We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat Here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mi Viejo Ranchito

Mi Viejo Ranchito
Km 17.5 Carretera a Masaya | Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
505-2279-2865
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 191 Restaurants in Managua
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Central American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
East Bay, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Eat Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Varied cuisine, priced well in an indoor/outdoor setting. Authentic Nicaraguan cuisine. Good service.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    20
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Managua, Nicaragua
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“popular local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

It's a very popular restaurant for the locals. They have two locations, one around kilometer 18 on Masaya and the other on 40 or near there. The one on 18 km is usually full of people in the night. It is cheap for a nicaragua restaurant, prices around C$120, they have good grills.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent food , service and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We ate here approx 1.5 weeks back and truly enjoyed it. Service was great and the food was even better. They have a very extensive menu so the picky eaters should be able to find something. Three of us had lunch a few pops for around $25 and that included tax and tip. We will definitely be going back. We have drove by this place many time and its always busy, and now we know why!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“typical nicaraguan food, worth the drive? hardly.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

mi viejo ranchito, a more upscale typical nicaraguan restaurant than most, yet only half as good. their antojitos (or appetizers) are delicious and will satisfy your nica cravings. their main courses? not so much. i had a steak with tostones and rice and was quite disapppointed. the beef was dry, the tostones had no cheese to go with it (a sin punishable by death) and the rice, was just rice. maybe i had the wrong dish...but even the relaxing rancho feel wasn't enough to impress me.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best bet for countryside gourmets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

A distinguished atmosphere in terms of landscape, save, spacious parking area and service.
Choose between lower level ranchitos or the elegant Restaurant on top of the slope.
They offer some specialties hard to find in many oher eateries. There is even a playground for children. Good attention , polite staff. I personally consider the place as best choice to eat while heading for Managua or southbound.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Viejo Ranchito also viewed

Managua, Managua Department
Managua, Managua Department
 
Managua, Managua Department
Managua, Managua Department
 

Been to Mi Viejo Ranchito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mi Viejo Ranchito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.