We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Western” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Las Mercedes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Las Mercedes to your Saves list
Best Western Las Mercedes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 11. 5 Carretera Norte, Managua RD-46, Nicaragua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 49 Hotels in Managua
Piedmont North Carolina
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Worst Western”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

First, let me say that this is a beautiful property from the exterior and the lobby and reception areas are very attractive. The hotel is set in a splendid tropical garden. In addition, both pools are large by Central American standards, very nicely maintained and generously surrounded by tiled terraces. The restaurant is also good and the breakfast buffet is extraordinary for Central America. Also, I would like to say the serving staff are courteous, attentive and grateful for tips. The hotel is also very conveniently located directly across from the airport - no taxi needed.
But, the rooms are terrible. They are located in what appears to be post-war housing - a series of low, ugly buildings (some wood, some concrete), reminiscent of housing at summer camp. The rooms themselves are small with low ceilings and cooled by noisy, inefficient window air-conditioners. This is hardly forgivable since efficient, remote-controlled units are now seen all over Latin Averica in even modest accomodations.
Our room had naked light bulbs, a large crack in the door, and a broken window. The closet door was off its hinges. The lavatory in the bath was coming loose from the wall. I pointed all these out to the management before leaving. I must say the bed was comfortable (new mattress, I think) and there was plenty of hot water; otherwise, I think I would have left. The tile floors throughout the unit and the tile walls of the bath were very nice and quite decorative.
The bill for two people came to almost $100 US per night, but included breakfast. That is not too bad, but for a few dollars more, there are better hotels in Managua.

  • Liked — Location and tropical gardents
  • Disliked — Room condition
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    134
    97
    49
    52
See reviews for
62
96
66
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

My first sight of Nicaragua, other than the airport, was this hotel. The front desk was friendly, even at three in the morning and the gardens and the pool were beautiful. And the person complaining about the bugs and lizards: your in nicaragua!! so get over it. This is a beautiful hotel, i spent my first and last night there and enjoyed every minute of it.

  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

We stayed at the Best Western Las Mercedes because American Airlines cancelled our return flight to the US. The hotel is directly across the street from the airport in Managua, so it is most convenient. This is never a hotel that I would have chosen on my own. The lobby area is decent and they do offer free, unlimited internet service. However, the rooms are absolutely horrible. Our room was completely covered in various types of bugs. Our neighbors across the hall requested a member of the housekeeping staff to bring bug spray which she did. I asked if she would spray my room as well and she said that I had to make my own request through the front desk. We couldn't even get to sleep because literally when I pulled back the comforter there were bugs crawling all over the sheets. There was also no hot water for showers.

  • Liked — free unlimited internet access
  • Disliked — hotel rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

My family and I stayed 1night at this hotel and it was bad. First, I had to change rooms 3 times because there were bug issues (mosquitos & small lizard) swarming around. By the 4th room I was given, there were more mosquitos there, so they decided to come and spray bug spray all over the room which mind you i could not sleep because it was horrible with all the fumes. I ended up staying in that room because I figured that there might be the same problems in the next room and it was the middle of the night to go looking for another place to stay. Probably sleeping outside would have been cleaner and cheaper. When I called front desk to complain, instead of being friendly they acted like I was annoying. When I checked out in the morning the guy at the front desk was rude, did not even say a word about the 3-4 times I had to get my room changed. Well at the end of the day, only thing I liked was that the airport is right in front of it and the only thing I probably liked was the hamburger that I ordered! I donot recommend this hotel because it is pricey for what it has to offer and service sucks.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auberry, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

We stayed here both on our arrival and the night before we left. We arrived early morning and were able to check right in. We spent the day by the pool and had it to ourselves. We had a few beers and a nice lunch poolside. Being it's right across the street from the airport we were able walk over and great our friends who came in early evening and use the ATM machine. We had dinner which was fair and the service was good and friendly. We saw 4 different rooms thoughout our stay. They were all simular but some were a little nicer than others. Nothing great but just fine for a night and very convenient to the airport. Maybe a little overpriced but worth it for the convenience.

  • Liked — Location to the airport
  • Disliked — Noisey airconditioning
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

Had read the reviews for Las Mercedes but had a late flight in and early flight out so went with it. The staff has a person at the luggage claim to direct you to the shuttle bus once you have your luggage for the 200 yard ride across the street. Rooms were large and decently clean and the AC worked. The hotel is huge and sprawling, had a couple drinks and dinner by the pool, the beer was cold and food reasonable and modestly priced.

We were able to leave a bag at the hotel for 10 days and pick it up on our return which was nice. They should give you a recipt to claim it later.

I also had the hotel call a taxi I had prearranged and they did that and let me know everything was fine.

The only complaint I have about Las Mercedes is the price, I spent more on 2 nights there than the other 9 in Nicaragua combined. But still a good option for a 6am flight out.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

This place definitely ranks in one of the worst places I have ever stayed in. The staff is rude and uncooperative. They had a coffee machine in the room but would not give me the coffee sachet to make coffee in my room, instead they suggested that I should come to the lobby to get coffee if I needed to.

The beds were bad, the bathroom did not have hot water and the shower head was broken.

The only good thing is that it is right across the airport and is convenient for taking an early morning flight out of Managua.

Avoid this hotel if at all possible.

  • Liked — Airport access
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Las Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Las Mercedes

Address: Km 11. 5 Carretera Norte, Managua RD-46, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 49 Hotels in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Las Mercedes 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Best Western Las Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Las Mercedes Hotel Managua
Best Western Hotel Managua
Best Western Managua
Managua Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Las Mercedes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.