We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel near to the airport.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Globales Camino Real

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Globales Camino Real to your Saves list
Globales Camino Real
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 9.5 Carretera Norte | P.O. Box C-118, Managua 11052, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Managua
Mellieha, Malta
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel near to the airport.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Otherwise like major hotels in the area, this one is ground floor level only surrounded by gardens.
Wide corridors and spacious rooms with all facilities.
A fine open air pool in the middle with a separate shallow one for kids, both surrounded by chairs and stretchers.
A pleasant bar and a good restaurant, though getting noisy when filled with guests due reflection from the hard walls and ceiling (the acoustics being the only minor point we have on this hrestaurant).
The hotel runs a shuttle service to and from the airport and fortunately we could leave our rental car (collected at the airport) at the hotel as the rental company we used also had an office there.
Though the hotel is close to the airport there is no aviation noise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    156
    35
    16
    3
See reviews for
57
109
43
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed here one night after arriving in Managua late in the afternoon. We were heading to Little Corn Island the next morning and this location was ideal to quickly make it to the airport. The hotel has a shuttle which can quickly whisk you back and forth in less than 5 minutes. The rooms are nice and have AC which makes sleeping very comfortable. The hotel also has a pool, casino, and restaurant. We had dinner here and all the food was tasty and well prepared. If you are looking for a place close to the airport than look no further.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel camino real on the first and last night of our vacation. It was by far the most expensive hotel of our vacation but it's convince and pool made it worth it. Beds were comfy, showers were hot. They gym was sufficiently equipped for our needs although the a/c was not turned on. The pool was clean and provided a great cool off post workout. The restaurant had a menu with options for anyone, everything we ate we enjoyed. The airport shuttles were always on time.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed here twice during our trip to Nicaragau. This is your best choice of airport hotels and is far more luxurious than the Best Western just down the road.
Let me start by saying do NOT change your money at the airport where the rate was 20 cordobas to the US dollar.This is one big rip off. The exchange rate at this hotel is really, really good and was at 25.4 cordobas when we were there In Feb 2014.

The hotel is quite upscale and perfectly comfortable and has nice grounds. Be sure to check out the aviary with talking parrots. Breakfast buffet was excellent. The pool here is really clean and a nice place to hang out while waiting for your plane departure. We also stayed at the best western down the road and the pool was really dirty there. This is definitely your best choice close to the airport.

Room Tip: Stayed here a couple of times and all rooms were good. 100% non-smoking which is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

~15 Min from the Airport you will find a great place to relax. The rooms are large, the beds are just perfect, hard with a wide selection of pillows. The AirCon is easy to handle and quiet - all very clean. The best part is the service. The stuff is extremely friendly and speak well English. Happy hour I the bar, the pool area is a great place to relax after a long business trip.
I am here the fourth year in a row and will come back next year as well

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Mederas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My husband & I and our two friends were searching for a hotel in Managua for our final night in Nica before catching an early flight back to the states the next morning. Before departing SJDS, I did some research. We knew about the Best Western that is located directly across the street from the airport that was about $100 a night, but my husband thought he had seen another hotel near the airport when we arrived. I searched and discovered that Hotel Camino Real was less than 5 minutes from the airport, and the hotel provided a free shuttle to and from. I price compared Camino with Best Western, and Best Western was slightly higher (about $5). What sold me on going with Camino Real were the pictures of the hotel. Way better than Best Western, and when we arrived to the hotel the afternoon before our departure of the country, we were truly stunned at what a beautiful hotel it was. We were also pleasantly surprised to receive 2 vouchers for complimentary drinks in the bar at happy hour.
My husband and I took advantage of the swimming pool, which was great! And we also utilized the spa (specifically the sauna). Wow! The facility was so clean and was a treat to us after our long stay in the country.
We had dinner at the restaurant, and all 4 of us Loved our meals! Comparatively to the rest of our meals on our trip, this was pricey, but it really wasn't any more expensive than a meal at a chain restaurant back home.
Our room (2 double beds) was also super clean and very comfortable. When we first got to the room, we thought there was a blown fuse or something as the bathroom light and a couple other lights didn't work. We soon discovered we had to put one of our room keys into a holder/card reader on the wall next to the door in order for the lights to work. It's some sort of energy saver or something to make sure you dont leave your room with all the lights and AC still on. Brilliant!
The only complaint I have about our stay is the following morning when I went to check out. There was no option for an in-room check out, and so there was a long line of people waiting to check out, with only one person working the front desk at 6am. We were trying to catch the 6am shuttle to the airport to make our 8am flight to Houston, but I was held up for 15 minutes waiting to check out (which only took 30 seconds once I reached the from of the line). Thankfully the shuttle driver ran us over to the airport right away when he returned from his previous trip. (As a note, the shuttle starts at 5am and runs every half hour to the airport).
So the only negative was overturned by the very helpful shuttle driver! All in all, this is a fabulous hotel, and if you like to gamble, it's right next door to Pharaohs Casino (which we didn't check out). Our next trip to Nica we'll definitely be returning to Hotel Camino Real!

Room Tip: When searching for the best deal on Kayak.com, I found that Orbitz had a good rate, but then I did a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Its a big hotel near the airport. The rooms are okay, not much special. There's a nice pool, a restaurant and a casino attached. Its nothing special, but ideal if you have to catch an early flight. If you are looking for adventure, or something special, don't bother coming here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Globales Camino Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Camino Real

Address: Km 9.5 Carretera Norte | P.O. Box C-118, Managua 11052, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Managua
#3 Spa Hotel in Managua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Managua
#8 Family Hotel in Managua
#9 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Globales Camino Real 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Globales Camino Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Globales Camino Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.