We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Camino Real

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Camino Real to your Saves list
Hotel Camino Real
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 9.5 Carretera Norte, Managua 11052, Nicaragua (Formerly Globales Camino Real)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it was recommended by the place we were staying on Little Corn Island and close to the airport. We were very glad we did! We only stayed 2 days, but wish we could have stayed longer.

The airport shuttle was very convienent. Our flight was 1 1/2 hours late and he was still there waiting for us!

The rooms were very comfortable. After being without a/c and hot water for a week at our previous location it was Heaven for us! The grounds were also very pretty.

We ate dinner at the bar both nights. The food was great but the portions were big enough for 4 people! Luis was our bartender both nights and he was truly amazing! He was extremely nice and also makes the BEST margaritas which was a huge plus!

Their breakfast was also very good. There were many options and it was worth the price.

I definitely recommend staying here and I can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    175
    42
    16
    4
See reviews for
63
121
49
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Arrived in Managua in the evening. It was hot and humid. Walking into the hotel was heaven. It was too late and we were too tired to hit the pool, so we hit the bar instead. Our room was nice and the bathroom was modern. The breakfast buffet was a feast. Lots of fresh fruits, juices, pastries and rolls, casseroles, etc. Grounds were very pretty. Wish we could have stayed more than just overnight.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King City, Missouri, United States
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

When we visited Nicaragua we looked for a hotel in close proximity to Managua's International Airport. We were fortunate to find this wonderful hotel about a mile away. It is located away from the main highway and in separate buildings from the Casino so it's very quiet and restful. The professional staff are courteous and helpful. The rooms are tastefully decorated, comfortable and secure as are the hotel grounds. The grounds are fastidiously maintained and extremely beautiful.
The restaurant served excellently prepared food, the breakfast buffet was fantastic. You could easily pay 2 or 3 times for a hotel of this quality and beauty in the US. We plan on staying at this great hotel when we return.

Room Tip: If you plan on hiring a driver, we suggest Roberto Hernandez, who specializes in transportation for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice hotel after a long day of flying. Close to airport, grounds are lovely, food is great. We have stayed here two years in a row and will definitely return again. The pools are clean and refreshing, rooms though older are clean. Staff is friendly. Good exercise room. We got a free welcome drink voucher on arrival.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very well situated for a stay prior to departure from airport. Comfortable bed. Large and inviting swimming pool. Personnel at front desk helpful. It would be nice if the personnel in the restaurant was smiling. The service is just ok. Free shuttle to airport starts at 05h00.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had a great stay at Camino Real, Managua!
Beautiful place to relax and enjoy all of its commodities!
I have a thing with beds! and hotel rooms are just well equipped with nice and firm beds.

I'm looking forward on my next trip to visit them again with the whole family!
Henry Cabrera

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Even though it is attached to a casino, the room was quiet and comfortable. The grounds are lovely, and the pool large and very clean. There is also a nice gym. Note that you might feta better rate by calling hotel directly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Camino Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Camino Real

Address: Km 9.5 Carretera Norte, Managua 11052, Nicaragua (Formerly Globales Camino Real)
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Managua
#7 Romantic Hotel in Managua
#7 Business Hotel in Managua
#8 Family Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Camino Real 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globales Camino Real Hotel has created a unique ambience, surrounded by nature, only 2 minutes from the airport of Managua and very close to the Casino Pharaohs: the perfect blend between ecology and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Camino Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Camino Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.