We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid unless you want to be ripped off” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa de Los Nogueras

La Casa de Los Nogueras
Avenida Principal Los Robles No. R. 17, Managua 505, Nicaragua
505-2278-2506
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 207 Restaurants in Managua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Avoid unless you want to be ripped off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Really sad experience.
We were the only ones in the restaurant and, when we got the bill we realised why.
To be fair the food was good. Extremely expensive ( over $200 for one course with wine) but we could have coped with that if they then had not increased the cost of the wine on the bill. On the menu it was $ 50 ( plus 15 % tax plus 10% service) the bill came with $58 ++.
It was only $10 different, but this is principle!
I suggested the restaurant made it up with a complementary cognac - the boss said no
When we arrived I asked what was the house speciality and I was told lamb. It was good ( New Zealand rather than Nicaraguan) and the most expensive dish on the menu - maybe we should have been sceptical at that stage!
Make up your own mind, but I would certainly never go back and I really hope that the management take action against this sort of unscrupulous conduct, assuming, of course, that they are not encouraging it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    12
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Nicaragua
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Rather decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

It's a place to have a decent meal, go! Located in Los Robles at what used to be a family home and is visited by Managuas who want to eat nice and be seen. It's part of the Nicas folklore.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This place is well known for being a fancy restaurant. I was disappointed with the place. It is an old house with no special decoration. The food is good but above the average price for the city. no worth it !. The personnel is kind.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Most elegant restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Most elegant, beautiful, restaurant by far. It is a definite must to experience. Its a romantic place to eat, especially out in the patio section.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“pricy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

to expensive for the service provided. service for the food was a little bid tardy. and the waiters manners where not that great as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa de Los Nogueras also viewed

Managua, Managua Department
Managua, Managua Department
 
Managua, Managua Department
 

Been to La Casa de Los Nogueras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa de Los Nogueras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.