We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Camino Real

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Camino Real to your Saves list
Hotel Camino Real
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 9.5 Carretera Norte, Managua 11052, Nicaragua (Formerly Globales Camino Real)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel was very nice, clean and great food. The service was outstanding. We definitely recommend it. My mother and were just in Nicaragua in August and also stayed there and loved it. They loved the openness of the hotel and the lush garden. My kids really enjoyed the parrots and deeds in the back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    176
    42
    16
    6
See reviews for
63
122
49
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel for a short business trip to Managua. The hotel is like a big hacienda, with nice gardens and open areas. Staff was very nice and helpful, however I noticed some of the English speaker visitors had problems communicating as the staff's English was limited. Internet was alright for central american standards. The rooms were ok size, although a bit outdated. It was very hot on July, and I had to have the A/C all day, which gave me a very bad cold. Overall the hotel was OK, but I don't think I'll stay again here on my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff by the Sea, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

What Hotel Camino Real has going for it is proximity to the airport and free shuttle service, which proves most convenient for flights arriving late or departing very early from Managua. The air-conditioned rooms are comfortable and clean, and the service good. Free wi-fi is a big plus, as is the spacious pool and outdoor area, not to mention a never-empty bar and a variety of offerings for the breakfast buffet. Due to the transfer timings of my ultimate destination in Nicaragua, which was not Managua, I booked this hotel online before arrival, and again on my way out after I'd tried it. Excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Camino Real is the perfect hotel to await your upcoming flight. We spend 2 nights and were very happy with the room, service and food. The room, pool and hotel were always very clean. Free-Wifi all over the place helped to kill some hours. The only bad thing was the small selection of english TV stations, but we are in central america, so ... ok.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Internet is $ 3.00/hour if you don't have your own computer (especially bad considering it's free in the hotel next door).
The service was poor throughout our stay, queuing for 20 mins at 4.00 a.m. to checkout (it’s an airport hotel!), the staff wasn’t particularly friendly, the happy hour deal is a puzzle only they understand.
Room was very clean, shuttle bus was helpful.
Not worth the money at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I visit Nicaragua regularly during the year and always have to stay for a night or 2 when I arrive and before I leave. The hotel is very convenient for the airport and they will pick up and drop off. The rooms are spacious , the aircon works well and they are clean and comfortable. Hotel staff always very friendly .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

the room are great and comfortable.the food is good the please is clean and frendly the pool is wonderful is close to de airport the free shuttle to the airport is grate wake up call.drinks by depool a highly recommended an y loe this place an de price

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Camino Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Camino Real

Address: Km 9.5 Carretera Norte, Managua 11052, Nicaragua (Formerly Globales Camino Real)
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Managua
#8 Romantic Hotel in Managua
#8 Family Hotel in Managua
#12 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Camino Real 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globales Camino Real Hotel has created a unique ambience, surrounded by nature, only 2 minutes from the airport of Managua and very close to the Casino Pharaohs: the perfect blend between ecology and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Camino Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Camino Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.