We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT H O S P I T A L I T Y !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Serena Escalon

Save Saved
You added Villa Serena Escalon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Villa Serena Escalon
65 Avenida Norte N 152, San Salvador, El Salvador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 50 hotels in San Salvador
Lima, Peru
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“GREAT H O S P I T A L I T Y !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a place to stay when you want genuine caring people around you. I don't think I have ever stayed in a hotel where you feel so much warmth. I have been here for 10 days on a work assignment, and initially resisted it, and was thinking of moving to one of the big international chain hotels, like the Intercontinental. But boy, am I glad I stayed. It is a small hotel with solid but slower than US standards WIFI, no gym, and no pool, but the place is spotless, and the people serving you make you feel very special. You get to know them, and they make sure you are doing well. Breakfast is always good, and the hotel is close to shopping. Everybody pampers you in every way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hammstah
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed at Villa Serena on my first of six trips so far to El Salvador (each time after that, I stayed with my wife or with friends or in another city) and it was more than wonderful. The service was perfect. The cleanliness was perfect. The homemade breakfast in the beautiful courtyard patio was perfect. It was quiet, yet I was two minutes from many great places in the city. The owners are wonderful and professional. When I was there, they didn't have wifi but they did have two computers for guests to get online. The neighborhood is safe, but remember that it is still El Salvador, so still be careful. The price was so reasonable for the quality I received. (I was there in Sept. 2007 but that's not a choice on "when did you travel".)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zacatecoluca, El Salvador
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I have stayed here three times now, and each time haas been a delight. The hotel is clean and quiet, with comfortable rooms. The staff is welcoming adn friendly. It is agood value for the price, adn it is walking distance from a large mall and several restaurants. I stay there whenever I visit San Salvador.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I had a night here and it more than met my expectations. San Salvador tends to be a little expensive, but this place had large rooms with cable TV, good wifi and aircon in a neighbourhood that seemed safe for a reasonable price. If you're interested in using the gym, I would caution that it does have very limited opening hours. Overall, though, was very satisfied and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia Del Sol, El Salvador
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here a few times. The rooms are clean and nice and open up to a well-cared-for central garden. WiFi is included along with a full breakfast that has healthy options. A large shopping mall is nearby that has a very good movie theater.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I spent a week here in November/December and enjoyed my stay. This hotel is well managed and the staff are very good. The rooms are more than adequate and are kept very clean. The neighborhood feels pretty safe for San Salvador and walking around even at night felt OK. The night eating options are pretty much limited to US and El Salvador fast food chains, especially at night. My one gripe is with the breakfast. This is not a cheap hotel but the breakfast was on the cheap side. There was a limited selection, not very El Salvadoranian, and no fresh fruit or fresh juice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la paz, mx
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Villa Serena is located in the upscale Escalon area of San Salvador. The hotel rooms are comfortable and the staff goes out of their way to accomodate. The included morning breakfast is tasty and you have a lot of choices. We stay here whenever we visit the city.

Room Tip: We never had a bad room, no noise, etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Serena Escalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Serena Escalon

Also Known As:
Villa Serena Escalon El Salvador/San Salvador
Address: 65 Avenida Norte N 152, San Salvador, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Villa Serena Escalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Serena Escalon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.