We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty, Comfort and Convenience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Globales Camino Real

Save Saved
You added Globales Camino Real to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Globales Camino Real
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 9.5 Carretera Norte | P.O. Box C-118, Managua, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 47 hotels in Managua
Palm Desert, California
1 review
“Beauty, Comfort and Convenience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

An excellent choice when traveling to Nicaragua, conveniently close to the airport yet set within beautiful tropical gardens. A perfect choice when you arrive and leave Nicaragua. My husband and I have been traveling there for years and won't go anywhere else. Though we did try a couple other hotels in Managua and regret spending the money at those other places. The Hotel Camino Real is a great place to arrive at after all the stress of travel since it's very close and there are courtesy shuttles to and from the airport waiting to greet you when you arrive. And we always stay there the night before we leave for a good rest and breakfast and an easy hop over to the airport in the morning. It is exceptionally clean, quiet and safe. And the service is outstanding from the moment you arrive. You won't believe you are in a large city next to an airport, but in paradise by a gorgeous pool surrounded by coconut palms. The grounds are manicured and full of tropical flowers. There is a lovely bar where you can have a cocktail and listen to live music, watch a game and have dinner. The restaurant has the best breakfast buffet in all of Nicaragua! And did I mention the service was awesome...The beds are comfortable, the food is delicious, and the friendly staff make it a pleasure to be in Managua.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    144
    30
    15
    3
See reviews for
50
98
40
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Pure and simple this place is an oasis. The room was great and clean with a very comfortable bed. Nice and quiet too. The pool was fabulous (they also have a children's pool as well) and I very much enjoyed my stay here. We ate at the restaurant which was clean and the food was good. There was a large group of us and everyone who drank the water (non bottled) they served was fine. They run a free shuttle to the airport (which is about 5 minutes away) which makes this a great place to stay if you have a flight to catch. We had an early flight and a 4:30am wake up call (which everyone got) and there was fresh coffee and tea along with some baked goods waiting in the lobby. The price was also super reasonable. Highly recommend. The only downside was that we had to wait about an hour for our food at the restaurant but since we were all talking we enjoyed the time anyway and then they served us drinks by the pool which was nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We wanted a hotel near the airport since we had a 7:30am flight. The Camino Real has frequent free airport shuttles starting at 5:00am. They had a table with muffins/coffee/juice out at 4:45 am for the early departing guests. This was a beautiful hotel with a wonderful pool and outdoor patio area. The restaurant has good food and slow service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

A very nice pool and convenient for the local airport. Room was showing it's age and the beds were small and hard. It was fine for one night, but not sure this would be a place for multiple nights.

The pool was excellent and the food was good in the bar area. The restaurant seemed a bit formal for a family, but we managed fine.

Room Tip: Offers a free shuttle to airport beginning at 5 AM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marine on Saint Croix, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel when we arrived in Managua and returned for two nights prior to our departure. Upscale in service, decor and price. We found it a good value for pampered night or two for flight recovery and departure. The Best Western across from the Sandino Airport was full when we arrived - we are happy it was because it led us 5 minutes further down the road to Hotel Camino Real - a much better property, in our opinion. Rooms were spacious, well appointed and clean. Service was very good and the breakfast and dinners (we ate Italian mostly) were excellent as well. We utilized one of the onsite taxi drivers to attend an across town meeting -used three or four hours of his time for an incredibly reasonable fare. We tipped well and total bill was still under $20.00. Everyone at the property was gracious, helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, FL
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband, daughter and I needed a place close to the Managua airport before flying to/from Big Corn Island and Hotel Camino Real was exactly the place. Service was very good and everyone was very helpful. Our rooms on both nights we stayed there were very clean and well-appointed, definitely the nicest room we stayed at in our whole Nicaragua stay. The hotel kept some of our luggage in storage while we flew to Big Corn Island for free which was a great help. And the free shuttle to and from the airport was nice too. My husband checked out the casino for a little bit and said it was average, but we aren't big gamblers so not a surprise that he wasn't that thrilled about it. The breakfast buffet wasn't complimentary but had everything on it - very nice. Would recommend a stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one that is not on one of the main hallways. A little noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ustica, Italy
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have stayed at Camino Real four years in a row and always had a great time there. However, our latest visit was horrible. We encountered several problems, first we were assigned to adjacent rooms without having requested it; were switched to another room where the toilet waste came out the bathtub; we were sent to another room which was dirty and had water on the bathroom's floor. Since it was an emergency switch we let it go for the night. Unfortunately, the carpet and the room were extremely dirty and remained the same despite my several requests to clean them up. Also it had no hot water even though I reported it twice. A concierge name Denisse forgot to enter my request for an extra night reason why I was followed by a doorman and asked by an employee named Marvin, to leave my room or pay immediately because my bill was kind of lengthy. Outrageous! I spoke with the General Manager who apologized for the horrible experience but did not agree to provide us with a discount. I will never go back!!!!

Room Tip: Although the rooms numbered 600 have a view to the pool they are not as clean as the ones numbered 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Globales Camino Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Camino Real

Address: Km 9.5 Carretera Norte | P.O. Box C-118, Managua, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Managua
#7 Family Hotel in Managua
#8 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Globales Camino Real 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Globales Camino Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Globales Camino Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.