We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing after exceptional stay in Granada” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pista Juan Pablo II, Managua 212, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Managua
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing after exceptional stay in Granada”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We (3 adults) arrived to discover that one of our rooms had been cancelled. We had not been notified in advance. We were initially told that we would have to pay full retail price for the second room. However, the desk clerk then got in touch with the manager, and eventually, they honored the rate we had booked at. While we were waiting, the desk clerk did give us coupons to use at the hotel bar. The pool area was clean and very attractive, and staff were pleasant.
Though both rooms were "non-smoking" one of the rooms reeked of smoke and had lots of cigarette burns in the carpet, and the AC in the smoky room was not functioning correctly.
We also were under the impression that the shuttle to the airport was included, but it was $9/person. The shuttle was clean and prompt.
We also ate at the hotel restaurant. It was quite expensive (like a mid-range American restaurant) compared to our meals in Granada and Masaya. Though the presentation was nice, the food was uninspiring, not exceptional. The service was good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena C, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to express your opinion about our hotel. We are delighted to hear that our bar and restaurant provided you a good service. I do apologize that you found burns and smell of cigarette in the room. About the shuttle cost we have the correct information in our IHG corporate website, I will be sending you an offline message so that we may further investigate what happened in this particular matter, thank you for bringing these to our attention.

We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,


Ximena Cruz
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    90
    56
    13
    10
See reviews for
41
28
28
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rego Park, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Nice location with easy access to all points of interest in Managua and beyond. From the moment one checks in through the moment one leaves... it is everything one wishes; it is attention, neatness, excellent food, quite, service, professionalism and surprisingly inexpensive. I am a world traveler and seldom feel this way about a home... I mean, a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena C, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the great review!. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location, services and that you felt at home.

We eagerly await your next arrival

Sincerly,

Ximena Cruz
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Nicaragua in general is a great place to travel to. THE PEOPLE..make it so..always acknowledging, sweet, friendly, helpful and smiling. Have stayed here twice..and just love it...Great food, by their wonderful chefs, excellent service, spacious room, a casino on the premises..friendly well known area cab drivers..and of course a professional atmosphere..Just a really nice place..surely there are many others..but we do like it here very much..one minor thing..as a result of wear and tear and aging..a few things need to be improved and or replace..carpeting with multiple old stains, lampshades..as was furniture in the room..some need to be replaced for sure..as the really do look bad..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena C, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Ladyrain7,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Convention Center for your recent stay, and for taking time to post a review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. I am addressing your comments about things that needs to be improve to our General Manager.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,

Ximena Cruz
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great hotel. There is one cool leisure area with bar, gym and pool. The breakfast is good, you can find fresh bread and fruits and other meals. The hotel has one good location and the room is very comfortable and cozy. Don't have nothing to complain about it. The hotel should have one free wi-fi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena C, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the service provided. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future to serve you the same way we did last time. I have a doubt about your comment of wifi, we have free wi fi in rooms and public areas so i will send you a private message asking about it.

Best regards,

Ximena Cruz
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently and I must say the experience was great! Check in was a breeze, the front desk person was very helpful. Even though I was with my friend and I failed to note when I originally booked the reservation online, she still gave me 2 room keys and gave me and extra complimentary beverage ticket for my friend too. She did not have to do that and I appreciated her for that. The room was impeccable! The bathroom was very clean and had all the amenities....towels, a magnifying mirror, a great shower head, a telephone (yes a telephone) and a scale! I was truly impressed. The beds were super comfortable. The only drawback, and my friend informed me of this (which he is a native of Managua), is that this hotel is away from most attractions. You have to take either a taxi or public bus. If you will be a first time visitor, I suggest taking a cab. Unless you have a friend that is a local and knows the public bus, you will truly get lost because there are different routes and no bus maps.

Other than that, this is a great hotel that I would not mind staying at again. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena C, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review.

It is a pleasure to hear that your stay was excelent and that you enjoyed our services. Our satisfaction is you receiving a great experience and service. I am addressing your kind words to our staff they will appreciate it.

We hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

Ximena Cruz
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Spent one evening, very enjoyable stay after a long flight from the U.S. Dinner was above average, would of liked to have tried their breakfast. Rooms were comfortable above average. I would like to come back to this property if my travels bring me back to Central America.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena C, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for your review.

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our services. I am addressing your kind words to our staff they will appreciate it. We are going to be waiting for your next visit to Nicaragua and we recomend our breakfast I am sure you will love it.

We hope to see you soon.

Ximena Cruz
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was our first hotel we stayed at in Nicaragua. It was pretty much the same as what you would expect in North America. The staff was helpful and the bartender was great at his open air location beside the pool. Turned out to be the "best" hotel we stayed at in Managua and almost the best in the rest of Nicaragua. Internet was an issue and check in was slow but after some of our other experiences at hotels in Nicaragua, in hindsight, it was pretty good.

Room Tip: Visitors can't expect too much from this country. They are not really set up for tourists witho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena C, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear guest:

Thank you for chose Holiday Inn Convention Center for your first stay in Nicaragua.

It is great to know that you enjoyed our services and that our staff was helpful. We apologize because of the inconvenience with the internet service, we are working to improve it.

I hope that you enjoyed of Nicaragua and we hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

Ximena Cruz Borge
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center

Address: Pista Juan Pablo II, Managua 212, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Managua
#8 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Managua Convention Center It is the ideal hotel for business and leisure travelers, positioned in the heart of the capital city. Our close location to many major companies and organizations such as Kimberly Clark, Nestle, Citibank, the American Embassy and the ONU Building make us an excellent option for business travelers. In addition we are only 14 km away from Managua Int'l Airport (MGA). Our guests will always be able to stay connected since their arrival to the airport with our shuttle equipped with wireless Internet connection, as well as our rooms and public areas. During your stay you will be able to relax at the Bar Sunrise beside our Mediterranean style pool, stay fit in the gym with the help of our trainer and enjoy a diversity of international and national dishes at our Anfora Restaurant or in your room with room service available 24-hours. Our convention center provides everything you need for business meeting, conferences, social events, etc. Meeting rooms for 20 to 1,200 people, banquet service, audiovisual and others, makes us the ideal place for your events. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Managua Hotel Managua
Managua Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.