We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy in the land of junk food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ola Verde

Ola Verde
Carretera Masaya, Km 8 at the 1st Entry Into Las Colinas 70 Meters East | Las Colinas, Managua, Nicaragua
+505 2276 2652
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 207 Restaurants in Managua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Latin, Mediterranean, Healthy, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our dishes are created to be deliciously healthy, are made with respect for local growers, food ecology, and to showcase local ingredients. We offer vegetarian and meat, fish, chicken options. Our staff are well-paid and respected for their professionalism. Mon-Saturday 7 am - 11 pm. Sunday 8am - 9 pm. We have been in business in Managua since 2003. Proceeds from the restaurant are used to help the Ola Verde Foundation (Funcacion Ola Verde), a local NGO that designs educational materials about making consumer food habits healthier using natural locally produced ingredients.
David, Panama
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Healthy in the land of junk food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

After enduring things like crispy fried banana chips passing as food, going to the Ola Verde and getting tofu and whole grain rice is a dream come true. That being said, the food tastes good and it's worth a visit, but it isn't an exceptional culinary experience.

The service is excellent (also sadly lacking in most nicaraguan restaurants).

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthBernSwitzerland, Owner at Ola Verde, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Glad you came to our new location and took the time to review your dining experience. Our aim is to offer deliciously healthy dishes using local ingredients at affordable prices. Most of our clients are very happy, but sounds like you would have liked yours to be a bit more delicious. We would like you to know we have 2 tofu dishes which will be added to our new menu (marinated tofu and tofu stroganoff with fresh mushrooms) and hope you will come back to try these new options. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    30
    16
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

The service is always great and friendly. Food has never failed, a good, healthy, relaxing food alternative in Managua

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

This place is an alternative menu to the typical steak dishes. The food is diverse and delicious. The building is as cool as the owner and was designed to be energy efficient with as many local products as possible. The food reflects the focus of being good to our mother earth all the while not lacking flavor nor creativity.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Most imaginative restaurant in Managua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Have visited the new Ola Verde twice since its January opening and been exceptionally pleased each visit. (Once for dinner and once for brunch). Owner prepares extraordinary food in a beautiful atmosphere using wonderful herbs and spices and the best quality meatts and produce. What a wonderful addition to the Managua dining scene!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Seriously Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I was a little iffy about eating here at first because i am 17, and usually don't go for super healthy food. I got the hamburger. OH MY GOSH. seriously the best hamburger i have ever had! And it was good for me too! my family loved and i loved it so much we had to go twice! I would most definitely recommend this to anyone who is in Managua looking for a place to eat. The service was good, the food was excellent, and when you're finished you can have some sweet dessert! I wish we had one of these in America!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ola Verde also viewed

Managua, Managua Department
Managua, Managua Department
 
Managua, Managua Department
 

Been to Ola Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ola Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.