We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Globales Camino Real

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Globales Camino Real to your Saves list
Globales Camino Real
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 9.5 Carretera Norte | P.O. Box C-118, Managua 11052, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Managua
St Andrews
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great experience again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I visit Nicaragua regularly and usually stay in this hotel because it is handy for the airport . There is a good shuttle bus service to the airport. The hotel is clean and service is good. I like the food in the dining room and there is an excellent pool . After probably a dozen vsits I would say that this is a well run and reliable hotel.
Nick

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    156
    35
    16
    3
See reviews for
57
109
43
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Due to logistical reasons, my company booked me in this hotel again (not my choice). However, I must admit that the experience this time was much better than the last time. The service at the counter was better organized although they still do not get everything right. An important point is that when you book they say the rate icnludes breakfast and wireless internet. This is a trick because it includes only wireless internet in the lobby area, not in your room. If you want the wireless service int eh room you need to pay a fee, ridiculous. The room is fine, the AC takes some time to overcome the tremendous heat but it gets there. The food is still the same they have had for many many years. They do not seem to be interested in enhancing the menu; this is strange to me. The taxis parked outside the hotel have reduced their rates which is great because of the distance of the property with the city. You can arrange good rates and the drivers now are even willing to wait for you and bring you back to the hotel or elsewhere for the same rate they charged for the first leg of your trip. So, overall, I am happy with my stay this time but I still need to go through the check out process later today...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. It is not luxury but extremely well appointed, clean, with a good pool, good aircon, a lovely bar and friendly service. Breakfast was great with a huge buffet selection of American and local dishes. Restaurant food was ok, it didn't blow me away.
The hotel is only a few minutes from the airport and next to a casino.
I enjoyed my stay here and would definitely stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed at Camino Real overnight on our way to Little Corn Island and 1 night afterward before flying home. The hotel is less than 5 minutes from the airport and the hotel has a shuttle. The hotel itself is tastefully decorated, very clean with nice large rooms and comfortable beds. The grounds are pretty as is the large pool area with palapas around it. Alot of the people there don't speak english but the bar, restarant and couple of the front desk employees do. We arrived too early to check in and they stored our bags for us while we went out on a tour. Everyone was very friendly and helpful with the exception of a surly looking security guard who seemed to glare at you as if you were on the verge of some heinous crime every time you arrived and left There is a small casino there which I didn't use but one of our friends did and enjoyed herself (exchange rate $1US to 22) with lots of play time on the slot machines. They have a small aviary to the right of the front entry with some pretty birds and in the back behind the tennis courts there are some pet deer. My only complaint was the food. The breakfast buffet was pretty good with a lot of selections but we also had one dinner and one lunch that were not very good at all. We actually ordered in some TipTop chicken (kinda like KFC in Nicaragua) our last night which was pretty good. Unless you are used to 5 star accommodations all the time, Camino Real should please anyone needing close access to the airport or visiting Masaya and the volcano.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirchberg/Jagst
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We did have three great days at Camino Real.
Friendly people and service persons, great food, wonderful pool, clean places all over the hotel compound, helpful in every way!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

My niece and I stayed at this hotel and had a wonderful time. The food is outstanding and staff very friendly. I recommend this hottel to anyone traveling to Managua.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We have stayed almost everywhere in Managua. When we fly in or out very early or very late we usually stay at the Best Western directly across the street from the airport. The Camino Real is only about a mile from the airport so we tried it. The airport vans run continually so that part is easy. This hotel is a nicer than the Best Western, though not the best in Managua. The bathrooms have been remodeled which is not the case at the Best Western. What was great was the breakfast! There is even a person continually making fresh, homemade tortillas. Our grandchildren loved the huge cage of birds by the entry. Would recommend this hotel for anyone needing to stay near the airport.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Globales Camino Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Camino Real

Address: Km 9.5 Carretera Norte | P.O. Box C-118, Managua 11052, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Managua
#3 Spa Hotel in Managua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Managua
#8 Family Hotel in Managua
#9 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Globales Camino Real 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Globales Camino Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Globales Camino Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.