We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to fault...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Mateo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Mateo to your Saves list
Hotel San Mateo
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Calle Caracas No. 20-H | Colonia San Mateo, San Salvador, El Salvador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 40 San Salvador B&B and Inns
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Hard to fault...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in the upstairs front room which has a double and a single a spacious bathroom and a big lounge chair and table. US $106 for 3 nights with breakfast included (coffee, juice, eggs and toast etc) Florida extremely helpful. Not much to see in down town San Salvador so the residential location is not that bad as you aren't missing much by being closer in. Bus 44 for 20 cents takes you in to MetroCentro in just over 5 minutes and it has a good food court and coffee shop. A $5 taxi ride pretty much to go most places in the city or from MetroCentro back to the hotel. A good base for day trips or to recharge your batteries in a homely (and luxurious for the price in comparison) setting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
11
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Florida made our stay in San Salvador simply wonderful with her eye to every detail possible.
She helped with taxis and gave great suggestions for restaurants and attractions in the city.
The bed and breakfast is very comfortable and tastefully decorated. Located in a very safe area.
Would definitely like to go back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magazine, Arkansas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

This was my first trip alone, and first time at Hotel San Mateo.
There are not words to describe how Florida and Alfonso made me feel during the time in E.S. the hotel its very comfortable, clean, affordable, spacious and located in a very very safe area in S.S. Im not forgetting the food, Breakfast its amazing couldn't ask for anything better Florida cooks great. Im sure i will be back to Hotel San Mateo soon and with my beautiful family.

See you soon Florida & Alfonso, God Bless you

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsanMateo, Propietario at Hotel San Mateo, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
We say to you, thank you very much for being our family. Hugs and God bless you
Alfonso + Florida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This was my first trip to El Salvador and I must say that Florida and Jose Alfonso made me very welcome in their home and their country. They are both very attentive to your needs and helped in every way they could with questions about places to go (or not to go). I arrived late the first night and Jose drove to me to a nice restaurant in the Zona Rosa. Breakfasts were varied and always good. I would certainly return to visit them if I have the chance to go back to El Salvador, a country which I enjoyed very much. Thanks for a good time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsanMateo, Propietario at Hotel San Mateo, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
We say to you, thank you very much for being our family. hugs and God bless you
Alfonso + Florida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

A little gem. Great small hotel in a quiet residential neighborhood. Felt like home. The management was friendly and very helpful. Room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The breakfast was great. I stayed a week at Hotel San Mateo and wished I could have stayed longer. There a many fantastic hidden treasures in El Salvador, starting with Hotel San Mateo. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsanMateo, Propietario at Hotel San Mateo, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
We say to you, thank you very much for being our family. hugs and god bless you
Alfonso+Florida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Florida & Jose are excellent host's, nothing seems like too much trouble. They give you lots of information and have maps available. The room we stayed in was very nice, and the breakfast was excellent. The location of the B&B is in a residential neighborhood, but it seem that in San Salvador this is the safest area to stay in. The B&B was close to shops and restaurants too, only about a 10min walk away. We even walked to the zona rosa area which has bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsanMateo, Propietario at Hotel San Mateo, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
We say to you, thank you very much for being our family. hugs and god bless you
Alfonso+Florida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on our way through El Salvador and were really glad we chose here. The owners of this B&B are so very friendly and willing to help with all your questions and provide local information, even giving us a lift to a local restaurant for dinner when we arrived late and a bit disorientated on the first night.The rooms are clean, bright and comfortable with a warm shower and air conditioning. The hotel is very secure in a safe and quiet neighbourhood. Breakfast is included, varies from day to day and is always good with fresh tea, coffee and juice.
It is in a good location not far from town by taxi which isn't very expensive at all. Just one thing to note is that the taxi drivers did have some difficulty finding it so do be sure to be fully armed with the address to help you out.
Lovely place that felt like home.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsanMateo, Propietario at Hotel San Mateo, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
We say to you, thank you very much for being our family. hugs and god bless you
Alfonso+Florida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Mateo

Address: Calle Caracas No. 20-H | Colonia San Mateo, San Salvador, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Mateo 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Mateo is conveniently located in the heart of San Salvador's commercial district, 10 minutes away from Central America's biggest shopping center. Only 40 minutes away from El Salvador's International Airport of Comalapa, or the beach,5 minutes away to international restaurants, near to sports centers, museums, universities, business center, CIFCO (Conventions)Your rest by businesses or tourism, in a place to feel like in house. We provide comfortable rooms, which include: Private bathrooms with hot water, Cable television, High speed Wireless Internet, Desks in the rooms(request)Services ($): Transportation to the airport, taxi, Meals on request, Laundry service, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Mateo El Salvador/San Salvador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Mateo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.