We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Panama Canal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Panama Canal to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave. Omar Torrijos Herrera Clayton, Panama City 7336, Panama (Formerly Holiday Inn Panama City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #27 of 107 Hotels in Panama City
Washington, DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is certainly nothing to write home about--the only thing it really has going for it is that it is located right near the Miraflores Locks, so if you're only intention is to visit these locks, then this place is ideally located. But, if you really want to explore more of Panama City, then skip this place and look for another hotel that is more centrally located in the city; otherwise, you'll be fighting traffic to and from the city and/or paying $15 one-way taxi fares. The room itself was fine, though we had no hot water and no room safe, even though every room is supposed to be equipped with a safe per the hotel's info handbook. During our first night, we asked the front desk to fix the hot water and get us a safe--the hot water only ended up being slightly warm at best and we never did get a safe, so we had to leave valuable items with the front desk every time we left the hotel. As for the gym, it pretty much was a small box with nonworking equipment (4 bikes, none of which worked). The restaurant we chose not to eat at at any other time except for breakfast, which was fine. For dinners, we opted to eat at the Miraflores Visitor Center restaurant (great views of the canal/locks, mediocre food) and the only other restaurant near this hotel, La Taberna de Canal, which is located right next door to the hotel and served decent tapas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graciela A, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thanks for writing your review. As you mentioned the Hotel is located in front of the Miraflores Locks at the Panama Canal. We are at 5 minutes from the biggest Mall in Panama The Albrook Mall, which the hotel offers a free shuttle(ask for the schedule at the front Desk), we are only 15 minutes(outside peak hours) from the city center, other attractions we have behind the hotel are Club Kiwaniss Sport Center, that you can enjoy a quiet walk, football field, baseball, tenis and other sports. To enjoy your nights the canal view restaurant has theme nights which are Monday Pasta and Pizza, Tuesdays of Meats, Wednesday of Fish, Thursdays Fusion y Sabor and Fridays International.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    68
    37
    10
    4
See reviews for
32
43
24
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guayaquil
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Every time I travel to Panama, I try to carefully administer my expectations and remind myself that Panamanians are notorious poor in the area of customer service. Always hoping for a miracle, I am consistently disappointed, so avoid my pitfall and expect as little customer service as possible. If you want to stay in this part of Panama City, it's an acceptable choice.

Aside from the staff, who is clearly indifferent to the guest, the hotel is OK. The rooms and hallways are tiled, which makes sense in a humid climate. However, there is a echo in the halls. If you don't like stepping on the tile floor in your room, bring slippers. The rooms are clean and comfortable. No complaints.

Approximately five minutes away by foot is a beautiful, safe park where you can run on a 2km track, play tennis, or walk. This is one of the hotel's best advantages.

The breakfast is mediocre. You'll have to beg the servers for a glass of water, coffee or any sort of attention. Good luck.

Room Tip: The hotel advertises more expensive rooms with views of the Miraflores locks. I was disappointed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graciela A, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We are sorry we were unable to enjoy our hospitality during your stay. Our destination is tairly new and striving to improve services for international guest. We are constantley training our employees to customer service and I am on duty to help. If you considere our hotel for your next trip I will be delighted to extend my services.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have been to several Holiday Inn hotels in different countries. This by far is the best because of its location and the service. This hotel is the host of an hotel school, which makes the service much better than usual and the food incredible. Get a room with a Canal view. It is an experience you won't get in any other hotel. Most of my guests have stayed here and the feedback has been excellent. I have also rented conference rooms and used their banquet service. Will keep doing business with them.

Room Tip: Rooms with Canal View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graciela A, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comment about your stay in our property. We surely appreciate your support and we will share your feedback with our team and students.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

It is the only proper hotel in the area so for me it was the only way to beat the horrendous traffic jams to and from the city center over a two weeks period. Very helpful and friendly staff, very clean and pleasant rooms, very nice choice from minibar and complementary toiletries, very small pool and gym.
Main setback was the restaurant were choices outside the special daily menu were of poor quality and expensive. At breakfast no yoghurt was available and the reconstututed juices were of poor quality...
Depite the a/c and the 3rd floor, the room and the clothes felt damp all the time and the taxis close to the hotel charge on average 25% more than others passing by the main road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graciela A, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your kind comment regarding your experience at Holiday Inn Panama Canal. We value your suggestions and we are happy to announce an additional fresh fruits juice is now available for breakfast, Our 19 $ Luncheon buffet offers a great value and variety for our guests. In addition the Canal View Café propose an A la carte menu 7 days a week and specialty theme evenings from Monday to Friday, such as Seafood special, Pizza & Pasta, and Imported cut. Thank you again for your contribution in improving our service and product and we are looking forward to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I booked this hotel as part of a larger trip to Panama, and I had a choice of three hotels. I chose this because it is right on the Panama Canal.

I did enjoy the location. We woke up in the morning and looked out the window and could see a huge ship in the Canal. That was a really cool thing to see first thing in the morning.

The hotel is fairly new, so it is shiny (for a Holiday Inn) and clean. The price was affordable. And the staff was helpful.

There was a lot of noise (traffic, train, etc.) at night that woke me up a few times.

We had a good stay. But if I go back to Panama City, I will probably try a nicer hotel such as the Sheraton.

Room Tip: You want the view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graciela A, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind comment about your eperience at Holiday Inn Panama Canal. As you said we have a wonderful location in frot of the Miraflores locks at the Panama Canal, every day you can see the ships crossing the Canal. One of our goals is to deliver and excellent service. Thank you for your comment we are now offering a bed time kit light sleepers guest. Make sure you requested as not extra cost for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a nice and quiet hotel for people who want quiet time, solitude, research or time to reflect. It is located outside of main activities like in middle of nowhere. The hotel is not near the airport as I was made to believe. If this is your first trip to Panama City, make sure that you have confirmed ground transportation from airport to hotel.

The hotel Staff are usually friendly and willing to assist; but make sure that you have things to keep you busy because the hotel does not offer an environment even to socialize. In addition, I could not spend much time in my room because air conditioner was too noisy. However the hotel do provide a shuttle or transportation to a major shopping centre. I would like to thank you all the staff for trying their best.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graciela A, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind comment about your experience at Holiday Panama Canal. We are sorry you were not informed about all the available activities near our Hotel such as: go to the Miraflores locks and see the ships crossing the canal, you can jogging or take a walk, play tennis, football and baseball at the Club Kiwaniss Sport Center. Thank you for your comment we are now improving our guest communication by providing a brochure upon check in with all the activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at this Holiday Inn on July 6 and again on July 14. We enjoyed our stay on July 6. The staff members were very kind and helpful and the hotel was very clean and well maintained. The staff greeted me as a Platinum Priority/Ambassador and provided the requisite upgrade to a room on the club (6th floor). On our return visit, however, much had changed. While I was greeted as a Priority Club member, no upgrade was provided (and the hotel was not full). On the first floor there was a very, very loud birthday party in progress (and the sound was deafening). We were offered a room on the fifth floor. This room did not have hot water. We returned to the very nice person at the reception desk who gave us a room on the sixth floor. When we arrived on the sixth floor we were met with yet another loud party in the Club Lounge (and the sound traveled all through the sixth floor...guess I was glad we weren't initially upgraded after all). We returned to the reception desk and were given another room on the fifth floor which had hot water, but smelled moldy. The next day (July 15) we wanted to use the Business Center to print our airline boarding cards. The Business Center consisted of two outdated computers...no printer. In order to print the boarding cards (or anything else for that matter), you had to send an email (with an attachment) to the reception desk for printing. I found this troubling since emails contain information that I really do not want to share with the reception desk staff. The hotel does provide an airline check-in kiosk with a printer. However, the only airline that is represented is Copa Airlines.

So, here is my advice. If you come to this hotel, do not stay on the second or sixth floors because you may have to deal with A LOT of noisy parties and guests (the second floor sits over the party rooms and the sixth floor has a club room). Also, if you have any business to conduct using a computer or if you need to print out a boarding card, you might want to find an alternative location to do such tasks. Lastly, the air conditioning in all of the rooms is very noisy.

On the positive side, the hotel is clean. There is a nice view of the Panama Canal. We have also stayed in the Crowne Plaza Panama City and the Intercontinental Panama City. Of the three, Holiday Inn City of Knowledge is probably the best given the price and what you get. Plus, it has the nicest staff. The other two hotels are over priced and the staff, especially at the Intercontinental are a tad arrogant (and we speak Spanish....).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graciela A, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We appreciate your great input and suggestions. We are happy to inform you that a printer has been installed at our business center. We apologize for any inconvenience due to the noise and we are looking into the possibility to replace the door of the ball room with a sound proof material to avoid any disturbance for our guests lounge. We hope to see you again and experience our hospitality. Every Wednesdays our Restaurant offers a Sea Food evening, we will happy to assist with dinner reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Panama Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Panama Canal

Address: Ave. Omar Torrijos Herrera Clayton, Panama City 7336, Panama (Formerly Holiday Inn Panama City)
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 107 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Panama Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for Panama hotel deals will appreciate the great location and outstanding array of amenities found at the Holiday Inn(R) City of Knowledge. Located just minutes away from some of the best attractions and businesses in Panama, our property offers both convenience and great value.Leisure guests are often drawn to our family-friendly Panama City hotel's close proximity to several of the city's best attractions including the visitor center at Miraflores Locks at the Panama Canal, the Albrook Shopping Center (with free shuttle service from our hotel), and the Gamboa Rainforest Resort. But our guests don't even have to leave the hotel to enjoy our sparkling outdoor pool in a beautifully landscaped courtyard, the well-equipped 24-hour Fitness Center, or our gift shop for a souvenir. Our hotel is only a few miles away from Panama City's banking district where many international transactions take place. Our fully-staffed Business Center provides guests with everything they need including copying, courier service, personal computer, and high-speed Internet access.When you're looking for great Panama hotel deals we offer the best. Make your reservations today to get the best Panama travel deals around at our Panama City hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Panama Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Of Knowledge Hotel Panama City
Panama City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Panama Canal Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Panama Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.