We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, that's about it.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 11 Carretera Norte, Managua RD-46, Nicaragua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 x 2 Promotion
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Managua
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Convenient location, that's about it.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night prior to flying out of Managua as the hotel is located right across the street from the Airport. We started out with a triple bed room which came out to 89.00 dollars American. The room was very basic, and we soon realized there was no hot water! We ended up paying an extra 20 dollars American more for the same room with hot water, which is absolutely ridiculous! Food/drink prices were also inflated appropriately compared to any other place we stayed in Nicaragua. Avoid unless absolutely necessary.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask about hot water. As not all rooms have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    109
    87
    43
    44
See reviews for
51
82
54
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel at the beginning and end of a ten day visit to interior Nicaragua. The hotel is extremely convenient to the airport--just walk across a road via an established crossing. Check in was friendly and efficient. Staff that interfaces directly with guests speak English effectively.

The hotel is designed in a way that is open-air making it feel far from a city. Rooms are adequate with a cabin like feel with wood walled interiors that gives a one with nature feeling. Rooms have spacious modern baths. The environment seemed very quiet for an airport hotel. The breakfast is fantastic. I've stayed in very expensive all-inclusives that did not offer the quality of food offered here. It is possible to check into your flight early then walk back to the hotel for breakfast then back to catch your plane.

Finally, pricing is very good for this convenience and quality. I'll visit here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matagalpa, Nicaragua
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I live in Nicaragua and have stayed at Best Western Mercedes several times when traveling to and arriving from the US and when greeting visitors. It's an easy walk right across from the airport, but it's not worth staying here unless you have a very early flight or are arriving late at night. While many foreigners won't flinch at the price at first, they will after the terrible service they will ultimately receive during their stay. I have honestly received better service staying in $7 per night hostels in Nicaragua. While it helps to speak Spanish with the staff, it is still unlikely that your simple requests will reach anybody. The menu is limited, the food is incredibly over priced and pretty unappetizing.The breakfast buffet, however, is decent. The rooms aren't horrible but I question the cleanliness of the sheets after I have struggled to sleep through several different stays due to itching from what I am hoping is just a strong detergent and not bed bugs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning and end of our 2 week vacation in Nicaragua. The location is unbeatable if you have late or early flights. It's right across the street from the airport. That's basically the reason you stay here. Otherwise, go downtown to Los Robles or Casa Naranja. But if you MUST stay here (like we did), it's fine. They lost our reservation and were very unhelpful until they realized that I work for a tour operator in the United States. They eventually got us into a room, but the air conditioning didn't work. The hotel lacks in charm and the food at the restaurant lacks in flavor, but they have an amazing breakfast buffet with an omelette bar and again - you only stay here because your flights arrive after 8 PM or depart the next morning before 9 AM. Otherwise, you don't.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I spent my last night of a month and a half long stay in Nicaragua at Las Mercedes Best Western. The price was reasonable considering what you would pay in the states and that it was an American franchise hotel; I paid $89.00 with a AAA discount. I was going to walk across the street with my massive luggage (which was laughable) and the hotel shuttle was at the door to sweep me across the street. After I checked-in to my flight I walked back to the Best Western to enjoy the nicest continental breakfast I've seen short of an all-inclusive resort. As I have read other reviewers comments I would like to say; the water pressure was great, the A/C worked, the hot water worked fine, the ceviche was decent, the internet signal was strong enough to stream Netflix, I was in a room placed closed to the main road and I was amazed at how quiet it was. I did hear people walking down the hall and the click-click of luggage wheels but nothing more-so than I've heard at any other hotel. As a solo female traveller I felt safe and enjoyed the funky late sixties/early seventies landscaping. As a city Managua has less-than-spectacular air quality: the scent of burning plastic is continual delight to the senses. But Best Western cannot be held accountable for the exterior air quality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

If you need to catch an early flight out of Managua this the hotel to stay. Located directly across from the airport...hotel offers free shuttle, if you need it.
Small rooms, with flat screen tv..some English speaking channels. Reminds me of an apartment complex...spread out and one story. High dollar..about 100.00 with no negotiations ...paying for convenience?
Menu in restaurant a little high...beef is tough!! Snack bar by the pool is the deal. Happy Hour til 10, 1/2 price drinks...great club sandwiches..eat here instead of restaurant. Great service!!
Free breakfast ....well for 100.00 it better be...lots to choose from. The staff at this hotel is the best...I guess after spend two weeks in Nicaragua and driving 1000 miles this is an above average hotel. Clean, hot water, secure and near the airport...we saw places from 10.00 up...so much to choose..Do your homework and then you won't be surprised!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

It's just across the road from the airport, which is convenient for early morning flights and the resort/hotel itself is quite nice (for an airport hotel). Rooms are clean, but it's very loud the whole night long because of arrival/departure of guests and really overpriced in comparison to what you get. Service is non-existent, we had to wait for about 15 min till the guy at the reception felt ready to check us in. When we had a drink at the pool bar we were told that we would have to pay all consumation right away - it was not possible to open an account for our room and pay by credit card when checking out, as you usually do when staying in any other 4* hotel (international hotel chain) all over the world. Staff at breakfast was also bored and unfriendly. Apart from that, there were hords of local teenagers - obviously not staying at the hotel as all of them brought sportbags with them - in the swimming pool. Apart from the noise is made us feel very uneasy to see that everyone from the street was allowed into the hotel area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes

Address: Km 11 Carretera Norte, Managua RD-46, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Las Mercedes Hotel Managua
Best Western Hotel Managua
Best Western Managua
Managua Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.