We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Panama City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Panama City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Panama City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave. Omar Torrijos Herrera Clayton, Panama City 7336, Panama (Formerly Holiday Inn City Of Knowledge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 107 hotels in Panama City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I thought this hotel was nice and very decent. I loved the view of the Panama Canal and I loved the representatives professionalism and catering attitude. There was one tiny mistake that occurred through when of the newly hired male front desk employees, but it was quickly rectified on the return last night at the hotel. We stayed here for 2 nights and I enjoyed the quaint and intimate setting of the hotel.

You will fight traffic to and from various locations trying to get around, but i think that is a central issue which Panama is working on repairing by installing the transit system.

The only negative I found was there was no refrigerator room because they have all the wet bar drinks in there that cost an arm and a leg.

I took my important items (which were electronics and jewelry) with me everyday (since we had a car rental) so the safe was not needed, but there was one in the room (inside the closet).

I really didn't have a real problem with this hotel, it was clean and safe, no bugs, air conditioning worked well and the staff were friendly and helpful and spoke ENGLISH -which was essential since I am very bad w/conversational spanish!

It is important to mention that we stayed here with our Priority Rewards' reward points and had no problem at all!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graciela A, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Panama City, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your kind comment about your stay at Holiday Inn Panama Canal. We are happy that you enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for be a Priority Club Member we appreciate your loyalty to our brand IHG. We are committed to deliver an excellent service to all our guest especially our priority club members, so we invest constantly in trainings to all our employees.
On your next visit we invite you to try our new Panamanian Breakfast Buffet, every Sunday at our Canal View Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    63
    34
    9
    4
See reviews for
28
42
23
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I recently booked two nights at this hotel. I was rather disappointed in the location of this hotel. First, I was under the impression that this hotel was within walking distance of the Miraflores. I found out however that you still need to take a taxi there ($6 for 2 of us) because the roads are not walkable. Also there is absolutely nothing else around the hotel so you are pretty much stuck at the hotel or forced to take a taxi into town ($10). It really makes no sense to stay at this hotel because the location is terrible.

The room itself was adequate. I was on the top floor with a Canal view but to be honest I wasn't very impressed. The room is bare bones and the view of the canal isn't as impressive as I had hoped.

Also, since I am a gold member with Priority Club I always get treated to complimentary breakfast but not here. I was forced to pay $26 for the breakfast buffet which was the only option. They do have a small cafe in the lobby but nothing really breakfast worthy.

On the day of checkout I woke up to find out the hotel turned the water off so I wasn't able to shower or even use the toilet. Not happy about that.

I chose this hotel because it was cheap and close to the Panama Canal, however if I were to go back to Panama, I would stay at a downtown hotel and just take a taxi to Miraflores. At least you have a lot more options when you stay downtown versus at this Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: I suppose a high floor with a Canal view would be best. A few rooms have balconies, mine did not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graciela A, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Panama City, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Holiday inn Panama Canal. We are very sorry that you didn’t have the opportunity to enjoy the activities around the hotel like the sport center at Club Kiwanis that have tennis court, baseball field, football field, walk road to relax surrounded by nature and an Olympic pool. The hotel offers a free shuttle to Miraflores locks and the biggest mall in Panama Albrook Mall (Ask for the schedule at the Front Desk). Thank you for be a gold member of Priority Club, we appreciate your fidelity to IHG. We will consider your suggestion and we will include a complimentary breakfast for gold and platinum members.
Thank you again for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have stayed here on two separate trips and both times was a positive experience. We took taxi's from the Tocuman Airport to the hotel. The hotel treated us like royalty. Very accommodating, clean, modern and very comfortable beds. Though the hotel isn't close to the airport., it was still worth staying here. It was only a 20 minute drive to the airport, especially if the taxi takes you on the quicker route to avoid traffic rush hours. They have a really good breakfast buffet that was free.

Room Tip: We've had rooms facing the canal each time, but I'm sure all rooms would be good. The beds a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graciela A, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Panama City, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for share with us your kind comment about your experience at Holiday Inn Panama Canal. For us it is very important to deliver an excellent service to all our guest. We are pleasant that you enjoy our breakfast buffet how has different option to all tastes.

On your next visit we invite you to try our theme night from Monday to Friday, special our Thursday night of Fusion y Sabor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is certainly nothing to write home about--the only thing it really has going for it is that it is located right near the Miraflores Locks, so if you're only intention is to visit these locks, then this place is ideally located. But, if you really want to explore more of Panama City, then skip this place and look for another hotel that is more centrally located in the city; otherwise, you'll be fighting traffic to and from the city and/or paying $15 one-way taxi fares. The room itself was fine, though we had no hot water and no room safe, even though every room is supposed to be equipped with a safe per the hotel's info handbook. During our first night, we asked the front desk to fix the hot water and get us a safe--the hot water only ended up being slightly warm at best and we never did get a safe, so we had to leave valuable items with the front desk every time we left the hotel. As for the gym, it pretty much was a small box with nonworking equipment (4 bikes, none of which worked). The restaurant we chose not to eat at at any other time except for breakfast, which was fine. For dinners, we opted to eat at the Miraflores Visitor Center restaurant (great views of the canal/locks, mediocre food) and the only other restaurant near this hotel, La Taberna de Canal, which is located right next door to the hotel and served decent tapas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graciela A, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Panama City, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thanks for writing your review. As you mentioned the Hotel is located in front of the Miraflores Locks at the Panama Canal. We are at 5 minutes from the biggest Mall in Panama The Albrook Mall, which the hotel offers a free shuttle(ask for the schedule at the front Desk), we are only 15 minutes(outside peak hours) from the city center, other attractions we have behind the hotel are Club Kiwaniss Sport Center, that you can enjoy a quiet walk, football field, baseball, tenis and other sports. To enjoy your nights the canal view restaurant has theme nights which are Monday Pasta and Pizza, Tuesdays of Meats, Wednesday of Fish, Thursdays Fusion y Sabor and Fridays International.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Every time I travel to Panama, I try to carefully administer my expectations and remind myself that Panamanians are notorious poor in the area of customer service. Always hoping for a miracle, I am consistently disappointed, so avoid my pitfall and expect as little customer service as possible. If you want to stay in this part of Panama City, it's an acceptable choice.

Aside from the staff, who is clearly indifferent to the guest, the hotel is OK. The rooms and hallways are tiled, which makes sense in a humid climate. However, there is a echo in the halls. If you don't like stepping on the tile floor in your room, bring slippers. The rooms are clean and comfortable. No complaints.

Approximately five minutes away by foot is a beautiful, safe park where you can run on a 2km track, play tennis, or walk. This is one of the hotel's best advantages.

The breakfast is mediocre. You'll have to beg the servers for a glass of water, coffee or any sort of attention. Good luck.

Room Tip: The hotel advertises more expensive rooms with views of the Miraflores locks. I was disappointed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graciela A, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Panama City, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We are sorry we were unable to enjoy our hospitality during your stay. Our destination is tairly new and striving to improve services for international guest. We are constantley training our employees to customer service and I am on duty to help. If you considere our hotel for your next trip I will be delighted to extend my services.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have been to several Holiday Inn hotels in different countries. This by far is the best because of its location and the service. This hotel is the host of an hotel school, which makes the service much better than usual and the food incredible. Get a room with a Canal view. It is an experience you won't get in any other hotel. Most of my guests have stayed here and the feedback has been excellent. I have also rented conference rooms and used their banquet service. Will keep doing business with them.

Room Tip: Rooms with Canal View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graciela A, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Panama City, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comment about your stay in our property. We surely appreciate your support and we will share your feedback with our team and students.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

It is the only proper hotel in the area so for me it was the only way to beat the horrendous traffic jams to and from the city center over a two weeks period. Very helpful and friendly staff, very clean and pleasant rooms, very nice choice from minibar and complementary toiletries, very small pool and gym.
Main setback was the restaurant were choices outside the special daily menu were of poor quality and expensive. At breakfast no yoghurt was available and the reconstututed juices were of poor quality...
Depite the a/c and the 3rd floor, the room and the clothes felt damp all the time and the taxis close to the hotel charge on average 25% more than others passing by the main road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graciela A, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Panama City, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your kind comment regarding your experience at Holiday Inn Panama Canal. We value your suggestions and we are happy to announce an additional fresh fruits juice is now available for breakfast, Our 19 $ Luncheon buffet offers a great value and variety for our guests. In addition the Canal View Café propose an A la carte menu 7 days a week and specialty theme evenings from Monday to Friday, such as Seafood special, Pizza & Pasta, and Imported cut. Thank you again for your contribution in improving our service and product and we are looking forward to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Panama City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Panama City

Address: Ave. Omar Torrijos Herrera Clayton, Panama City 7336, Panama (Formerly Holiday Inn City Of Knowledge)
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 107 hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Panama City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for Panama hotel deals will appreciate the great location and outstanding array of amenities found at the Holiday Inn® City of Knowledge. Located just minutes away from some of the best attractions and businesses in Panama, our property offers both convenience and great value.Leisure guests are often drawn to our family-friendly Panama City hotel's close proximity to several of the city's best attractions including the visitor center at Miraflores Locks at the Panama Canal, the Albrook Shopping Center (with free shuttle service from our hotel), and the Gamboa Rainforest Resort. But our guests don't even have to leave the hotel to enjoy our sparkling outdoor pool in a beautifully landscaped courtyard, the well-equipped 24-hour Fitness Center, or our gift shop for a souvenir.Just minutes from the Tocumen International Airport our Panama City hotel's location is perfect for business travelers who are in the city for work. Also our hotel is only a few miles away from Panama City's banking district where many international transactions take place. Our fully-staffed Business Center provides guests with everything they need including copying, courier service, personal computer, and high-speed Internet access.When you're looking for great Panama hotel deals we offer the best. Make your reservations today to get the best Panama travel deals around at our Panama City hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Panama City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Of Knowledge Hotel Panama City
Panama City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Panama City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.