We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mediterraneo Plaza

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mediterraneo Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Mediterraneo Plaza
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mediterraneo Plaza
15 Calle Poniente No 4319 | Colonia Escalón, San Salvador, El Salvador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 50 hotels in San Salvador
Lyon, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

All international 5 stars hotels being fully booked during my last stay in San Salvador, I choose this one. And it happened to be very good!
The room confort is not luxurious but more than acceptable. The hotel is very clean and is very well located, in one of the safest area of San Salvador city.
The restaurant is also quite good and the whole staff very serviceable.

But clearly the greatest asset of this hotel is its nice garden. It makes it a very confortable place for long stays.

A minor minus point: they tend to fill standard rooms with 2 or 3 beddings (they also accomodate families). Ask for their removal or you'll be crowded.

Of interest for business trips:
- the hotel has two meeting rooms that they lend guests for the price of the coffee). One can accomodate 10 people, the biggest one much more than that.
- Free WIFI connectivity works ok(for El Salvador) and is reachable everywhere in the hotel.

Room Tip: Have a go for the junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pass
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This is a greta hotel in a very peaceful part of San Salvador. The rooms are basic but have all that's needed. The service is greta, the internet works well, and the food is excellent. The breakfasts are a little basic, but the a la carte menu saves the day. All in all, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

The staff at Mediterraneo Plaza were completely outstanding in their service and customer attention. The room was roomy and very clean. The location in excellent with a perfect location within San Salvador. I strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

My family and I (7 people, adults, young adults, and a chld) spent 2 weeks at this hotel, the price was great, the service was super. Everybody was friendly, serviceable, the food was delicious. They took us on a tour to see El Boqueron (the crate) was fabulous. We are planning to go again to El Salvador and will go to the same hotel. We are telling all our friends to stay in that hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

I enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Mediterraneo and plan on staying there again in the future as the service was excellent. It is located in a central area making access to the beaches, airport and other parts of San Salvador easy.

  • Liked — the service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadview, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for four(4) nights. June 25-28, 2008.
It is a reto-1970's attempt at a mediterraean villa. I only paid $ 45 USD per night. There is NO elevator. There is a curling stair case of 25 steps to each floor. I was on the second floor, so, I had a 50 stair climb each day. Room service was just O.K. It is located in a quiet neighborhood, along with other small botique hotels, and family houses. It is not too far from the 5-star Sheraton Presidente(which I was contemplating moving too).
The room was just about adequent. i guess it use to have two beds in the room, one had been removed, but the headboard was still nailed to the wall. It had a window Air conditioned, which just barely worked, I had to keep it on high, and that was just tolerable. You have to have the front desk call you a taxi, because a taxi ever hardly comes down the street where this hotel is located. I only experienced one power failure black out while there for my 4 nights, it lasted just under an hour. I don't believe this hotel has a back-up generator. The biggest complaint, is, the nightly noise. adults and children yelling and scraming in the hallways, in the lobby, out at the pool area, loud music, singing. It is a great place for the locals to gather and raise hell. The only reason I stayed there so long was that T.A.C.A. airlines had lost my luggage, and it took them 3 1/2 days to deliver it to this hotel. as soon as it arrived, I shower, changed, and checked out. The only thing good about this place, was the off-season room rate of $ 45 USD per night. NO, I will never return to this property.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

This is a great hotel!! located next to the radisson is way cheaper than the radisson. I would higly recommend this hotel. Also they are able to provide you with shuttle services. You can contact me to ask me questions about it or I can hook you up with a reservation.

Stayed January 2004
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo Plaza

Address: 15 Calle Poniente No 4319 | Colonia Escalón, San Salvador, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 50 hotels in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Mediterraneo Plaza we take care of our guests. Inside the hotel, looks modern architectural design of the Mediterranean coasts in the most exclusive area of San Salvador. The style of our facilities will give you a pleasant stay, and we guarantee you will feel at home, thanks to the warmth and friendliness of our staff, combined with a discreet and personal attention. Tours, laundry service, travel assistance, room service, group rates, transportation, and service banquet. Enjoy a warm stay in El Salvador ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mediterraneo Plaza El Salvador/San Salvador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mediterraneo Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.