport and astonishingly large Albrook mall is about 20 minutes and $20-25. Another reviewer wrote that a trip to downtown was $45-50 - this seems very high to me. I think $30 is about right, but as always, agree to a fare before you get in the taxi. The fast WiFi service is free. Not sure if it would be so fast during high season when the place is (presumably) packed with golfers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson Summit Hotel & Golf Panama, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable comments. Feedback like this always help us improve our service.

Best Regards,
Adrienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ithaca, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I am trying to book this hotel for Dec 25-31. The Radisson web site lists a special rate that is discounted 30% for every second night. The regular rate includes a buffet breakfast. However the rate information for the special rate does not list the buffet breakfast. Since the charge for two persons for the buffet breakfast is likely to be more than the difference ($25) between the regular rate and the special rate I do not understand the claim that the special rate is a discount. It is like getting a discount for buying a car that is ordinarily sold with tires and finding that with the discount there are no tires!

Since the manager of the hotel reads TripAdvisor I am hoping that he will agree that the rate information for the discounted rate is in error, and change the rate description so that the discounted rate includes breakfast. Otherwise I will regard the so-called 'discount' to be a 'bait and switch' tactic.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Mr. Marcoithaca,
Thank you very much for taking your time to give us your valuable comments. Unfortunately, the rate that you are inquiring about is a discounted rate and as such, the breakfast buffet is not included. For your information, our breakfast buffet is not $25.00, it is much less, and you also have the option to choose from our regular breakfast menu should you desire.

Our intent is and will always be to provide you with a wonderful experience while staying with us, and the discount rate that we are offering for this time of the year is very reasonable.

Best Regards,
Adrienne
VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed 1 night here and enjoyed the view and rooms. The drive outside the city can take a while, although it is close to Miraflores which is probably a big part of your itinerary if touring Panama City for the first time.

Our room had a damp smell to it that may have been exacerbated by the small openings in the windows that we didn't notice until late at night. Be sure to close this for sleeping to avoid bugs visiting!

The included breakfast was good, if basic, and service was attentive, especially by local standards. Wi-fi was free and reasonably fast [adequate for browsing and audio calls on Skype, etc.] The bathroom had especially nice rainfall showers with pebble flooring that we enjoyed.

Oddly, the hotel stated at check-in that they appeared to be overbooked the 2nd night, and in the end the staff asked us to change hotels the 2nd day. I'm not sure if something got lost in translation. At any rate, we were provided a free ride to the Holiday Inn a few miles closer to town. I would've liked to explore the amenities further [pools looked nice] but we were OK with the change in the end.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
580 helpful votes 580 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Literature states the hotel is situated just outside of Panama City and just minutes from the Panama Canal. Well, if you consider a $45-$50 taxi into the city, one way, ‘just outside Panama City’ or, depending on traffic, an hour-plus drive into the city, then it would be a true statement.

Yes, its setting is tropical with beautiful views. And, the hotel is nicely appointed, clean lines, modern. But unless you golf or simply want to 'do nothing', there really isn’t any reason to choose this hotel.

We’d heard that taxis in the city are regulated and cheap, so we didn’t think that being ‘outside of town’ was going to be a mistake. But, even the ride to the Miraflores Locks (10 minutes) costs you anywhere from $20-26 one way. And, since you’re out in the boonies, you’d best have a relationship with a taxi driver from town, otherwise the hotel up-charges for a taxi into town. Thankfully, we’d made friends with Transporte Torres (907) 6624-1668. They picked us up when we arrived in Panama and delivered us to Albrook. From Bocas del Toro to Panama City, they again picked us up at Albrook and took us to the Radisson Summit. One night we used them to take us into town for dinner and they also did our early morning departure flight back home to the states. Great father/son Taxi Company -- reliable and dependable.

Our first night at the hotel, we had dinner at La Jacana. This is their full-service restaurant and they were supposed to offer international and gourmet cuisine. Two of the selections we ordered they didn’t have, so we had to figure out what else sounded good. The food was horrible and cold. The drinks were expensive for what we got and the restaurant was anything BUT ‘exceptional’ as they state on their website. And, you’re a captive audience. Sad when there are so many world-class restaurants in the city.

PROS:
Nice hotel/layout/public spaces
Clean
Adequate amenities in room
Daysi at the front desk is very helpful
They adjusted our bill due to water outages
If you golf…I’m sure it’s a great place to stay
Pool area is nice and there is plenty of shade
Coffee/water/tea and snack bars in the lobby if you have an early flight
Birds and butterfly watching is good

CONS:
Both mornings of our stay, the hotel was without hot water (not good when getting ready to travel 20 hours home!)
They up-charge for everything they can (do not book activities through hotel, nor transportation)
Restaurants are not good including the breakfast buffet
Way too many Americans; older clientele

My recommendation: Stay in the city when you’re spending time in Panama City. Stay at Radisson Summit if you’re a golfer or an older American who wants to stay in a hotel that feels familiar...or you simply want to lay around in an nice hotel.

Room Tip: Forest view on a top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcalvoc, General Manager at Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Guest

On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson Summit Hotel & Golf Panama we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. We are working diligently to correct these issues and I am grateful that you brought them to my attention.

Just Want to let you know that we decided to cancel the current private taxi services and provide our own transport services for the benefit of Radisson Summit guests. Part of this new service is a Free Shuttle Service to a from Albrook Mall twice a day for the moment. Transportation servicies to the city will be even less than a regular taxi in Panama city.

Please again accept our sincere apology and we will do our best to correct our services inmediatly

Warmest Regards
Jose Calvo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf

Address: Avenida Omar Torrijos H, Panama City 0844-2014, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#7 Best Value Hotel in Panama City
#7 Family Hotel in Panama City
#22 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Summit Hotel & Golf Panama is surrounded by 160 acres of lush rainforest around the Panama Canal, and is approximately 30 minutes from downtown Panama City. Lodging at our Hotel is a quiet alternative to downtown accommodations, while still providing free shuttle service to top attractions like the Miraflores Locks and the Albrook Shopping Center, both just a short drive from our hotel’s address in the Panama City area. While visiting our Panama hotel, you’ll also have access to exceptional on-site amenities, including our professional 18-hole golf course, full American breakfast, airport transportation, free wireless Internet access, two outdoor pools and a nature trail with a butterfly exhibit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.