We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and caring owner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariscal Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Mariscal Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Mariscal Hotel & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mariscal Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Escalon 3658 Colonia Escalon, San Salvador 1111, El Salvador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 50 hotels in San Salvador
Plano, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place and caring owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Nice place and when I got sick the owner personally checked on me and made me meals which helped soothe my aching stomach. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
1
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

This is a small hotel in San Salvador. The furniture is dated but the service and location are top of the notch. The owner and her daughters take care of every detail they possibly can to make your stay enjoyable. The location is great, right next to a big shopping mall with food court and restaurants nearby. I recommend this as a great hotel with great price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL UK
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2008

I stayed in a junior suite at the Mariscal and can recommend it. The room was spacious,comfortable and clean. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, and went out of their way to give me directions to various places of interest. The hotel is right next to many shops and places to eat, in a neighbourhood that I felt safe in at night on my own as a single woman.It is also close to the buses that take you in to town.I would recommend it.

  • Liked — Clean spacious rooms, helpful staff
  • Disliked — Noisey air con
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

Mariscal was excelent!

The personel went out of their way to make sure that all of my arrangements were in order and that I was well taken care of.

The best of the hotel is the people that work there, they always give you a big smile and make you feel like home.

They really made me feel like I was part of their family.

Thank you.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the personel
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
338 helpful votes 338 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2007

For $ 49,- a room and 59,- with stove and sofa ( " Suit " ) not worth the money. You can get much cheaper and better rooms in a guest house or at Hotel Alameda for $ 41,- with a swimming pool, a restaurant, a bar and sauna in the hotel. Mariscal has nothing,.
Forget about the included " Breakfast " it consists of 2 slices of toast one cube of butter one cube of jelly, bad coffe and watery juice.and varies by day sometime a spoon of beans or casamiento, or two - 4 inch pancakes, cost to the " Hotel " less than 25 cents. Everything else is extra. For a " breakfast dipico" they charge $ 4,50. And they have not learnd to make Huevos Rancheros.

The first Room I had was towards a carpark with 3 alarms going at times from 8 AM to 8 Pm. Then in a room with no temperature control for the Aircon when it got hot you turned it on, when it got cold you turned it off, and window without screen, then in a room without a window. And if a room has a window it is 5 feet off the floor and nothing to see anyway.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mariscal Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariscal Hotel & Suites

Address: Paseo Escalon 3658 Colonia Escalon, San Salvador 1111, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 50 hotels in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariscal Hotel & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariscal Hotel & Suites is located in the new financial and comercial center of San Salvador. 50 ft. away from Galerías EScalón Mall, an elegant shopping center where you find a variety of shops, entertainment, naks, restaurants, coffe shops, etc.Mariscal Hotel & Suites ubicado en el nuevo centro financiero y comercial de San Salvador. A 25 metros de Galerías EScalón, elegante centros comercial donde encontrará una gran variedad de tiendas, entretenimiento, bancos, restaurantes, coffee shops, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mariscal Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariscal Hotel & Suites El Salvador/San Salvador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariscal Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.