We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but very remote, noisy with expensive 8 USD water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Panama Canal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Panama Canal to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave. Omar Torrijos Herrera Clayton, Panama City 7336, Panama (Formerly Holiday Inn Panama City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #28 of 112 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hamburg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good but very remote, noisy with expensive 8 USD water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Hotel is clean but noisy. The staff is friendly but does not speak English well. Internet is good and fast. The city of knowledge is very remotly located.One bottle of water in the room is charged with 8 USD (10% of the room fee). Panama has very good water treatment plants, so drink from the tap, buy from the restaurant or super market down the street or get free water from the gym.

Room Tip: I stayed in 606 with a beautiful view on the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your experience at Holiday Inn Panama Canal. We are committed to providing excellent service to all our guests. We appreciate your suggestions these make us have a continuous improvement of our services. Thank you for your loyalty to our brand and we hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    82
    39
    12
    5
See reviews for
37
50
26
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We arrived late night and planned a visit to the Panama Canal on the following day. This is a great options as you can book rooms with Canal views and is just 5min ride. We arrived on the worst day possible: Christmas Day. Even though we were very well welcome by the staff and we had a very pleasant stay. They even offer free shuttle to the locks, Albrook Mall and airport! It saved us rent a car (transit here doesn't look so obvious) and taxis fare. Besides, free wifi all around. Breakfast is great with custom made omelets and waffle. Absolutely delicious!

Room Tip: Ask for Canal views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time and share with us your experience at Holiday Inn Panama Canal. We are very committed to deliver an excellent service guest love. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I've stayed here twice, four days each time. Impeccably clean room, severely over-priced water bottle ($8) and helpful service. Your credit card key is what runs the AC so it takes a good 15 minutes to cool the room down when you first enter. Breakfast buffet is included and there fruit, a hot cereal, some sort if eggs (scrambled, boiled, etc) and meat which could be bacon or the little hot dogs that I've seen in South America countries. The waiter will not " check" on you so make your wishes known

Room Tip: Only touch the elevator button once. Clicking it multiple times just turns it off and then you wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time and share with us your experience at Holiday Inn Panama Canal. We are very committed to deliver an excellent service guest love. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama and enjoy all the services that we have for you. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stay in a view room, from where I could follow all the maneuvers of the boats entering and exiting the Canal. That is the best part, it's go almost no stop, so you can appreciate many different views under different lights at the comfort of your room!! The staff are Great!!! The room are of nice size and with good quality of mattress and pillows. The only problem is the noise from the street, the trains and the boats, if you want to have the windows opened, that is the price for the view. The breakfast was included and have nice fruit and other buffet options!! If I need I will be glad to came back!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Holiday Inn at the Panama Canal. Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It's our goal to deliver an excellent service guest love and we are really happy to read that you enjoyed the view and comfort of our accommodations at our hotel.
Thank you again for sharing you comments and we look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Panama City.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I've stayed at the Holiday Inn in the City of Knowledge numerous times over the past 4 years for work. The hotel has been consistently solid. As others have mentioned, positives include great breakfasts, friendly staff, clean rooms, etc.
The only complaint I have is the gym. The hotel has had the same 3 stationary bikes for the 4 years I've been staying at the hotel. 2 of those don't work and the other one is not a good model. The only excercise machine that is worth using is the treadmill. However, if someone is using it, you have no choice but to wait. The gym is also very small. Please consider updating the equipment in the gym. Thanks.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the canal side for the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. We will take into consideration your review to take corrective actions in the areas that you mention before. We are very committed to deliver an excellent service guest love. Again thank you for you feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed here for a few days last November only because I needed to be close to Ciudad del Saber. I recommend this hotel if you are doing business in the area or need to be very close to Miraflores for some reason. It may be a bit difficult (and/or pricey) to get a taxi to this area from Casco or El Cangrejo or other parts of the city because it is a little out of the way. Granted, by pricey, I mean anywhere from $5 - $15.

My experience was okay: the service, pool area, and rooms were average. The hallways were really hot and uncomfortable, but electricity is really expensive and no one really hangs out in the hallways. So, that's understandable. They accidentally overcharged us by $400 (!!!), and we did not realize it until after we returned to the U.S., but the manager was very accommodating through e-mail, and our money was refunded to us, in no time.

If you want to be able to walk to restaurants or shops, this is not a good choice. For me, there are many better options in the city center that I prefer.

Room Tip: Ask for a Canal View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Anna Leah

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. We will take into consideration your review to take corrective actions in the areas that you mention before. We are very committed to deliver an excellent service guest love. Again thank you for you feedback.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is a great location if you are staying in the Ciudad del Saber (City of Knowledge). However, there is only one restaurant and one bar apart from the hotel within walking distance. The free breakfast is fantastic. My business partners loved the fruit and coffee. They have an omelet station, fresh bread, and all sorts of tasty treats. I loved that there was a safe in the room and the bed was comfy. We got a choice of firm or soft pillows (kindly labeled).

My issues with the room? I couldn't adjust the AC (which was freezing) and the wifi was abysmal. The wifi in the lobby worked well and the business center computer was good, but inconvenient if you want to stay in your room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comment about your experience at Holiday Inn Panama Canal. For us it is very important our guest satisfaction for this reason we are committed to deliver an excellent service guest love. We will take into consideration your comment to take corrective actions in the area that you mention before. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Panama Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Panama Canal

Address: Ave. Omar Torrijos Herrera Clayton, Panama City 7336, Panama (Formerly Holiday Inn Panama City)
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 112 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Panama Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for Panama hotel deals will appreciate the great location and outstanding array of amenities found at the Holiday Inn(R) City of Knowledge. Located just minutes away from some of the best attractions and businesses in Panama, our property offers both convenience and great value.Leisure guests are often drawn to our family-friendly Panama City hotel's close proximity to several of the city's best attractions including the visitor center at Miraflores Locks at the Panama Canal, the Albrook Shopping Center (with free shuttle service from our hotel), and the Gamboa Rainforest Resort. But our guests don't even have to leave the hotel to enjoy our sparkling outdoor pool in a beautifully landscaped courtyard, the well-equipped 24-hour Fitness Center, or our gift shop for a souvenir. Our hotel is only a few miles away from Panama City's banking district where many international transactions take place. Our fully-staffed Business Center provides guests with everything they need including copying, courier service, personal computer, and high-speed Internet access.When you're looking for great Panama hotel deals we offer the best. Make your reservations today to get the best Panama travel deals around at our Panama City hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Panama Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Of Knowledge Hotel Panama City
Panama City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Panama Canal Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Panama Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.