We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Outstanding Effort"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Avenida Norte y 11 Calle Poniente, San Salvador, El Salvador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in San Salvador
San Salvador, El Salvador
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Outstanding Effort"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is my fourth business trip to San Salvador. I continue to be impressed by this little country that could and does everyday. I am particularly impressed with my choice of hotel accommodations on this trip. The Crowne Plaza is a wonderful sprawling hotel full of energetic employees who are a breath of fresh air in this culturally rich Central American city. I am not an easy sell. My job requires travel for at least 9 months out of the year, so very little surprises or impresses me. The Crowne Plaza dares you to not be impressed. A huge part of this hotel's winning customer care formula appears to be rooted in employees who genuinely put forth an effort to make each guest feel welcomed and accommodated beyond their expectations. A huge thanks to concierge Roberto Medina, you sir are a true jewel in the Crowne of this hotel. You are competent, attentive, knowledgeable and genuine. Your hotel is very fortunate to have you as a part of their organization. Thank you Roberto, for making my stay a memorable one. I am looking forward to my return. I have already booked my next reservation.

Thank you Crowne Plaza!

Room Tip: Firmest mattress i have ever slept on, but certainly not a negative experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear John R,

Thank you for this fantastic review. Our staff strives to create memorable experiences; we are overjoyed to learn you had a pleasant stay. We appreciate your comments and will share them with Roberto and everyone in our team. We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to San Salvador.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    72
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
16
8
17
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

In October my husband and I spent 2 weeks in The Crowne Plaza, the staff is amazing they go out of their way to make you feel especial and comfortable, especially the Bar and restaurant staff and not to mention the bell boys.

Wonderful place but this time we were a bit disappointed about the shuttle bus, three years ago when we visited, they were available every single day all day, this time only after 7pm and they have a fixed timetable, which is nice but not always convenient.
Thelma Martinez
Australia

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania H, Director de Recepción at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Salvad0rena,
Thank you for your review. Our staff is very happy to learn you enjoyed your stay; we are committed to delivering memorable experiences to our guests.
Your comments regarding the shuttle will be shared with the related departments in an effort to provide you with a better service. We hope you will prefer Crowne Plaza San Salvador on your next trip to El Salvador.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

A great place to stay - but the jewels in their crowne (sorry!) are the concierge staff, namely Astrid & Roberto, both of whom went out of their way to ensure our stay was just perfect.
We were on the 7th floor with fabulous volcano and city views.
Not a great fan of hotel restaurants in general, on our last night & being car-less, decided to eat at the main restaurant. It was really, really good - I don't think I have ever had such a great meal in a hotel, with the possible exception of Claridges!

El Salvador is an absolutely lovely country - so much to do and see - well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear YR R,
Thank you for your review. It has been shared with all of our staff. Astrid and Roberto are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide great service and are very proud of our team. For us, it is really important to learn about you experience; thank you for sharing your thoughts! We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to San Salvador.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My stay in this hotel was one of the most pleasant that I have experienced this year (I travel 50%+ of the weeks in a year). Front desk service was excellent. Room was clean. Coffee was in the room. Access to the internet was excellent. Just what a busineess person is seeking when planning a trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Randy J,

Thank you for this great review! We are ecstatic to learn that you had a pleasant experience with us. It was delightful to have you as our guest; we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to El Salvador.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigby, Idaho
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
184 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a great full-service hotel in one of the better parts of San Salvador. I stayed on a PointBreaks Priority Club rate. As a Platinum Priority Club member, I received an upgrade to the "Business Class" floor with access to the business lounge and other perks. I had a rental car and parking was provided at no charge. The common areas of the hotel are large, spacious, and elegant. There seem to be a lot of day visitors for conventions, meetings, and such. I did not visit the hotel's restaurant or lounge. Many restaurants are within close walking distance at next door Plaza Futura. Internet access was provided free of charge and was reliably fast. The hotel is an older building, which shows in some details - especially in the guest rooms. The room I had was a bit stale, with minimal decoration, a musty smell, and a really old cooling system. The bathroom was nice however. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well, if just a little too warm. The views to the north up to San Salvador volcano are great if you happen to get a room on that side of the building. There is another hotel (The Plaza) which shares the pool and the grounds but it is not of the same quality as the Crowne Plaza. Traffic can be testing on your patience to and from the hotel certain hours of the day, as would be expected in San Salvador. The staff I interacted with were very pleasant and most spoke English very well. I would not hesitate to stay here again if in San Salvador. The property would get an "Excellent" rating if there were a complete overhaul of the older portions of the hotel to bring in a more modern feel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Ajnuff,

Thank you for your review!

We are happy to learn you enjoyed your stay. Our views to the San Salvador Volcano are certainly delightful! Your comments are very important for our team and have been transmitted to all department heads and staff. We would like to share with you that the installation of new carpets in all guest rooms has been recently completed. We hope to enjoy the pleasure of having you as our guest on your next trip to San Salvador.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaounde, Cameroon
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here for nearly 2 weeks for work. The hotel is situated in a huge development linked to a posh shopping mall; the latter is advantagious because you have several nearby dinner options in a safe environment. The hotel is quite large with loads of public spaces.
The strong points are: fantastic views from the restaurant area and very good (clean and appealing) bar/restaurant areas. The rooms are of a nice size and clean & comfortable enough. The service is adequate.
Value for money is ok, though not special.
Downsides: the place was inundated with schoolchildren on a sport event. It meant noise, waiting and more noise. The hotel did not take adequate steps to 'help' the normal guests which meant I got little sleep for several nights. Better planning would surely have avoided this.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Martijn t,

We always love to know about your experience in our hotel since it helps us to find ways to make memorable stays for our guests. We are very happy to learn you enjoyed our rooms, location, views, and restaurant area. Please accept our apologies regarding noise during your stay; we have informed the related departments and are taking measures to prevent it from happening again. Thank you for your feedback.

We hope you will grant us the opportunity of creating a delightful stay in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Upon our arrival from SAL airport we were immediately greeted by a bellman and directed to reception. We prepaid for a 1BR Master Suite @ $255 USD/night and joked about wanting to get upgraded to the Presidential and to our surprise we were!!! I am sure it had something to do w/ the fact that we are Priority Club Rewards Platinum members. The only down side was that the Executive Lounge was closed on the weekend but who cares, right, it's the Presidential Suite! As previous reviews mentioned, the rooms are dated w/ somewhat of a musty smell and the A/C not up to par.

The hotel itself looks to be in great condition, very clean, very open w/ a warm feeling. The gym has everything you need to get a good workout. The pool is huge and warm. The restaurant is so so for dinner but great for breakfast w/ pupusas made to order.

The Staff is awesome and totally believes in customer service! I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Many benefits for Priority Club Rewards members.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Iv2trvlevrywer,

Thank you for this fantastic review! We encourage our team to create delightful experiences for our guests. Your comments have been shared with our staff and we are thrilled to learn you enjoyed a pleasant stay and are satisfied with our service. Your feedback is of great importance for us since it allows us to find areas of opportunity. We look forward to having the privilege of your visit on your next trip to El Salvador.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador

Address: 89 Avenida Norte y 11 Calle Poniente, San Salvador, El Salvador
Phone Number:
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson San Salvador
San Salvador Radisson
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador El Salvador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.