We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Particularly great hotel in Managua” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Costado Sur Centro Comercial | Metrocentro Carretera Masaya, Managua, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 47 hotels in Managua
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Particularly great hotel in Managua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Goods:

* Truly friendly and helpful staff. (Unlike the artificial/fake friendliness in most US hotels)
* Furniture and finishings in the rooms are very high quality.
* Enough supply of clean, good quality cotton towels
* Bed mattress excellent
* Zero noise
* Bible in the drawer
* Hotel has 3 very good quality restaurants. Expect prices higher than, say Cheesecake factory, in the US
* Hotel is close to 2 other good restaurants. Same comment on pricing.
* Quick breakfast snack available before 7am when regular breakfast starts. Great for people leaving/arriving early.
* Has rent-a-cars inside the hotel
* No waiting time to get taxis 24/7
* I felt comfortable/safe all my stay

Bads

* Waited almost 2 hours to get access to my room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intermanagua, Gerente at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Kindest regards from the team of InterContinental Real Metrocentro Managua.

I would like to thank you for visiting us and stay with us during your trip to Managua, likewise thanks for your feedback. We apologize for the delay when delivering the room.

I hope you visit us soon.

Best Regards,

Hans Scholte
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    90
    26
    5
    6
See reviews for
28
57
25
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
louisville,colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel and great service! Stayed two nights and will be back! Stayed on the club level and the breakfast was excellent. I highly recommend this hotel. The pool area is beautiful!
We ordered room service and it was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intermanagua, Gerente at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Kindest regards from the team of Real InterContinental Metrocentro Managua.

Thank you very much for your feedback, it was a pleasure for us to assist you. And we are pleased that enjoy your stay.

We hope you will visit us soon.

Best Regards,

Hans Scholte
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 1 night( thankfully) in July- worse customer service I've experienced! Front desk was useless- wrong prices posted for services offered, prior services I had made were never fulfilled, lack of communication between staff members. We took one of their cabs to dinner and for drinks at a local bar- the cab driver waited the whole time then charged us for the 3hours. When I questioned this, the doorman told this was how they do things.

You not recommend this hotel- you can do better!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intermanagua, Gerente at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Kindest regards from the team working at Real InterContinental Metrocentro Managua.

Firstly I apologize for the inconveniences that occurred during your stay, but I would like to clarify that the hotel does not own the taxis, but in view of what happened we will talk with the person in charge of the service to prevent this from happening again. Finally I want to thank you for the comment as this will help us improve.

Again I apologize for the inconvenience. But I hope to give us a second chance to serve you better.

Best regards,

Hans Scholte
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I had an excellent stay at the Intercontinental in Managua. The staff was very friendly, the room impeccable. I unfortunately had to request a room-change because I had a communicating room which was noisy. The new room was smaller but quiet.

The breakfast on the executive floor is very good, quite varied for such a small place.

Nice pool outside. Limited equipment in the gym where air-conditionning should be set to a lower temperature (I left drenched everyday).

Room Tip: Ask to not be placed in a communicating room as your neighbour will keep you awake by just watching...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intermanagua, Gerente at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Kindest regards from the team of Real InterContinental Metrocentro Managua.

I want to thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure to serve you. Similarly Thanks for your comments.

We hope you visit us soon.

Best regards,

Hans Scholte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I had an excellent experience at the Inter Continental Real. The staff was courteous and friendly. The laundry service was excellent and the breakfast was a perfect way to start the day. Internet was fast, rooms were very clean and the bed was deliciously comfortable. This was a business trip, so I was not responsible for the tab, but never the less and overall enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: view of the pool from my window - room 519
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intermanagua, Gerente at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive a warm greeting from the team at Real InterContinental Metrocentro Managua.

Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure for us to serve and that you enjoy your stay in our hotel. Thank you very much for your comments.

We hope you visit us soon.

Best regards,

Hans Scholte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

An expensive mistake. The hotel failed to deliver what it advertises on its website, in local publications, and by phone. That is, decent internet. We were told by them on emails and by phone that they have fastest internet in the city, at 20MB per second. So we booked a room for 230 usd simply because we needed to join a meeting remotely at 6am. One would have hoped a hotel like this could have managed a basic skype video, but the line wasn't good and frustratingly kept falling. The business centre tried to help, sweetly it must be said, but this sort of thing just shouldnt have happened and the personnel in the business centre seemed embarrassed. I wont go on. A complaint to Real Hotels (the local operator) saw no response. IHG offered an apology and a meagre refund, but considering the only reason we stayed at this hotel was because they could guarantee they had great internet, im left with a bitter taste in my mouth. Wont be back.

The rest of the hotel is pretty standard, though nice enough. Pool feels a little exposed. Perhaps the best thing the hotel has going for it is that its right next to a large mall, so you can safely walk over there, shop, eat, cinema, etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intermanagua, Gerente at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Kindest regards from the team of Real InterContinental Metrocentro Managua.

Hereby I want to apologize for the inconveniences you had with the internet during your stay and the bad taste that this experience left you.

I understand the importance that had this service for you is why again I apologize on behalf of the entire hotel. I hope you give us a second chance in the future to redeem this error.


Best regards,

Hans Scholte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This Intercontinental is simply very good, providing what you would expect. It is not exceptional like some Interconti's are, such as in Bangkok, but it delivers without problems. Staff is hard working, but their English could be improved, so could the spa service. Beds are very comfortable. Internet is very fast, but expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intermanagua, Gerente at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Kindest regards from the team of Real InterContinental Metrocentro Managua.

Thank you very much for staying with us during your visit to Managua. Likewise, I appreciate your comments these are very useful for us as we sample points we have to improve in order to serve them and serve them better.

We hope you visit us soon.

Best regards,

Hans Scholte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall

Address: Costado Sur Centro Comercial | Metrocentro Carretera Masaya, Managua, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#7 Business Hotel in Managua
#8 Family Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE PLACE TO BE. Enjoy an urban oasis at this award-winning, luxury hotel in Managua, Nicaragua. Ideally placed in the center of the entertainment and business district, adjacent to the country's largest shopping mall featuring more than 120 stores. Indulge yourself at Factory Streak & Lobster, enjoy a trendy ambience at NAU lounge bar or unwind in the tranquil surrounding at our terrace next to the pool and exotic gardens. Explore the city, visit Managua's famous Cathedral and its historic downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Real Metrocentro Managua Hotel Managua
Intercontinental Managua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.