We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food itself was perfect but..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Gastronomia del Buzo

La Gastronomia del Buzo
Carretera Sur Km 13 100mts Al Sur 100 Mts Al Este, Managua, Nicaragua
505-2265-8336
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 171 restaurants in Managua
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Managua, Nicaragua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food itself was perfect but..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

NEVER order sangria here! For a one and half jar of sangria, we paid more than 40 dollars. I don't complain if it was good; juice instead of soda, lots of ice cubes which will be melt in ten minutes and make your sangria more watery..
Anyway, we really enjoyed the food. The menu is a bit not-customer-friendly since there is no explanation of the food. But don't worry. The chef will come out and recommend and explain details of the dishes of the day. According to his recommendation, we orderd two appetizers (carpaccio of white fish and cream of fennel with claims, shrimp, etc) and two main dishes (risotto with carpaccio of tuna and three different types of pasta, which was the hit of the day for me.)
Once again, I beg you to all not to order sangria here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    156
    19
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hands down the best & freshest seafood in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Can't come to Nicaragua without coming here every night for the most amazing meals... Owner personally makes his recommendations of his freshest catches and newest creations!!
He surprises me every time!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Restaurant in Managua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

La Cueva Del Buzo is by far the best restaurant in Managua! Alessio has the freshest ingredients (mostly grown in his garden or fished by he himself), and has the most creative and exciting dishes and flavors. The old standards are still amazing, but we really enjoy the new creations, which keep us returning again and again-sometimes for the old and sometimes for the new.

Guests receive just as much attention as the cuisine. The wait staff know the menu and the wines. If a diner has a question, Don Alessio is nearby with a tantalizing explanation of what will certainly be an amazing dish. The experience is outstanding!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My friends have raved about this place for years. Finally we decided to go for our anniversary dinner.

Decor? what decor? pathetically filled with crass advertisements for a slew of Nicaraguan branded stuff. Too brightly lit. Uncomfortable seating.

Menu? Decent selection. A plus is that you can order 1/2 orders of almost everything on the menu.

Our appetizers were outrageously good--fish carpaccio and a fresh mozzarella salad. The bread was very good as well.

Mains? Blah! The risotto is made with regular rice not arborio rice which makes a HUGE difference. I ordered the risotto marinera (seafood) and it had no taste. Zero. next up was linguini and clams with red sauce. Also no flavor and not sure I ever found a single clam in it. The wife had grilled shrimp, which were salad sized (i.e., tiny) and flavorless.

There aren't too many options for italian food in Managua, and I certainly don't count this as one of them.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
“ABOVE EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Freshest seafood anywhere in the world, outstanding recipes and unusual catches, see picture of fresh huge delicious oysters

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gastronomia del Buzo also viewed

Managua, Managua Department
Managua, Managua Department
 
Managua, Managua Department
Managua, Managua Department
 

Been to La Gastronomia del Buzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gastronomia del Buzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.