We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kamakura

Kamakura
93 avenida Norte Colonia Escalon, San Salvador, El Salvador
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 152 Restaurants in San Salvador
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
San Salvador, El Salvador
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The sashimi and sushi are fresh and authentic - the fish is fresh. My favourite - tekamaki is as good as in Japan. It's not cheap but always a worth while treat.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    27
    17
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Salvador, El Salvador
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Like being in Japan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

fresh, tasty and authentic. they have private room with Japanese tables, warm towel and quiet elegance. they also have a garden with a small fountain.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lots of food for the money and excellent quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I will definitely go back. This was an authentic Japanese restaurant in San Salvador with very friendly service. I had spicy tuna roles and a Ramon soup dish. Both were excellent and I had more than half my food to take home so it was very well priced for the quantity. I also had a traditional Japanese soda that was very interesting. The menu was extensive and the local great, one block from the Crown Plaza Hotel.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazan, Honduras
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Best!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The place is superb!!! Loved the decoration and the staff is great, plus is that the owner is there in situ. Had four rolls which the ceviche roll was one of the best Ive tried. I totally recomend Kamakura for a nice dinner or lunch. Enjoy!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“What you can expect!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Japanese restaurant I have visited several times, we went especially for Sushi. It will satisfy your taste buds, if Sushi is the reasoned for your visit, but nothing special! The original owner was a Japanese lady, but since I was told it was sold few years ago? The secret to good sushi, rice and good fresh cut of fish! Most sushi restaurants, owned by non Japanese fail on rice! It is not cooked properly, not cooked well enough and seasoning with vinegar is not a proper mix, then comes the cut and freshness of fish. kamakura uses wooden box to form their sushi rather than by hand. You will find sushi restaurants everywhere these days, especially with their popularity, but exercise caution. The appearance of fish under the glass display case will be the first indicator. They do fair job with rolls.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kamakura also viewed

San Salvador, San Salvador Department
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
 
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
 

Been to Kamakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kamakura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;