We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Managua” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Managua Hills Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Managua Hills Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Managua Hills Bed and Breakfast
Primera Entrada a Las Colinas | 2 cuadras Este y 2 cuadras Sur, Managua, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Hue, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Managua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed here three times and it was always a good time. I stayed in the dorm room which was quite inexpensive considering the nice place they have and the pool (also breakfast was included). The Hotel is situated in one of the best areas of Managua and therefore it is really safe. Contacting the owner works perfectly and he responds straight away. They can also arrange Taxi pick ups from the airport (in case you arrive late at night). All of the staff was extremly friendly and the owner himself is a really interesting man who speaks fluently english and of course spanish and can give you a lot of information about Nicaragua (on top of that he is really good company for talking about almost any topic). A lot of expats stay in this hotel while they are visiting Managua so you always meet interesting people around there. If you want to stay in a quite, well run and really safe place in Managua you should go there! P.S: of course they also have internet and a computer for free use...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
30
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Randers, Denmark
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Young Lau and his staff is doing a great job of getting you to feel like home.
Some of the rooms are very large and all have TV with a zillion channels.
It is like a home away from home: a fridge with cold drinks (no fancy service, just ask for it and they will give it to you straight from/by the fridge), internet both wireless all over the place and with a modem where you can connect with a LAN-cable, breakfast is scrambled eggs with ham, toast, rice w/beans & fruit.
If you travel with friends the terrace is a great place to hang out, and if you travel alone you might be able to meet somebody else on the terrace.

Room Tip: You might think there is no hot water in your room - but just wait and it will come. I have stayed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We spent our first night in Nicaragua in the Managua Hills Bed&Breakfast and we were very happy with it: The room we had (#12) was spacious, clean, and comfy. We didn't need the A/C as it was not too warm. There's no warm water for the showers, but this is common in nicaragua.
The owner Ylau is extraordinarily friendly, super helpful, and made us feel at home. His English is excellent and we therefore only needed our broken Spanish to communicate with the rest of the equally friendly staff.
All in all we had a great time at the Managua Hills B&B and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Salinas, Nicaragua
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Wow i have so much to say about this place that is all wonderful things but Im not sure where to begin. Beautiful place, enclosed private courtyard, with pool. Excellent clean spacious room with a very comfortable bed, cold air, hot water, and excellent staff. Very relaxing experience, in a beautiful environment for an awesome price but not on the high end of cost for all that you receive. The breakfast was off the chart of excellence and I will be returning to this place.

Room Tip: Room number 8 was awesome at the end and a little more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We will visit again. Owner Young and his team made our stay so easy and helped us in every way we asked. Short walk to great food in a very quiet secure area. We felt at ease. Rooms are clean, beds comfortable. Honor system for beer, water, sodas . Good breakfast.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is a very special place. Young and his team work extremely hard to make guests well welcomed and at home. The environment is clean, spacious, and surrounded by beautiful tropical plants. The terrace is a relaxing place to enjoy one of the fabulous home-cooked meals prepared by Young and his team and mingle with interesting people from all over the world. This is a friendly, social environment where guests frequently return because they have found a real gem. It's a safe, family-friendly, place to relax in Managua.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Managua Hills was definitely a huge surprise. The quaint bed and breakfast had me worried initially. During the first night there, someone was having a non-stop party behind the hotel until sunrise. I was so nervous that the rest of my week would be disturbed. Fortunately, it was only a weekend festival. If you’re a light sleeper, I recommend ear plugs and a sleep mask. The iguanas drop down to the tin roof and drag their bodies from one end of the hotel to the other.

My first night at Managua Hills was extremely difficult. The rest of the nights were fine as I had invested in a mask and ear plugs prior to departing the US. Woo-hoo!!

We had four rooms reserved for our group. The two larger rooms were quite spacious and well-kept. We had the whole second floor of the pool view rooms. One room consisted of two king beds, one queen bed, private bath and small closet. The other room had two king beds and two queen beds. The four-bed unit was more updated, yet the other was still quite pleasant.

The daily meals were phenomenal! The cook was so attentive and everything was made from scratch. When they realized that a member of our team was a vegetarian, they prepared smaller vegetarian-friendly dishes for her for every meal. Breakfast is included for all guests; our group also had dinner served most nights at Managua Hills. Every food item was wonderful. The juices were fresh-squeezed and pleasing to the palate. Oh my goodness, the homemade bread is the best I have ever had. I can still taste and smell the soft, warm bread as I am typing.

Most of the staff only spoke Spanish which added to the charm and intrigue of the place. They were all so patient with my non-Spanish speaking travel buddies. When they ran into linguistic road blocks, both my friends and the employees came looking for me. It was quite an awesome experience! Prior to that trip I would never have considered myself fluent in Spanish. Now, I have much more confidence speaking a language that I studied every year in high school, many, many years ago.

Not to worry, there are a few English-speaking employees there. If memory serves me correctly, there was at least one English speaker on duty daily. I would highly encourage you to take the opportunity to communicate with the employees in their native tongue. It helps you feel like part of their close-knit family.

When life takes me back to Nicaragua, I will definitely return to stay with my second family at Managua Hills. High five!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Managua Hills Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Managua Hills Bed and Breakfast

Address: Primera Entrada a Las Colinas | 2 cuadras Este y 2 cuadras Sur, Managua, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Managua Hills Bed and Breakfast-a relaxing, tropical oasis in the middle of bustling Managua. From our location in Las Colinas, one of the safest and cleanest neighborhoods in all of Managua, our guests have easy access to all of Managua's attractions, as well as the airport and all of Nicaragua's major cities via interdepartmental bus routes, the Carretera Pan-Americana Sur, and the Carretera de Occidente. Managua Hills is also perfect for either the business or casual traveler. With rates from $38.95 To $77 per night, we provide all of our guests with a hearty Nica breakfast, in-room AC, hot water, free WiFi, in-ground pool access, spacious common areas, and the level of cleanliness Westerners expect in their accommodations. Our private rooms also include cable TV and local telephone service. A mixed 9 beds dorm with fans and two bathrooms is also available. The rate including taxes is US$13.99. Breakfast is free from 7-10am. Managua Hills is a family-owned, locally operated business. The owner speaks fluent English and is always happy to help guests with travel plans and other details, and the rest of the staff is diligent and reliable. We're all proud to invite you to join the Managua Hills family on your next trip to Nicaragua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Managua Hills Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Managua Hills b&b
Managua Hills Hotel Managua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Managua Hills Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.