We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Presidente San Salvador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Presidente San Salvador to your Saves list
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. La Revolucion, Col. Sn. Benito, San Salvador, El Salvador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in San Salvador
NJ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Centrally located, friendly staff - excellent breakfast (including freshly made local pancakes - papusas with beans and cheese). Many dignitaries also come to the hotel - personal touch as the are received by senior management of the hotel. The rooms are large and comfortable - it is an older hotel but still clean and has its own charm. Internet is available both in the lobby and the room at no charge - this makes you always feel good these days.Gym and pool on premises - good value for money overall - I would stay here again. Not far from artisans and good local restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing C, Director General at Sheraton Presidente San Salvador, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear NJCricketer,

Thank you for the great comments about our hotel! It is our duty to provide you with the best experience possible.

We are glad you had a terrific stay and we hope to welcome you here in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Hotel Sheraton Presidente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    100
    33
    11
    5
See reviews for
32
31
27
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed here on business. Right from the start, check-in was slow. I asked for a pool view, and when i got to the room all i could see were trees. Called the front desk and it took them 25 minutes to send someone with keys to another room, and what do you think was the view? The roof to the restaurant. The man then goes down to get another key and returns with three room keys and it was like playing hide and seek with the rooms. All three rooms view were obstructed by the roof. You would think they would know what rooms have pool views, it was a merry go round. The bottom line is that i had to go down in person and ask for the manager. I finally got the room I asked for, but I needed to keep AC running even when I wanted to keep the balcony doors open because a slight sewer smell would emerge. My co-workers room faced the city view but had a horrible mildew smell. Food was really good, but you must be willing to wait to be served or just go for the buffet, which was excellent and no waiting. The area had some nice restaurants moderately priced. The gym as small, dark and humid. Don't expect them to come to the pool to offer you a drink while you take in the sun, because they won't. And even when you place an order before sitting by the pool, it still takes for ever to be served. On the plus side, the pool is very nice, the food was great, bed is extremely comfortable and if you ck in VIP, the service there is quick and they always have snacks and appetizers. I also hit the spa, which was a treat.

Room Tip: Several of my co-workers mentioned the mildew smell in the rooms facing the city. My room also had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing C, Director General at Sheraton Presidente San Salvador, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Jannette,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have encounter during your stay. We are making sure to improve our service each day, so guests like you will need to come back in order to witness our improvements.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Hotel Sheraton Presidente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I stayed at this property in 2010 and returned this week. It is classy and beautiful, just as I remembered it, however some things now need some attention. The common areas are beautiful. The lobby has a classy feel. The lounge is great. The restaurant is good but some food was subpar (Caesar salad, pizza). The breakfast buffet was very good. The fitness centre was adequate. Some free weights, an older universal and a few cardio machines. The outdoor pool is large and lovely. The service in all areas was top notch. We held a conference and the staff was wonderful and cooperative. The hotel rooms need some help. The bathrooms need to be updated. The shower head leaked. The counters and sinks appear to be quite old. The safe needed a battery. The bed was great. I was satisfied and will be happy to stay there again in the future, but eventually Sheraton is going to have to freshen up the feel of this place.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing C, Director General at Sheraton Presidente San Salvador, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Grant,

Thank you for taking the taking to write this comment. We are taking all of your suggestions into serious consideration, and we will make sure we work on improving all of them. It is our duty to improve our services each day, so that guests like you are willing to come back.

We are glad that you remain a loyal customer and we hope we can welcome you back here real soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Sheraton Presidente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I think this is the best hotel in the San Salvador area and whether you are in the area for pleasure or business, I highly recommend this hotel over any other hotel in the SS area including InterContinental. First and foremost, the hotel is more centrally located then it's competitors and nearby all of the business and nightlife locations. The taxi cost is reasonable to anywhere around the town from here and you might need to negotiate a little bit. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. I have stayed in number of different rooms and have been happy each and every time but the Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) tend to be a little bit more upgraded. The front desk crew is awesome and friendly. The door people and the security is great. Pool area can be lively sometimes and it appears that there is always something happening at the hotel due to the fact that it is connected to a small convention center. The one other thing that might be worth mentioning is that this hotel usually (not always) prices out better then Holiday Inn or InterContinental but delivers a better value then both and other hotels in the same category. I highly recommend in case you could not guess already.

Room Tip: Try to ask for rooms on the SPG floors which I think are slightly more upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing C, Director General at Sheraton Presidente San Salvador, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Mr_Universal,

We are ecstatic to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel. It is our pleasure to provide a home away from home to our guests, and it is our duty to take care of them.

It makes us happy to see you remain a loyal customer, and therefore we are more than glad to welcome you back here real soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Sheraton Presidente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The hotel rooms definitely need an update. The decor is looking beat up and the rust on the fixtures was not pretty. The phone next to the bed did not work and the door to the bathroom did not close. All things that can be fixed. The room was comfortable. In contrast to the room, the hotel lobby was very modern and updated. For the price, I guess I expected something a bid more modern. Pool is beautiful and the grounds are very lush and green. The hotel staff were superb! Friendly, efficient, and very helpful. They gave me directions, answered my questions, and genuinely cared about my comfort. The hotel is in a lovely area on town. But word of caution.... get a hotel room facing the pool. I had one facing the outside and there is some kind of karaoke/nightclub on the side my room was facing. Sounded like a rave was going on steps from my room. I could even feel the vibrations while trying to sleep. Not at all what I expected from this neighborhood.

Room Tip: get a room facing the pool. Less nightclub noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing C, Director General at Sheraton Presidente San Salvador, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear a h,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is very important to us to hear from our guests, since that is the only way we can improve accordingly. We are taking all of your suggestions into consideration and we will make sure to improve them.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Hotel Sheraton Presidente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Sheraton Presidente on our way back to the US from Costa Rica to do a coffee tour. It is a classy hotel that has seen many stays by current and former dignitaries. The price was VERY reasonable for the night. The room was clean, the floor was quiet. We ate breakfast at the restaurant each morning and the food was good with made-to-order omelets and fresh fruit and bread. We also felt safe in the hotel and the area given the past war history of the country.

RECOMMENDATION: If you are staying over the weekend, ask the front desk about weddings or parties that evening. There was a wedding with LOUD music that went easily until 2:30am in the morning. The upside was the front desk sent a note to the room earlier in the day warning us about any inconvenience and asked us to contact them and request a room change if necessary. We did not thinking it would be fine, but after the night sleep, we should have. Not their fault, we were warned.

All in all a great stay and I would return.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing C, Director General at Sheraton Presidente San Salvador, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear ColoradoBuffaloes02,

We are really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. There is no better motivation for us than to hear our guests feel at home in our facilities.

We hope we can welcome you back here real soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Sheraton Presidente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My wife and I just spent a week at the Sheraton in San Salvador. What a nice, comfortable hotel.

Check-in staff was efficient and friendly and our room was clean, comfortable, quite large with excellent amenities. We had a balcony with a view over a quiet garden area. The only thing missing were a few chairs and table on the balcony. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was quite nice and the staff did an excellent job each day providing us with a clean, straightened room.

Can not comment on the food since we ate all our meals out and were quite happy with that decision. There is an extensive selection of both local and international chains within a few block walk of the hotel. We skipped the $20.00 hotel breakfast for a truly local breakfast each day at Mercedes' Cafe a short block from the hotel, featuring Papusas and Tacos, eggs, etc for less than $2.00 a person. What a treat and bargain.
The hotel pool was gorgeous and clean and quite relaxful to sit around. The hotel staff was quite friendly and made our stay excellent.

And contrary to many reviews, the hotel DOES HAVE FREE wi-fi in the rooms!!!!!
We would return any day to this very nice hotel in a great location in a beautiful country!

Jay and Karen, Baltimore, MD

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the other side of the pool, 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing C, Director General at Sheraton Presidente San Salvador, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear JayrenMaryland,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we really hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Sheraton Presidente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Presidente San Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Presidente San Salvador

Address: Av. La Revolucion, Col. Sn. Benito, San Salvador, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Salvador
#13 Business Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Presidente San Salvador 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador is the premier lodging and conference facility in San Salvador. Situated in the best residential area, San Benito, yet close to the financial and commercial district, where you can also find the main shopping centers and theaters, such as Multiplaza shopping center and Feria Internacional. Comalapa international airport is just 35 minutes away. The hotel is distinguished by its luxurious facilities, ample gardens, and unbeatable service and warmth of its personnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Presidente San Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador Hotel San Salvador
Sheraton San Salvador
San Salvador Sheraton
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador El Salvador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Presidente San Salvador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.