We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Minimally Acceptable Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alicante Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alicante Hotel to your Saves list
Alicante Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Col. La Sultana | Calle las Rosas ·1, San Salvador C.A, El Salvador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in San Salvador
Alexandria, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Minimally Acceptable Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed at the Alicante for the first night of an OAT tour and was glad to be gone after one night. The hotel is isolated in a residental area that is not convenient to the main sights downtown. The interior is very outdated and has an overall shabby appearance: old furniture, worn upholstery, etc.

My room was small, the a/c did not work. and there were no amenities (e.g. tissues, hairdryer, etc.). The bedding was old, lumpy, and very uncomfortable. I barely slept all night. There were a few ants on my bathroom sink counter. The pool is too tiny to be of much use, lacks lounge chairs, and did not look like it had been cleaned recently.

Fortunately, there are a few sitting rooms which make it possible to get out of the bedrooms. The weather was nice so I ate outside on a terrace near the pool. Food was acceptable and reasonably priced.

I am amazed at the high ratings given to this hotel by other Trip Advisor reviewers. This is barely a two star hotel. I would not stay again nor would I recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
9
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panajachel, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is small and intimate with a great view of the City. -- I was here at the cooler time of year -- about 90 degrees in the day and 75ish at night.. I was most delighted that I could safely open the windows in my third floor room and not have to use air conditioning. the food was clean and bland-- but the best part was the willingness of the staff to please. They fetched tylenol from the pharmacy, delivered two extension cords, did the laundry pronto and made us coffee everyday at 5AM..

Room Tip: take the top floor if you can --- balcony is devine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Nevada
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The rooms here are clean, efficient, and with a good lock on the door. The staff can't do enough for you. The hotel restaurant fits the bill. It's a great place to land in Central America to start a trip of any duration. The blonde manager, a woman whose name I missed, could not have been kinder or more patient with each question and interaction. They have a lovely enclosed garden next to the pool. You can eat on the patio or inside. Excellent neighborhood to walk around in to get your bearings. Supermarket 5 minutes walk away. Stay here and relax.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night as part of an OAT tour. Hot water did not work nor did the free wi-fi. Room was clean and average size. Fixtures were dated. Staff was excellent, friendly and efficient. Location was good - near restaurants and the local park where they were having holiday celebrations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

It's my third stay at the Alicante during business trips and I will come back again and recommend it to friends
Rooms are clean, simple but for less than $50 a night breakfast included,it's perfect. Hotel has a pool and patio where you can have a drink or just relax Wifi is also included and employees are very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have travelled to San Salvador three times & this was my second stay at Alicante. This trip I was in El Salvador for a month & stayed at Alicante two nights at the beginning & 5 nights at the end. The hotel is clean & charming. The staff is eminently helpful--they are excellent at arranging, e.g., transportation & resolving other travel issues. The hotel is well-located in the western part of San Salvador, within easy walking distance of UCA through a safe and lovely neighborhood (La Sultana). the area known as Antiguo Cuscaltlán is nearby, and I walked throughout the area both day & night. If you don't mind walking, the Guzman Anthropological Museum is accesible on foot.
The Ruta de las Flores (west of San Salvador) is easily accesible from the hotel as the highway to Sonsonate is a mere three blocks away.
Although all of the rooms are fine, I prefer the two rooms on the thrird floor (18 &19) which face directly out over the neighborhood with Vólcan San Salvador prominent.
I will definetely stay here every time I visit San Salvador, Cable TV, A/C, WiFi, pleasant grounds & secure.

Room Tip: As I mentioned, if you do not mind the stairs, I like the two rooms on the 3d floor (18&19) with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here one night as part of an Overseas Adventure Travel tour. The room was clean and cool and everything worked, including the free wifi. The brunch breakfast was quite nice. Definately not a luxury hotel, but for a decent night's rest, it does the job.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alicante Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alicante Hotel

Address: Col. La Sultana | Calle las Rosas ·1, San Salvador C.A, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alicante Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
19 rooms all fully equipped with air conditioner, private bathroom, cable TV, telephone, we have swimming pool, bar, restaurant, laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Alicante Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alicante Hotel El Salvador/San Salvador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alicante Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.