We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“easy overnight in Managua” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Hotel Managua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Art Hotel Managua to your Saves list
Art Hotel Managua
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Estatua de Montoya, 3c. al oeste, 1 1/2 c. al norte | Parque Las Palmas, Managua, Nicaragua (Formerly Hotel Beneficial Managua - Las Palmas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Managua
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“easy overnight in Managua”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

My partner and I stayed here while transiting in Managua. It's easy to book online, and the staff is responsive to email. The hotel will also pick you up at the airport (for a fee- but its better than fighting with a taxi driver who just wants to take you some place he will earn a commission).

I should mention--our flight was several hours late and we had no way to notify the hotel--and they waited for us at the airport anyhow.

We had to leave so early the next morning that I can't speak to the breakfast. In general this place was clean and the employees were helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    27
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
12
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I've stayed at Las Palmas on and off over the last four years, making it my first and last evening in Managua so as not to stay at the airport. Ownership changed this last year and I must say its gone downhill. Used to have a nice continental breakfast of fresh fruit and scrambled eggs. Now it is difficult to get coffee. Seems like they let the cooks go. As there is no place within walking distance, this makes it pretty limiting. And the pool was really dirty last time I was there, so no place to take a dip to cool off after a hot day of travel.

Room Tip: Something in the back, away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbeneficial, Manager at Art Hotel Managua, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
According to your October review, you stayed with us in Feb. 2011. With seven months having passed, it's hard for us to pinpoint the staff who were on duty to investigate the issues.

We offer a full breakfast included in the cost of the room. Full means a complete breakfast cooked fresh which includes, depending on what the guest requests, pancakes, gallo pinto, ham, eggs, cereal, orange juice, hot coffee, tea, milk, bread, etc. It's much better than a continental breakfast that the prior management charged $5 for. We are not sure why you could not find someone to help you with breakfast as we are staffed 24 hours a day and the morning staff are the ones who cook up the food for the guests.

As to the pool, our water is chemically balanced with standard recommended levels of acid and chlorine. After a heavy rain, sometimes dirt from the nearby plants wash into the pool. This is nothing to be concerned about though and we try to vacuum it when this happens. Our pool is opened and being used by guests for both day and night swimming.

Since you travel to Managua often, we hope that you'll give us another chance. Remember, if you have a problem at the hotel, always ask for the manager. Only the guests sleep in the rooms, so if they don't alert us to situations, we can't fix them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

What a breath of fresh air from other places I have stayed at in Managua. With the hotel being small (number of rooms) there is a more personal attentiveness to your needs. The staff works hard at making you comfortable and helping with any of your needs. Some staff members do speak English which is most helpful as well as the owner. Internet connect was great. Air condition outstanding and yes actually hot water. Breakfast is made to order to accommodate your request.
Wonderful and enjoyable place to stay.

Room Tip: Call to confirm reservations and if you require a taxi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbeneficial, Manager at Art Hotel Managua, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Thanks for giving us a positive review. We try to make the hotel as comfortable as possible so guests feel at home. Hopefully if you're even in town again you'll stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

This is a small hotel with 12 rooms inside the main building and a few rooms across the street. Because of its size, they pretty much let you do what you want so a midnight swim with drinks is accommodated.

This hotel is one of the few that doesn´t charge the 15 percent tax. Even on Expedia and the other booking engines, tax gets added at 15 percent for managua hotels, but expedia only charges $1 or $2 for tax to cover the admin fee. Book at the hotel, taxes all included as well.

The staff are very helpful and nice.

Ethernet wired internet are in every room and wifi reaches most rooms. Wifi is in the lobby and by the pool.

Breakfast is made to order which is unusual for it being included in the cost.

Snacks and beverages are available at convenience store prices $1 for a soda or juice $1.25 for a local beer. Chips $1 to $1.50.

Tìp: Telephone calls from the lobby are 20 cents a minute to the USA and Canada. That is much cheaper than using a cell phone.

Room Tip: Couples should book the King for a few dollars more they are larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbeneficial, Manager at Art Hotel Managua, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Thanks for staying at our hotel and giving us a good review. We try to keep our prices as low as possible while retaining quality service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

A nice little hotel for a decent price that gave you everything you needed. Internet at no additional cost, pool anytime you want, drinks and snacks, staff 24 hours, free breakfast very good, clean rooms.

Next to the Park Las Palmas which is nice for a morning jog.

TIP: Ask the staff to help you get a cab and they´ll negotiate the price with the driver for the best rate, $1.50 to $2.50 anywhere in the city. Don´t use dollars, use local currency, the hotel will change for you at a rate just a little more than the bank charges. DO NOT USE THE CHANGE BOOTH AT THE AIRPORT, ITS A 20% VIG!!!

Room Tip: The hotel will upgrade you to a King if they´re empty and you ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

You know, Im a investor of this hotel. Yet I had never been there. So I decided to take atrip, secretly. I must say I had a great time while visiting. Everything was the way I had hoped it would be, one bonus was the beer they served me. Since I have gone now, some ask me. Well how was the trip. All I can say is, " Cant wait to go back, the room and people were awesome". When I return to Hotel Beneficial next month, the staff will think 'm just here4beer, lol. But it's gonna be because I care as a loyal Investor. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Stay away from here! Bas customer service! We were trying to call to confirm my resercation and we waited and waited only for them to hang up on us! The person did not want to come to the phone to speak to us. When we finally got in touch to confirm the reservation, he told us he was all booked. This place is a joke, stay far away if you are looking for GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE!

Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbeneficial, Manager at Art Hotel Managua, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
We apologize for the late response to the incident and we apologize for the trouble you had on the phone. We note that the guest you made the reservation for did arrive at the hotel and we did have his room as agreed. He stayed with us during his entire stay and we hope he was satisfied with the service he received.

The person we believe was responsible for the poor phone service is no longer with us, but we suggest using email for international hotel reservation confirmations. Rest assured that anyone booking a room on our website or via one of the prepaid commercial travel agents will have their reservation honored. We suggest that a copy of the reservation be brought, but we can always find it if you left it at home.

Again, sorry for the misunderstand and we're glad that the guest did make his way here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Hotel Managua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Managua

Address: Estatua de Montoya, 3c. al oeste, 1 1/2 c. al norte | Parque Las Palmas, Managua, Nicaragua (Formerly Hotel Beneficial Managua - Las Palmas)
Location: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Art Hotel Managua 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have air conditioning, private bathroom, natural gas powered hot water shower, ethernet cable, cable TV, clock radio. Included in your rate, no matter what agency you book through, is a full free breakfast. Wifi is available throughout the hotel. We have two lobby computers that guests can use. Airport pickup in a car is available for $14.75. Airport dropoff in a car is available for $11. If you need a van or truck for a pickup, please contact us for pricing. To arrange a pickup, we need your flight information emailed to us. If your plane is late, we wait. Our lobby is open 24 hours. Guests checking in on later flights can request a 2p.M. Checkout at no additional fee. We are located one block away from Parque Las Palmas. The hotel is 1 kilometer from the tourist district that includes the Lake Managua tourist area (Malecon), the Presidential Palace, the National Theatre and other landmarks. The hotel is about 1 kilometer from the Interplaza Mall and 3 kilometers from MetroCentro Mall. We have a swimming pool, big screen television in the lobby, and make refreshments (beers, cold sodas, and snacks) available 24 hours a day. Our rates include a full free breakfast, not just a piece of toast, like most hotels. We have a cafe that offers light meals throughout the day (grilled cheese, french fries, pasta, chicken, etc.). We welcome all people from all places and try to make everyone feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Art Hotel Managua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Hotel Managua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.