We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old charm - Resort feeling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Presidente San Salvador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Presidente San Salvador to your Saves list
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. La Revolucion, Col. Sn. Benito, San Salvador, El Salvador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Old charm - Resort feeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed here over 2013 x-mas-new year's holidays (visiting friends).

It is centrally located, but you still need to rent a car, they have a car rental stand in the lobby but book in advance, the clerk is not always there, driving through San Salvador could be overwhelming. So if you're not a local, I'd suggest to grab a cab to go out.

The lobby is nice, and all the staff at reception are extremely professional (they don't BS you at all).

We're used to beach resorts, and walking around the hotel, you get that sort of feeling, the pool is large and deep, so it gets cold even in a hot day. The breakfast buffet has several choices, american and salvadoran, try the delicious ''pupusas''.
The dinner menu is basic but good, a bit pricey for what it is. Service is great.

The rooms are spacious, practical, clean (excellent housekeeping) and comfortable, they should put some chairs in the balcony. Ask for a quiet room, not overlooking the pool because they have several parties in this area (within a 9 night stay, counted 5 parties).

The small gym is sufficient but it could use an upgrade, along with the sauna.

If you go to the Spa look out for the FB specials, you'll save good money.

All in all, a nice hotel and would go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the San Salvador volcano if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton P, Sheraton Presidente at Sheraton Presidente San Salvador, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear,
Thank you for your comments towards our hotel, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to serving you in the near future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    112
    38
    11
    5
See reviews for
34
37
28
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I recently stayed a few nights at the Presidente. They are a top notch hotel in San Salavador. The grounds are beautiful and the pool is amazing. They have a great breakfast buffet that has an amazing fruit bar and hot food.

Room Tip: I would request poolside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing C, Director General at Sheraton Presidente San Salvador, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Fromtxtoma,

We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our Hotel. Nothings makes us work harder than to see our guests satisfied.

We hope we can welcome you back here real soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Sheraton Presidente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The hotel is in good location with restaurants and other hotels nearby. The rooms are old but they are well mantained. I stayed on the second floor near the end of the hallway, and the AC was a little noisy. Breakfast in restaurant is great and has an open area adjacent to the pool.
Overall a reliable stay for business. Service is great except in the restaurant with somewhat lazy waiters (it gets busy during breakfast) and security guys worrying about spills.
The cashier in the restaurant must be new or they have problems with administrative personnel since it took an inordinate amount of time to get the check.

Room Tip: I hear the AC is noisy in certain parts of the hotel, ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing C, Director General at Sheraton Presidente San Salvador, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Jose,

We are glad to hear you had a nice time at our Hotel. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have encounter, but we assure you we are taking your comments into serious consideration.

We hope we can welcome you back here soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Sheraton Presidente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

IF you are going to San Salvador, El Salvador, you must stay at the Sheraton Presidente Hotel. We were on a business trip and found the hotel was very clean, had a great breakfast buffet, beautiful pool area and other great services.

We have stayed at other hotels that have a better gym, but overall our 10 day stay was very comfortable here. Staff are very accommodating and the laundry service is excellent as well.

In addition it is in a very good part of the city and a short walk to many great shops and cultural attractions.

Room Tip: There are a number of social events around the pool area. If you want a quieter room, ask for the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton P, Sheraton Presidente at Sheraton Presidente San Salvador, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Agentgwms,
Nice to greet you. Thank you very much for your feedback to our hotel, we hope to serve you in the near future. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
432 helpful votes 432 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

It's a tough call at the El Presidente.
On the one hand, having breakfast outside by the pool is just fabulous.
On the other hand, the hallways with ceilings about an inch about your head, that look and smell like a hospital, are not exactly something you look forward to coming back to.

The rooms are actually ok, especially if you get one with a nice view of the pool, which we didn't, but have in the past.

We used the gym, as we always do. It's so nice to have one in our hotel, but this one could use a little help. Luckily, no one else seems to use it so it wasn't crowded.

Overall, It's just a bit tired. They are in dire, dire need of updating and redecorating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pool. Not one at the end of the hallway which is very long and has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton P, Sheraton Presidente at Sheraton Presidente San Salvador, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear mattkorey,
Nice to greet you. Thanks for your comments. We are working in various areas of the hotel for your stay are better. We are sorry for the inconvenience on your last visit. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in April 2013. I thought the service was decent. The hotel staff is not overly friendly, but at a large property, sometimes you get that. The restaurant service was very good and the staff there was always easy to deal with. Our waiter went as far as to say "hello" as we were just cutting through to the pool.
The rooms are clean with good space. The "balcony" was a bit disappointing (it's really just a slider to a very small landing), but no need to hang out in your room anyway.
The location is great for taking a walk down to Hopodromo for restaurants, shopping and small art shops.
Biggest negative was on our last night there, they were having a wedding reception in the pool area. The music was overbearing in the rooms as they had the speakers pointed directly at the hotel instead of the other direction. After calling the front desk to ask about the end time of the event, we finally had to switch rooms to the front of the hotel around midnight. Again, not the worst thing in the world just more of an annoyance that they put the reception guests over there hotel guests.
All and all a clean property in an area with plenty to do.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton P, Sheraton Presidente at Sheraton Presidente San Salvador, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Anthony H,
Nice to greet you. We are sorry for the inconvenience on your last visit. We will working in some areas of the hotel for to improve service. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Below Sheraton standards, the food is very good, has a good dinner, the attention is good in the restaurant. the rooms are old, the gym is a tiny hallway, no good at all. Putting green is terrible. But there are not better business hotel in the city. The hotel need to improve.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton P, Sheraton Presidente at Sheraton Presidente San Salvador, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear walkingtheland,
Nice to greet you. We are sorry for the inconvenience on your last visit and we are working in various areas of the hotel to improve service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Presidente San Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Presidente San Salvador

Address: Av. La Revolucion, Col. Sn. Benito, San Salvador, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Salvador
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Salvador
#11 Business Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Presidente San Salvador 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador is the premier lodging and conference facility in San Salvador. Situated in the best residential area, San Benito, yet close to the financial and commercial district, where you can also find the main shopping centers and theaters, such as Multiplaza shopping center and Feria Internacional. Comalapa international airport is just 35 minutes away. The hotel is distinguished by its luxurious facilities, ample gardens, and unbeatable service and warmth of its personnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Media 8, Inc., Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Sheraton Presidente San Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador Hotel San Salvador
Sheraton San Salvador
San Salvador Sheraton
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador El Salvador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Presidente San Salvador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.