We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and Practical!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Contempo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Contempo to your Saves list
Hotel Contempo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Masaya, Km 11, 400mts. O, Managua 00000, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Managua
Vienna, VA USA
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely and Practical!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Excellent setting, service, staff, restaurant (Azul) great food!
Staff is very cordial, friendly, informative. Managers going out of their way to make me feel as a king. French Kitchen cheff a great asset to this hotel among other staff members!
I recomended to those visiting Managua either on vacation or business travels.
WiFi available, beautifully kept gardens, etc...
Enjoy your time in Managua Nicaragua
I will stay again at Contempo!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    25
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
27
59
13
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had the pleasure to stay, probably for the tenth time, at our favourite hotel in Managua with what we feel is the best restaurant in Nicaragua. Everything was wonderful as always, but this time they went above and beyond their usual level of excellent service. A shuttle had been booked to go to the airport for an early morning flight. The car was five minutes late and my husband, who has turned in to a somewhat nervous traveller, was doing back flips. With a minimum amount of fuss another car and driver was produced and we were whisked to the airport, encountering the other car one minute from the hotel. Thank you so much hotel and staff.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Overall a good stay. Being led straight to the room from the taxi was a nice touch. Complimentary juice in the afternoon was also appreciated. Breakfast was tasty. Splurged on the jacuzzi room, but the jets quit after a few minutes, and it's not too convenient to reach the front desk when you're already in the tub. Wifi in the room was a bit spotty and having to relogin with username and password every time to access it quickly became annoying. Woke up early due to construction on a neighboring room. Avoid the car service offered for extortionate rates. Hope this is helpful.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have been traveling to Nicaragua since 2005, several times a year. During those trips I have stayed at all of the well known hotels. I was delighted that the Contempo was recommended to me. In the future it will be the only place that I will stay. My family had two rooms that were large and very comfortable. The staff goes out of their way to meet all of the guest's needs or wants.
The Contempo is the place to stay in Managua. Our stay was five very enjoyable nights.
Beth W.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Some friends booked a couple of nights here for us as a gift at the end of a month backpacking and it felt like pure luxury. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, we felt like royalty as soon as we walked through the door. The rooms are lovely, quiet and have ac. The beds are comfy. Each room has good bathroom facilities with toiletries. The rooms don't have any tea/coffee making facilities or fridge/mini bar which I though was unusual for a hotel of that standard. The restaurant has excellent food and the breakfast menu is good for cooked breakfasts. It is located about 11km from the city centre so expect to get a taxi or bus everywhere if you don't have a car but it is only a 20 minute drive from the airport (with no traffic).

Room Tip: We had the basic contempo room - 2 double beds with a shower facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Comtempo as a "layover' from San Juan del Sur back to Managua airport. The hotel is trying too hard to be uber-design. We were given room 3 which I believe to be the worse room. The shower stall was in the room, which was okay since I was traveling with my husband. The shower itself was horrible. If you didn't know which way to turn the dial on the shower the shower had spouted water from the middle heads in the stall. The water went "through" the shower as it was the shower walls weren't sealed. We had water everywhere. There was no place to hang the towels. The lighting fixtures are horribly designed - bad florescent overhead lighting hidden in ceiling. The bad room door was translucent so there is absolutely no privacy for anyone going to the bathroom. We went to the pool area which had construction so not at all relaxing. The AC made a rattling loud noise every 20 minutes.

Room #3 was really fell like a design jail cell. We should have asked to change rooms but we were so tired from the traveling.

Only thing good was the service, our taxi driver and dinner. I would not recommend Hotel Contempo.

Room Tip: Stay away from Room #3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westchester county, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We needed a hotel for one night in Managua before a flight out the next day and Hotel Contempo looked like an interesting choice. Unlike an earlier experience we had in Nicaragua where the reviews were nothing like the actual experience, Hotel Contempo lived up to all of its excellent reviews. The service is consistently friendly and excellent, from the front desk to the waitstaff to the car attendants. It is a small hotel but the grounds are well manicured and really do seem like an oasis from the noise of Managua. We were a little concerned about driving ourselves to the airport in a rental given the lack of street signs in Nicaragua but the ride was straightforward and took only about 15 minutes. We had 2 rooms, Caribbean and Volcano.....both were nice butt Volcano had a shower in the bedroom which was a little quirky. Overall we had a wonderful night and a great dinner at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Contempo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contempo

Address: Carretera Masaya, Km 11, 400mts. O, Managua 00000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contempo 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Contempo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Contempo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.