We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place for budget travellers in San Salvador” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ximena's Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ximena's Guest House to your Saves list
Ximena's Guest House
Calle San Salvador # 202A | Colonia Centro America, San Salvador, El Salvador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 40 San Salvador B&B and Inns
Santa Rosa de Copan, Honduras
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“excellent place for budget travellers in San Salvador”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I've stayed for 2 weeks in San Salvador, combining work with exploring the country and city. Ximena's is a great place: centrally located in a safe neighbourhood with lots of eating out options (both local and 'fastfood' places), good prices, the staff is helpful and friendly and the owner is very eager to help travellers with planning their stay in El Salvador. She knows her way around and is happy to share that information with other people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    16
    10
    4
See reviews for
2
19
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Dulce, Guatemala
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My favorite lodging in san salvador, very good price. very safe. walk to town, 5 minutes. rooms are clean, dorm is clean. small kitchen, but better to go to the Pizza hut in town for meals. The European staff will give your local touring information and help you with bookings to copan and other interesting sites. a taxi will pick you up at the door at 0300am to take you to the Tika bus or bring you in from the bus station, every one knows where this place is located. This is a hostel, not a 4 star tourist hotel. so keep that in mind. i usually stay at least a week when i am in el salvador.

Room Tip: taxi from the tika bus station is usually 5 dollars, the us dollar is the local currency. when you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived here to find a nice quiet clean hostel. Pretty standard rooms but the staff are so helpful. Lena the owner is coming to meet with us tomorrow to give us tips on what to see and which busses to take to get there. For a big city I'm pleased.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I feel just like Family when I arrive at Ximena's Guest House. I have been volunteering/working in San Salvador since 2006 and without the owners and staff at Ximena's I do not believe our trips would be as wonderful as they have been.

The location of Ximena's is perfect for travel, food, shops and safety. The owner's and staff provide a great deal of help with planning sight seeing trips, organizing taxi rides for our volunteers and general information regarding whats happening in the city.

The rooms are very clean and you are able to choose from bunk beds to a room for yourself with your own washroom and air conditioning.

We are planning many more trips to El Salvador and we plan to continue to stay at Ximena's Guest House.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Since 2006 I have been a guest at Ximena's on an annual basis, while volunteering with a Canadian NGO, working with English teachers in local schools. The guest house is clean, with room airconditioners and hot showers. The room rates are very reasonable. Lena, the owner, has been a great resource, both in helping us negociate transportation to our place of volunteering and in helping us with ideas and logistics for weekend sightseeing. She speaks flawless English and is always ready to help, whether in person or by phone.
The staff is attentive, patient with my attempts at Spanish, and always ready to help. Amerika, the daytime staff person, is delightful and always welcomes me with open arms.
The location is great, close to several restaurants, both American and local, and a shopping mall is an easy, 10-minute walk away.
I can truly say that Ximena's is my "home" while in El Salvador.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Clean rooms. Great location, walking distance to metrocentro, friendly staff, helpful with onward travel plans. We only stayed one night but would stay here again for the price. Air con worked and tv had several English channels. Comfy bed

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our room was very old and definitely needed a renovation. Especially the bathroom was kind of dangerous. I overlooked the warning signal not to touch the shower with wet hands and so I got electric shocks as I touched the shower with my head... The shower was fixed on a high that I couldn`t even avoid to touch it with my size of 173cm. Staff member Lena was very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ximena's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ximena's Guest House

Address: Calle San Salvador # 202A | Colonia Centro America, San Salvador, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ximena's Guest House is a cozy property in a residential neighborhood just two blocks off the main drive; Blvd. de Los Heroes. The combination of peace and tranquility and easy access to bus departures to all corners of the country makes Ximena's a great choice for lodging. This is a safe area and everything you need as a traveler such as banks, pharmacies, malls, restaurants, bars, cinemas etc. are all within walking distance.There are both basic dorm rooms with shared bath and hot shower as well as private rooms with private bath, hot shower, cable TV, ceiling fan and A/CIn the common rooms, roof terrace and patios, travelers from all corners of the world meet up and enjoy each other’s company while sharing information and making travel plans. Our helpful staff provides tourist information and first hand information on subjects from bus routes to embassy addresses as well as tourist destinations all over the country. Founded in 1983, Ximena's Guest House is one of the oldest hostels in town and we have throughout the years specialized in foreign travelers and NGOs. Our services include internet service, phone calls via Skype, cable TV in common room, safe deposit lockers, book exchange, laundry service, restaurant, tours and transport services etc.Another advantage by staying here is the personalized and up to date tourist and travel info we provide our guests.Ximena's is a place travellers feel at home and love to come back to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Ximena's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ximena's Guest House El Salvador/San Salvador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ximena's Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.