We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baru Lodge - excellent value in Panama City!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baru Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Baru Lodge to your Saves list
Baru Lodge
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Calle Ricardo Miro | Calle Elida diez, 2da Norte, Panama City 11100, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 74 Panama City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Baru Lodge - excellent value in Panama City!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

First of all - this is not a hotel, so please don't expect it to be. It's more like a bed and breakfast/lodge and as such functions very well in my opinion.

We arrived at Tocumen Airport and was picked up by a driver arranged by the lodge. The cost was $25 which is about normal for that trip. If you've never been to Panama City don't expect Miami. It's a developing country with rich and poor neighborhoods. We arrived at Baru which is in a relatively quiet, residential area not far from Calle 50 which was where we rented a car from National Car Rental. Since we were not staying in the city this was a perfect arrangement however. The lodge was clean and has a printer, copier and computer there for guests. The backyard is lovely and breakfast is simple but adequate. The bedroom was clean, modern and if you get a room not facing the street - quiet! All in all it is now my default place to stay in the city.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    57
    13
    4
    8
See reviews for
18
70
30
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

I am a solo traveller who wanted to stay in a quiet, comfortable bed and breakfast without wishing to break the bank. This place was perfect. The room was very modern and immaculate. My room even had a separate living space where a dining table.

The continental breakfast in the morning was delicious and filling. The garden out back was tranquil and a perfect spot to read a book or relax. All staff were incredibly helpful and accommodating. It is very easy to get from various spots around Panama City from this location. I have no negative reviews. I will stay here again when I am back in town.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

We stayed here at the end of a two week trip in Panama. It was a welcome reprieve after spending several fairly sleepless nights in a hostel above a bar and in a jungle bungalow encased in mosquito netting. We slept soundly, enjoyed television on our big flat screen TV, and ate our continental breakfast in the nice garden patio area behind the hotel. Staff were extremely helpful in arranging for a taxi to the airport and also in ordering McDonald's to our room. (Again, it was our last night after two weeks of fairly extensive travel and we were tired.) We had difficulties walking anywhere from our hotel but were easily able to catch a bus to Via Argentina (where there are several decent restaurants and bars) and to the movies.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

For reasons of moving around in Central America and using Panama City as a hub we stayed in the Baru Lodge on 3 separate occasions during February.

Good choice, as, although not necessarily in the most practical part of town, the establishment offers a really comfortable night's sleep in a little oasis away from the hustle bustle of the big city.

Super-clean rooms, friendly reception staff ( although they could do with sending the " breakfast girls " on a customer relations course ) a lovely tranquil garden to breakfast or just chill out in, make Baru Lodge a really hot tip for a stay in Panama City.

Many thanks to Erwin and team for making us feel so welcome there and ensuring that our airport transfers were always there punctually to ferry us around.

P.S. If you stay there, ask for one of the rooms facing the garden.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Highly recommended. confortable, clean, kindly front desk people and delicious breakfast. They offer special city tour and beach tour, highly recommended as well, for a good price. /

Altamente recomendado. Comodo, limpio, recepcionistas amables, y deliciosos desayunos. El hotel ofrece city tours y de playa tambien bien recomendados, por un buen precio.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

I stayed at the hotel with my friend and we were totally happy there. I am allergic to AC, we had a room towards the garden, seeing colibris and lapas and were sleeping with the open window! In the middle of the city! The design is very contemprary with nice details, the hotel is functional and the service people and owner family is very nice.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

This is a great hotel. I've stayed for two weeks while on Business and although a little away form the hub of central Panama City, a $2 cab ride and you're there. The owner and staff will do all they can to help you. The rooms are modern and clean, the garden a beautiful little tranquil spot of rainforest. Very affordable and has a few amenities very close by. Free wifi and use of the printer, with a PC in the reception if you don't have a laptop with you. A fair range of breakfast available for a good amount of time in the morning, 7:30-10:30am. I would totally reccommend this hotel be it for business or pleasure. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Baru Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baru Lodge

Address: Calle Ricardo Miro | Calle Elida diez, 2da Norte, Panama City 11100, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baru Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located minutes from tourist attractions, shopping and business areas of the vibrant and modern city of Panama.We take pride in being very service oriented and welcome you to the charming architecture and peaceful atmosphere of Baru Lodge.The quiet garden grounds are abundant with greenery, unique in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Baru Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baru Hotel Panama City
Baru Lodge Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baru Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.