We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my boyfriend called it his American place in Nicaragua” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Costado Sur Centro Comercial | Metrocentro Carretera Masaya, Managua, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 48 hotels in Managua
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“my boyfriend called it his American place in Nicaragua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

we enjoyed the breakfast with a beautiful view at the executive level. The rooms are completely sound proof and comfortable, service exceptional and we couldn't believe the price for everything we got, we would pay so much more for the same service in the States we were impressed. We're coming back from San Juan del sur this thanksgiving and spending it there for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmania16, Guest Realtions at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying at Real InterContinental Metrocentro Managua.

As part of our day to day our goal is to give the best service when you are away from home that’s why in Real InterContinental Metrocentro we love to fill your expectations. We hope you visit us very soon.

Thank you for trusting us as your hotel of choice.

Sincerelly,

Birmania M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    93
    29
    5
    7
See reviews for
29
60
25
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

This intercontinental is a very nice hotel, rooms are clean and nice, some of them with nice pool view. They have a shuttle service from and to the airport. Internet, a nice pool area, a couple of restaurants and a bar. I like the breakfast buffet, a lot of fruits, eggs, many options. Also it is located across a shopping mall with several stores, a food court, and a supermarket too.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmania16, Ventas at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, it's good for us to know that your stay was enjoyable. We hope you come back soon so you can learn more about our hotel and our country.

Have a great day.

Best regards,

Sayra Somoza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have stayed at the Intercontinental several times when I have needed to spend a few days in Managua. There are several smaller and friendlier places to recommend to most travelers. They are certainly not as expensive as the Inter. However, for sheer practicality, Inter stands out. It is only a short walk from a shopping mall if you need to buy something. The gym is not particularly well equipped, but works just fine. The breakfast buffet contains a fine selection of fruits and Nicaraguan dishes. Nonetheless, the place is pretty dull and formal. This is not the place to meet Nicaraguans and learn about Nicaragua. In fact, the Inter feels like most hotels anywhere in the world. A place-less space for global travelers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmania16, Ventas at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment, all your opinions will help us grow and improve, but the next time you come to Managua you can visit our Concierge desk, he will arrange a tour for you, in that way you can go to different places full of culture and where you can learn more about the country. Just as I tell you that on Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays we have DJs and different activities that make the atmosphere of the hotel The Place to Be in town. Although if you want to know more about the city I'm sure that if you ask our staff will recommend you a place to visit.

Have a great day.

Best regards,

Sayra Somoza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here for two nights before heading to a resort on the Pacific and would not stay here again. I had a rate of $145/night and somehow my rate jumped to $196 and $180 for the two nights. They also would not honor my Ambassador coupon for 1 free night. Understood the 15% tax on the nights but they couldn't explain the additional $3.39 each night. English was a problem, still fighting the rates with both hotel management and Intercontinental.

We ate at the Restaurant Factory inside the hotel for dinner one night and I got food poisoning from the lobster bisque. Food at the Voltes restaurant inside was good but the Restaurant Factory soured us (especially me) on the food there.

Beds were extremely firm, did not sleep well here

Would highly recommend going somewhere else

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear schulze52,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I would like to apologize for the overall issues you had during your stay. I want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. For the reason, your comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. I have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details regarding your experience. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel is a copy of the hotel of Honduras in the sense of design and ambiance, so if you travel through out central america don´t expect anything special. Same restaurantes, pool gym, decor, etc. In this case I would have to say the service was in some things better, but also in some other aspects worst than what I am used to in other countries. I can only say it is an OK hotel, well located and practical.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmania16, Guest Realtions at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Mr. Jose,

Thanks for your comments. The InterContinental Family has standards which are maintained in each of the hotels, each hotel has a certain difference. Our service and the warmth of our staff is what makes us different.

Best Regards,
Birmania M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
294 hotel reviews
Reviews in 242 cities Reviews in 242 cities
433 helpful votes 433 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

A really beautiful hotel with nice rooms, beautiful lobby and fantastic pool & lounge area. Wonderful views from the executive lounge. Very good food. Decent service. Way better than the Hilton down the road. From all I could see this is the Nr. 1 in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina V, Relaciones Publicas at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments about the hotel. It was a pleasure to assist you in your stay. Thank you for selecting us as your number one choice of lodging in Managua. We hope to have you back with us so you can enjoy the benefits of being a guest InterContinental.

Have a great day.

Best regards,

Sayra Somoza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Two thumbs up for this hotel The entire staff was very kind. They accommodated all my dietary needs which at times can be pretty strict. Everyone was very easy to talk too and their English was good. There is a great steak and lobster restaurant in the hotel, some amazing sushi at NAU, and their breakfast buffet is packed with fresh fruit and fresh fruit juices. I couldn't be happier with my stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina V, Relaciones Publicas at InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your feedback, it is our pleasure to know that when you stayed with us you felt so comfortable and at home. That is our main objective. And always remember you the doors of our hotel will be open when you come to Nicaragua.

Have a great day.

Best regards,

Sayra Somoza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall

Address: Costado Sur Centro Comercial | Metrocentro Carretera Masaya, Managua, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#5 Business Hotel in Managua
#6 Family Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE PLACE TO BE. Enjoy an urban oasis at this award-winning, luxury hotel in Managua, Nicaragua. Ideally placed in the center of the entertainment and business district, adjacent to the country's largest shopping mall featuring more than 120 stores. Indulge yourself at Factory Streak & Lobster, enjoy a trendy ambience at NAU lounge bar or unwind in the tranquil surrounding at our terrace next to the pool and exotic gardens. Explore the city, visit Managua's famous Cathedral and its historic downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Real Metrocentro Managua Hotel Managua
Intercontinental Managua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.