We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for business travel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Salvador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Salvador to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Salvador
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esquina Calle 2 y Calle 3 | Centro de Estilo de Vida La Gran Via, San Salvador, El Salvador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in San Salvador
MD
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great stay for business travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott San Salvador for business travel. The hotel staff was very accomidating, and very friendly. The hotel was very clean, and the rooms were quite nice. It is located adjacent to La Gran Via shopping area, which has restaurants and shops. Knowing the safety issues of the area, I felt safe during my entire stay, including time spent at La Gran Via. Overall, the hotel is a great place to stay on business in San Salvador. I did not take advantage of the spa or the room service.

Room Tip: Higher rooms facing the rear of the hotel can get a view of Quetzaltepec.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    53
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
27
21
13
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel does its job well. It is located in a very nice location, right beside two big shopping malls and near everything in El Salvador. The rooms are nice and big, the beds are comfortable and the bathroom has everything you need. Coffee maker, tea, hair dryer, iron, the works. Nice big screen TV, free Wi-Fi, iPod compatible stereo.

My only complaint is that the restaurant is too small to accommodate all guests for breakfast. Me and my family had to wait for the waitress to accommodate us. Every day. Other than that, the food was great and the service was really good.

I would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I have traveled the world and the staff at this hotel were wonderful! I could not believe how good the staff was. I was there for business and I will be back for pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Great location for business travel: You have places to go out at night within walking distance, free wifi (It was free for me, I'm unsure if it's free for all travelers), friendly staff and good rooms. For the price and location, it's just what you would expect to get out of it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Work trip to El Sal. Check-in was crowded and took forever. Hotel was busy and lobby felt crowded and small, but it was nice. However, this is not an upscale hotel.
Room was oddly laid out and small but in decent shape. Nice but not luxurious bathroom (though I wasn't expecting that). Dirty sofa in room and not much closet space. Room backed to trees and was quiet. As a young woman, I didn't feel all that safe in the hotel; other clientele not dodgy exactly but still.
Business center in lobby itself with big computers, not private for checking work email, but it worked well and I was able to get a computer whenever I wanted one.
Location was great. Felt safe and walkable to pedestrianized outdoor shopping/restaurant area that was safe but soul-less; could have been anywhere (felt like Florida). However, we were on a busy work trip, and it was just nice to be able to get outside and relax.
Work made the booking; traveling with 4 others and we all had different rates, with different things included? 2 of 4 of us had a higher rate that included things we had no time for, like dry cleaning and 3 drinks! Service was a bit sketchy in this regard, we felt scammed. Also most of us speak espanol but the guys at the Front Desk just not friendly and forget about chitchat in Spanish. They didn't care.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel one night during a business trip to San Salvador. I arrived at 9:30 am and gave me a free drink while my room was ready. No early check in fee and the room was spotless and great.
This hotel is in a very nice area in San Salvador, next to a shopping center with mostly american restaurants. It also has space for business meetings and fast and free wifi.
It is quite expensive but I think it is a great option.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

If you are unfamiliar with the city of San Salvador this is the place to stay. Close to restaurants and shopping of La Gran Via. Walking distance to Walmart and the Multi Plaza, which has all the nightlife you can stand.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Salvador

Address: Esquina Calle 2 y Calle 3 | Centro de Estilo de Vida La Gran Via, San Salvador, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Salvador
#6 Business Hotel in San Salvador
#6 Family Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Salvador 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Salvador Hotel San Salvador
Courtyard San Salvador
San Salvador Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott San Salvador El Salvador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Salvador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.