We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to eat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rene Cafe

Rene Cafe
Calle Pedro J. Sossa | Casco Viejo, Panama City 80397, Panama
507-262-3487
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #7 of 454 restaurants in Panama City
Price range: $8 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
des moines
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Six course meal and then some. We ate too much but it was a blast. Had a bottle of wine and the owner is right there working hard like all the employees are.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    137
    69
    23
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good value, okay food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I'm not sure why this restaurant gets such great reviews. I'm guessing because the food is cheap and the place has a quaint atmosphere. But, there are so many good restaurants in the area, I wouldn't go out of my way to eat here. If you want cheap food, walk along Avienda Central and eat from one of the store front local restaurants.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Adorable restaurant right off Plaza Cathedral that has a set menu of seven courses that were so filling as amazing for $22 a person! It was wonderful! Amazing food and fabulous service, just make a reservation. You can email them easily off their website and they respond quickly. Don't miss it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Large portions of creative Panamanian fare at a great value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We came to Rene's for lunch. The meal is a set menu of bread, egg and potato tart, salad, fish or other meat and a delicious rice dish. The meal was 8 dollars a person and more than I could comfortably eat. The location is great too- right on Plaza de la Independencia in Casco Viejo. I would definitely recommend- especially for lunch, as the dinner prices are higher.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant in Casco Viejo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We enjoyed a tasty meal while sitting outside this small restaurant. The service was good as well as the food.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rene Cafe also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Rene Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rene Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.