We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Panama Trip Sept 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Panama Center Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Panama Center Apartments to your Saves list
Panama Center Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Calle 5ta A Norte, Urb. El Cangrejo, Panama. Edificio Bariloche | (Calle detras de fabrica de cafe duran de la transismica, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Panama Trip Sept 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I found this accommodation online. I was a bit spectacle about the place, without seeing it firsthand. I stayed at the City suites for 8 nights, the price was very reasonable, the room was Ok for me as I was not spending a lot of time in the apartment. It is located in an area that is accessible to anywhere else in Panama city for a $3-$4 taxi ride. El cangrejo and Via Argentina is a safe area. I had no problem walking around the area, even at night, many restaurants and even a New York Bagel at Plaza Einstein (about an 8 minute walk). A hangout for many English speaking people. the only thing I wish it had was a pool, but Oh well you cant have everything for this price. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The El Cangrejo area is a great area for many great reataurants (even Mcdonalds)(Haha)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    36
    7
    3
    11
See reviews for
18
27
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Hello there, I have been travelling to Panama for 7 years and am so happy I found the city suites. I was in a severe auto accident and my last stay there Alfredo and his employees really went out of there way to help me. As always they allow everyone to be who they are and keep the place very safe, quiet, clean and comfortable. I have always had the best of service when I have stayed at the City Suites. I have never had any problems ever at the City Suites. Thanks so much to everyone at the City Suites.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

stayed 8 the city suites for 8 nights in February. Quiet & safe location, good price for what you get - shall be back. Thanks Keila & Alfredo!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft.Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This is a small Apartment-Hotel in the center Panama. Close to everything, but still reasonably quiet. Stayed here several times and was never disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I would not recommend this place considering the lousy service and the room rates. There are mouch better alternatives both in El Cangrejo and other areas such as San Francisco. The administrator Alfredo and everyone else that works here do not really care about attending to the guests. If you have any problem whatsoever, they will ignore you until you give up. The wifi does not work in many of the rooms. Most of the rooms are very dirty. The amenities are falling apart and the room service and cleaning is not consistent. Spend your money somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySuitesPanama, Director of Sales at Panama Center Apartments, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Shahram, sorry I could not reply to this review before.

We are very concerned about this comment you posted, because this was actually the second time that you came here.

First time you stated everything was great, and that you liked the place and you would recommend other people, then you came again with someone that got here with you and you state that you won't recommend the place due to the rates and you mentioned us when you where here that the rates were good.

Mr. Alfredo, the administrator, always attends to customers in a very polite way, and he spends time with them, even he takes a coffee with them at his office, so we do not think this is true, you can actually check reviews from our other clients we have, not only that wrote here, but also on flipkey.

Wifi works really good, we have clients that also do skype conferences with no problems at all.

Ladies do cleaning from monday through friday and we are always making renovations to our apartments.

Blessings,

Keila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Really liked our two stays at City Suites. We stayed there for 1 week when we first arrived in Jan. and then for 4 nights when we left Panama in March. They let us stay with our dog, not many places in Panama City will let you stay with your dog. We also liked the full kitchen. Saved some money cooking in the suite. It's also located in a very safe neighborhood.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

As expected, the accommodations were basic, which was fine. The problem was getting in to the accomodation. We arrived around 10 p.m. on Friday and there was no one to give us our key. I had read a review that this was a problem. But after confirming many times, I thought this wouldn't happen to us. But, it did! As we first arrived on vacation in Panama, we get to the hotel to wonder if we'd ever get in. Thankfully, after waiting about 20 mins., the front door man arrived and did have our key. Phew! The room seemed fine until I looked at the toilet. It was not clean and it didn't look like it had been cleaned. I had to clean it to use it - yuck! At no fault of the facility, we realized that we booked the wrong kind of accommodation. Since we had never been to Panama City, we had several questions. Since the City Suites office was not open in the evenings, nor Sundays, we had no one to answer our questions. We decided for our next trip to a new city that we should stay somewhere that has a 18-24 hour desk, in case we had questions. We then left luggage at City Suites while we traveled to Bocas, since we had made a previous reservation to return. We returned on a Sunday evening and again found that there was no security person. This time we waited an hour. We would have stayed somewhere else, but City Suites had our luggage and we were due to leave early the next morning. Talk about stress! After waiting an hour, we dragged our luggage to town and tried calling City Suites, to no avail. Then we found an Internet Cafe and e-mailed them. Then we walked back with our luggage to City Suites and happened to find the manager in the parking lot. Again Phew, but OMG! We were totally stressed at that point wondering if we had a place to stay, but more importantly if we'd get our luggage before we left. City Suites is a fairly inexpensive place to stay, with a decent location, but not worth the stress. It was vacation...no stress is welcomed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apartmentbariloche, Director of Sales at Panama Center Apartments, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Dear Christina, thanks for your comments, we really appreciate when a customer has also not so good things to say because we may use these comments to evaluate what happened and he have a chance to make improvements.

About the room, we made you an upgrade from a single room to a mini studio for no additional cost. This was a courtesy from City Suites.

For questions, we had our phone number which is 507-394-4000 or 507-394-5000, even when we're not in the office we answer all phone calls that come in after 5:30 pm and on Saturday and Sunday.

Our apologies for any inconvenience you had.

Best regards,

Keila Salazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Panama Center Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panama Center Apartments

Address: Calle 5ta A Norte, Urb. El Cangrejo, Panama. Edificio Bariloche | (Calle detras de fabrica de cafe duran de la transismica, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Panama Center Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mini studio and studio apartments in El Cangrejo, Bariloche building. Located in the city centre in a safe uptown area, only a two minute walk from our building you’ll find local bars, restaurants, shops, drugstores and groceries. Our apartments are designed for your leisure and business trips per night, per week or per month. The apartments are furnished and equipped with: a queen size bed (the studio also has an extra sofa bed), free WiFi, quiet air conditioning, fully equipped kitchen, a private bathroom, daily cleaning service, free linen and towels and free parking space below the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Panama Center Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Suites Panama Hotel Panama City
Panama Center Apartments Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panama Center Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.