We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked San Blas through them and it was great and organized” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Mamallena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostal Mamallena to your Saves list
Hostal Mamallena
Casa 7-62 Calle Primera | Perejil, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Alberta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Booked San Blas through them and it was great and organized”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Did not stay here but booked San Blas through Mamallena and it was very good!! We showed up getting off of the overnight bus from Bocas Del Toro And they were able to get us in a 4x4 to san blas at 5:30am and it all worked out very good and was well organized...would recommend!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa762, General Manager at Hostal Mamallena, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hi there,

Thanks so much for your review, we have a wealth of experience in organising trips to San Blas and I'm so glad this was put to good use for you. I hope you enjoyed your trip and we may see you again sometime!

Mamallena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    116
    51
    20
    19
See reviews for
18
110
107
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We got a private room with a shared bathroom for about US$30 here. It is pretty well known so you can get a taxi driver to take you there from the bus station pretty easily. The place is a bit random/hippy/dirty looking but it's pretty cool and the rooms are actually clean. The toilets were also clean. A big plus is the kitchen, small but well stocked and most importantly people cleaned up after themselves unlike in mamallena cartagena. We stayed down the bottom out the back near the pool and despite it being a place people would hang out near, it was actually very quiet and we slept well. Free pancakes in the morning is a bonus (you do have to cook them yourself). The front desk staff are also super friendly and helpful. Anything you need to know, they will have it covered. It's about 3 min walk to a grocery store and about 10min walk to downtown and the shopping area, so it's ok, but not great. Taxi to any of the sights though (such as the Panama Canal)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa762, General Manager at Hostal Mamallena, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hi there,

Thanks so much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again!

Mamallena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa, Peru
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

No atmosphere, rather drab and boring location, and reasonably clean, but not as clean as it could or even should be. It's no frat house, but it's not as clean as a hostel should be.

Turned on the air conditioning after half the dorm was trying to sleep, so it was extra hot and humid and took a long time to cool it down enough to sleep easily. And turned it off way too early in the morning, so you woke up in a humid, sticky sweat.

Bathrooms kind of gross.

Staff was totally unknowledgeable, unhelpful, and just "warm bodies" sitting there.

Decent public spaces including a covered patio and cozy TV room.

Definitely not a great stay-- wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa762, General Manager at Hostal Mamallena, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay here at Mamallena, but I do think your comments are a little unfair. Our location is in a safe and lively local neighbourhood where you can get a huge dinner and a large beer for under $5. It is not close to any “tourist” areas but you can reach them easily by walking or a cheap and quick taxi ride. I don’t think you quite gave the place a chance.. The A/C gets turned on at 9pm and off at 8am every day. This is before most people go to bed and around the same time as most of our (not hungover) backpackers get up to do their round of the sights. We do not have A/C during the day as it is a waste for most people, and wouldn’t be very environmentally friendly anyway. Our bathrooms are cleaned daily, and if a staff member is informed of the bathrooms being unclean they will clean them immediately. I don’t think you informed anyone of any problem with the bathroom. Our staff are some of the most knowledgeable and helpful in the city, or so we are normally told. Although we did have a couple of new members of staff in January who would not have been able to answer questions as proficiently as the others, maybe you spoke to them? Once again, sorry you did not have a good time here, I think you would find if you came back you may have a totally different experience, and I think if you thought our hostel was bad you will have a difficult time adjusting to the standards of lodging in Central America.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Tao, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were planning to be there only a few days but ended up staying for 2 weeks. We did the trip to San Blas that you can book from the hostel, it was really nice. Great staff, great people and nice atmosphere. I heard that they finally finished the pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This place had a great packpacker vibe, with lots of places to sit and relax with a beer or a book or a group of people. The staff were accomodating and the rooms were clean. The showers were cold, but clean. There was lots of information about things to do in Panama including costs of buses and taxis to get everywhere. Most of the taxi drivers know the place, so we had very little trouble getting back when we left.
It looked like there were about to install an above ground pool when we left. They had tiled the back courtyard and had the pool sitting in a box taunting us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 night in a private room with a shared bathroom. Great value for money!

+ Spotless clean room and facilities - pretty rare in hostels!
+ a/C!
+ great communal room and an awesome crowd!
+ nice staff who really go the extra mile!
+ relatively safe and central location (as far as possible in Panama city)

Who not 5 stars?
- the rooms are Tiny (with capital T) and have no real window & beds are squaky. Not for the romantics ;)

Advice on what to do: SAN BLAS!
I did the day trip for $135 which is a big chunk out of my budget, but it was definitively worth it! the Islands are of priceless beauty and the Kuna people of Coco Blanco were Very Nice and cooked up Nice breakfast and lunch. If your time is limited - do the daytrip. If you have more time: stay on the Islands!




Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this place! We used this place as a base camp while in Panama City returning after other excursions. Everything else people have written is true except we liked the location more than some have mentioned. We felt it was pretty central. The best part is the vibe of this place. The other travelers were informative and fun. They even have a dog(Choco) who you can walk if you like. For those of us who miss our dogs while gone, that was a fun little perk! The only drawback is that it is hard to get in because people like us keeping giving it great reviews!

Room Tip: Although not a problem for us, some people had an issue with the noise downstairs near the patio(per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa762, General Manager at Hostal Mamallena, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hi, thank you so much for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay here. Enjoy the rest of your trip!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Mamallena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mamallena

Address: Casa 7-62 Calle Primera | Perejil, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostal Mamallena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamallena Backpackers Panama City
Hostal Mamallena Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Mamallena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.