We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Managua” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Globales Camino Real

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Globales Camino Real to your Saves list
Globales Camino Real
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 9.5 Carretera Norte | P.O. Box C-118, Managua 11052, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Managua
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best of Managua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great staff! Very nice rooms! Excellent prices....and EXQUISITE FOOD!!! thumbs up for the chef! Loved the french onion soup....the best I ever had! Perfect location!! Near the airport. Defenitely I'm coming back soon!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventashcr, Director Comercial at Globales Camino Real, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We appreciate your good review on Trip Advisor.
If you need help future reservations please contact us.
Regards,

Danfer Escobar
Sales Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    156
    36
    16
    3
See reviews for
58
109
43
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed here just before leaving Nicaragua. The hotel shuttle picked me up at the airport and the room was very clean and comfortable with great amenities. The restaurant was good and reasonable and the outdoor pool was great. I really enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventashcr, Director Comercial at Globales Camino Real, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We're glad you had a good stay with us.
If you need help booking in the future do not hesitate to contact us.
Regards,

Danfer Escobar
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

They excel in things that matter to me: welcoming, friendly, and helpful staff; modern and complete facilities; reasonable prices; internet that works very well; awesome restaurant, bar, and breakfast buffet.

I cannot say enough about the quality of the staff. From the helpful maid who did my laundry on a Sunday to the bartenders who constantly fulfilled my need for coffee to the shuttle driver who was friendly, talkative, and patient with my poor Spanish to the wait staff in the very good restaurant, everyone at Camino Real Managua was awesome. I can overlook A LOT if the people are friendly and helpful.

Fortunately, this hotel does it all well. Really, if you want to stay at a somewhat more upper crust place for not upper crust prices, this is the hotel for you. It's awesome.

That's not to say that it's perfect: my bathroom was less than perfectly clean, it's a long ways from everything but the airport, and they tend to nickel-and-dime guests to death (everything costs money -- I suppose that's how they keep the per-night charge low).

But the good far, far, far outweigh the bad. If I return to Managua, I'll stay here again. For sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventashcr, Director Comercial at Globales Camino Real, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Our staff welcomes your review. We hope to serve you in the near future.
Regards,

Danfer Escobar
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here for one night after arriving late in the evening at the airport. The shuttle arrived about 10 minutes after we did which was a bit anxiety inducing. Once we arrived at the hotel (probably a 2-3 minute drive) we were promptly checked into our hotel room which was much nicer than I was expecting (nicer than most airport hotels I guess!). The hotel is quite big, the lobby is nice and I wasn't expecting such a large pool area. We had a drink on the patio after we arrived and they did have a bar food menu available even at that hour. We slept well and our room was very quiet despite being so close to the airport. Breakfast was included with our stay and we definitely got our moneys worth - it was great. I would stay here again if I needed a hotel close to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventashcr, Director Comercial at Globales Camino Real, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you very much for posting your advice on Trip Advisor.
If you need help future bookings please contact us.
Regards,

Danfer Escobar
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was my second stay at this hotel in a period of days.

My first stay was fine: I arrived late and left early, and all was as one would expect.

My second stay saw me in a room with two double beds, with one of them being lopsided. As I was by myself, this did not present a problem. What did present a problem was the infestation (20, 30, 40???) of mosquitoes I became aware of when I closed the blinds and disturbed them. At that point I also became aware of a number of dead mosquitoes on the floor. I reported the issue and instead of being moved to another room, the hotel sent The Exterminator to spray and drip chemical around the perimeter of the room. Suffice to say the smell was overpowering and I live in hope my future children will not have birth defects.

After 30 minutes mosquitoes continued to buzz around the room (In the hotel’s defence, I did note more dead mosquitoes on the floor, which suggested the chemicals were working.) and I approached reception, who informed me the problem would be taken care of. I responded that I was going out for an hour and upon my return, nothing had been done: “We forgot.” I was then asked to wait at reception. After 15 minutes I was then asked to return to my room where someone would contact me. I fell asleep (Due to the chemicals I continued to smell???) and was awakened by a knock at the door. Instead of my room being changed, the staff member placed an electrical mosquito repellent in a socket in the room. I again approached reception and again indicated my displeasure. I was told it was mosquito season and moquitoes in the room were to be expected. When I replied that I had stayed in the past week, I was then informed the fault was mine as the staff member indicted I had left the door open, which was a blatant lie. I was then requested to wait again as phone calls were made. Then came the response I had grown to know and love: “We forgot. You have been moved to another room.” I was moved to another room after two and a half hours. Incredibly, even though it continued to be mosquito season, I had none in my new room! The planets had aligned!

Foolishly, instead of cowering silently in my room, I tried ordering room service. Busy. I tried again. Busy. Then I tried again. Busy. Etc. I tried calling reception and received no response. I then walked to reception and explained my phone issues. No apology. “You can go to the bar and order it.” I wondered where I could go to order new staff???

Room service did arrive promptly but that may have been because one item was missing.

I know: “You forgot.”

Incredibly, they didn’t forget when it came time to take my money.

Room Tip: The Hilton...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventashcr, Director Comercial at Globales Camino Real, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
I apologize for the inconveniences experienced at our hotel. Your contribution is taken into account to improve in the above.
I appreciate the sincerity of your opinion.
Regards,

Danfer Escobar
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

For an airport hotel, CR is great. It's super quiet yet only a quick minute from the airport. The spa is great. My father reported that he had an excellent massage. The gym is very nice - big, clean, airy - and the steam room worked well. The pool is huge, and the buffet breakfast is truly amazing. We've stayed at CR several times and were very sad when it was fully booked this last time around. If you ever have a late arrival (or early departure), this is the place to stay in Managua.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms near the spa. Try 314-320.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventashcr, Director General at Globales Camino Real, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. If you need help for future bookings please contact me.
Regards,

Danfer Escobar
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrensburg, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This place was above my expectations. It happened to be busy with holiday parties from local businesses but we real enjoined our day there. The room was large and clean and also the staff was very helpful. I would recommend this place again and again,

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventashcr, Director Comercial at Globales Camino Real, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.
Regards,

Danfer Escobar
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Globales Camino Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Camino Real

Address: Km 9.5 Carretera Norte | P.O. Box C-118, Managua 11052, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Managua
#3 Spa Hotel in Managua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Managua
#9 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Globales Camino Real 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Globales Camino Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Globales Camino Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.