We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, excellent staff, clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Hotel Managua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Art Hotel Managua to your Saves list
Art Hotel Managua
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Estatua de Montoya, 3c. al oeste, 1 1/2 c. al norte | Parque Las Palmas, Managua, Nicaragua (Formerly Hotel Beneficial Managua - Las Palmas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Managua
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nelson, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great service, excellent staff, clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is our only Managua experience - needed a stop in town our last nite for an early flight...The staff were wonderful - a big thanks to Jose, who spoke English and was able to get us set up for meals in the area, a taxi for the day, and airport service in the early morning. The room was quiet, clean, very comfortable, and slept 4 of us easily - 3 beds.
We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbeneficial, Manager at Art Hotel Managua, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thanks for the nice review. We let Jose (Chepi) know of your comments. If you return to Nicaragua, we hope you'll stay in Managua for a little while longer and, of course, at our hotel.

Karla
Manager
Hotel Beneficial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    27
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
12
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

As we planned most of our stay near San Juan Del Sur, we wanted to be near the Managua airport on the days of arrival and departure. We expected this hotel to be closer than it was to the airport, it was a little hard for us to find as the street names in Nicaragua are not indicated on every street.

The hotel was clean and the staff very nice. When we asked for food in the evening we were told that the cook had already left however, they managed to prepare some fries and chicken nuggets for us.

The hotel appears to be in the process of improvement and decoration so I guess it can just get better but it was good enough for us the way it was during our stay.

A good place to go.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbeneficial, Manager at Art Hotel Managua, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thanks for the review. We are revamping our menu so there are clear choices in the evenings. Most of the time there's someone available to make snacks like french fries, chicken nuggets, grilled cheese sandwiches, etc.

There are only three hotels near the airport for people just wanting to get out quick in the morning (the Camino Real, the Best Western, and one other small one). All of the other hotels are 10-15 kilometers from the Airport including the large chains. (The downside to staying by the airport is there's not much out there to see or do). We do arrange airport pickups for $13 and dropoffs for $10-11 depending on the time.

For people who are driving, this guest is absolutely right, there are no street signs or numbers in Managua. Email us and we'll send you directions in both English and Spanish so if you get lost you can ask a taxi driver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel whenever we needed to stay overnight in Managua. We initially emailed them a reservation request which they did not receive (a common occurrence in Nica) so we rang ahead to confirm the booking. The initial person we spoke to understood very little english but managed to confirm the room and prices. An hour later we got a call from the hotel manager to double check all the details and to tell us that the room price was actually $5 lower than what we had been quoted earlier! All prices are inclusive of breakfast and tax. The pool was very refreshing after a long day travelling. The breakfasts were good and there was constant hot water. The staff were always very helpful and went out of their way to try to be of assistance. If you asked for taxi they would always negotiate a good price on your behalf. There is little choice of eateries in that area. If you are on a budget you can eat in the Hospital cafe which is just around the corner. There also a couple of bakeries along the same road.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

My wife and I and a friend stayed at this hotel 3 different days while we were in Managua in December. Everything was fine until we checked out. I left an envelope at the desk to be picked up by a friend of mine. I left her name and number on the envelope and she was to show her ID to get the envelope. This envelope of course had money in it and I do mean HAD as in 'used to' have money in it.
When she came to pick up the envelope, rather than finding the $110 I left for her, all she got was $10....someone stole the money! The best part is she saved the envelope and sent me a copy of it - the thief opened the envelope and stole the money and then re-packaged it into a new envelope with the same message! They tried to make it seem as though I had shorted my friend on her payment. But obviously the handwriting on the envelope was not mine.
So what does it all mean to you, dear traveler? It's simple, you have to be able to trust the hotel staff where you stay. And clearly these people CANNOT be trusted.
If you stay here, better not leave your stuff behind if you go to dinner, see sights, or go get a beer.
I trusted the staff to keep an envelope safe and present it to the right person, not steal my money and then try to make it seem as though nothing happened by giving a forged package. I still can't believe it.
So stay here at your own risk because who knows what else might get stolen.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbeneficial, Manager at Art Hotel Managua, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Before I address this particular case, travelers need to listen to my advice: If you ever leave something for someone else to pick up, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE show the staff member exactly what you are leaving and get a receipt for it-- especially if its going to be several days before the person comes to pickup the item. Sometimes people think that staff at a small hotel aren't going to lose, misplace, or steal your item. However, keep in mind that at least 3 shifts of three distinct people work the front desk at the smallest hotel. Add in a manager. Consider that cleaning personnel may have access as well. There's 100 ways for your property to be misplaced and that's the reason all hotels tell guests they're not responsible for anything.

My second piece of advice is that when something of yours is lost or stolen, complain quickly using the hotel's published email so you have evidence of the conversation. The longer you wait, the harder it is to investigate. For example, our hotel has 24 hour CCTV cameras recording the front desk, the lobby, and the hallways. Those recordings erase themselves in two weeks to make room for new recordings. I'd gladly spend a day watching video to find a dishonest employee, but I can't do that 45 days later.

My third piece of advice is that when you check into a hotel, especially when using the prepaid reservations, don't forget to leave your phone number and email at check-in in case you leave something in the room. We run into a lot of episodes where people leave things and the phone number they gave to the front desk was a temporary number. Email is the best thing to leave.

In this case, I'm relieved to say that our employees didn't "steal" the money. However, the guest was right that the envelope was grossly mishandled. We're trying to reach the guest to return the money to him, but have not received a response to our private message through Tripadvisor. What happened was the the guest did indeed leave an envelope for his associate. Unfortunately, our staff didn't have a fresh envelope handy and gave him a used envelope that they stapled shut. The envelope was on top of the desk and due to its being moved around, several of the staples loosened. Our administrator was at the hotel auditing receipts and came across some loose money in with the papers. He asked two employees what it was from, but they didn't know (the employee who accepted the envelope wasn't working that day). The administrator took the money and placed it in the hotel's offsite petty cash fund thinking that it was either change from a purchase or that the employee who put it there would notice it was missing and ask a manager. Days went by and that didn't happen. The administrator thereafter went to the United States due to a family emergency. During his trip, the guest's associate came to claim the money. Despite the guest's associate lodging a complaint with the front desk, the staff failed to notify the administrator when he called in. When the administrator returned, staff informed him of the incident and advised that the guest's associate stated that they would stop back to see the results of the hotel's investigation. The guest's associate never returned. On January 16, the incident was posted on TripAdvisor. On January 26, we saw the review and asked the guest to contact us. As of February 7, we haven't received contact so we are responding publicly to address the complaint.

We're very sorry that the envelope was mishandled. It shouldn't have happened in the manner it did. The front desk staff were negligent for not caring better for the envelope. The administrator should have done more to investigate why the money was on the desk as well. We've implemented policies that when a guest leaves something, we ask the guest to advise what it is so we can't account for it. Sometimes guests leave luggage because they go on bus adventures to smaller cities; we now hold that luggage in the manager's quarters. When a guest leaves money, we now log it and ask for the recipients telephone number in case they don't come quickly.

Hopefully the guest will respond to our private message or see this response and contact the hotel so we can send him the money or take it to his associate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

My partner and I stayed here while transiting in Managua. It's easy to book online, and the staff is responsive to email. The hotel will also pick you up at the airport (for a fee- but its better than fighting with a taxi driver who just wants to take you some place he will earn a commission).

I should mention--our flight was several hours late and we had no way to notify the hotel--and they waited for us at the airport anyhow.

We had to leave so early the next morning that I can't speak to the breakfast. In general this place was clean and the employees were helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I've stayed at Las Palmas on and off over the last four years, making it my first and last evening in Managua so as not to stay at the airport. Ownership changed this last year and I must say its gone downhill. Used to have a nice continental breakfast of fresh fruit and scrambled eggs. Now it is difficult to get coffee. Seems like they let the cooks go. As there is no place within walking distance, this makes it pretty limiting. And the pool was really dirty last time I was there, so no place to take a dip to cool off after a hot day of travel.

Room Tip: Something in the back, away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbeneficial, Manager at Art Hotel Managua, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
According to your October review, you stayed with us in Feb. 2011. With seven months having passed, it's hard for us to pinpoint the staff who were on duty to investigate the issues.

We offer a full breakfast included in the cost of the room. Full means a complete breakfast cooked fresh which includes, depending on what the guest requests, pancakes, gallo pinto, ham, eggs, cereal, orange juice, hot coffee, tea, milk, bread, etc. It's much better than a continental breakfast that the prior management charged $5 for. We are not sure why you could not find someone to help you with breakfast as we are staffed 24 hours a day and the morning staff are the ones who cook up the food for the guests.

As to the pool, our water is chemically balanced with standard recommended levels of acid and chlorine. After a heavy rain, sometimes dirt from the nearby plants wash into the pool. This is nothing to be concerned about though and we try to vacuum it when this happens. Our pool is opened and being used by guests for both day and night swimming.

Since you travel to Managua often, we hope that you'll give us another chance. Remember, if you have a problem at the hotel, always ask for the manager. Only the guests sleep in the rooms, so if they don't alert us to situations, we can't fix them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

What a breath of fresh air from other places I have stayed at in Managua. With the hotel being small (number of rooms) there is a more personal attentiveness to your needs. The staff works hard at making you comfortable and helping with any of your needs. Some staff members do speak English which is most helpful as well as the owner. Internet connect was great. Air condition outstanding and yes actually hot water. Breakfast is made to order to accommodate your request.
Wonderful and enjoyable place to stay.

Room Tip: Call to confirm reservations and if you require a taxi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbeneficial, Manager at Art Hotel Managua, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Thanks for giving us a positive review. We try to make the hotel as comfortable as possible so guests feel at home. Hopefully if you're even in town again you'll stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Hotel Managua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Managua

Address: Estatua de Montoya, 3c. al oeste, 1 1/2 c. al norte | Parque Las Palmas, Managua, Nicaragua (Formerly Hotel Beneficial Managua - Las Palmas)
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Art Hotel Managua 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have air conditioning, private bathroom, natural gas powered hot water shower, ethernet cable, cable TV, clock radio. Included in your rate, no matter what agency you book through, is a full free breakfast. Wifi is available throughout the hotel. We have two lobby computers that guests can use. Airport pickup in a car is available for $14.75. Airport dropoff in a car is available for $11. If you need a van or truck for a pickup, please contact us for pricing. To arrange a pickup, we need your flight information emailed to us. If your plane is late, we wait. Our lobby is open 24 hours. Guests checking in on later flights can request a 2p.M. Checkout at no additional fee. We are located one block away from Parque Las Palmas. The hotel is 1 kilometer from the tourist district that includes the Lake Managua tourist area (Malecon), the Presidential Palace, the National Theatre and other landmarks. The hotel is about 1 kilometer from the Interplaza Mall and 3 kilometers from MetroCentro Mall. We have a swimming pool, big screen television in the lobby, and make refreshments (beers, cold sodas, and snacks) available 24 hours a day. Our rates include a full free breakfast, not just a piece of toast, like most hotels. We have a cafe that offers light meals throughout the day (grilled cheese, french fries, pasta, chicken, etc.). We welcome all people from all places and try to make everyone feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Art Hotel Managua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Hotel Managua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.