We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel with some extras” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Avenida Norte y 11 Calle Poniente, San Salvador, El Salvador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in San Salvador
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A good hotel with some extras”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here for nearly 2 weeks for work. The hotel is situated in a huge development linked to a posh shopping mall; the latter is advantagious because you have several nearby dinner options in a safe environment. The hotel is quite large with loads of public spaces.
The strong points are: fantastic views from the restaurant area and very good (clean and appealing) bar/restaurant areas. The rooms are of a nice size and clean & comfortable enough. The service is adequate.
Value for money is ok, though not special.
Downsides: the place was inundated with schoolchildren on a sport event. It meant noise, waiting and more noise. The hotel did not take adequate steps to 'help' the normal guests which meant I got little sleep for several nights. Better planning would surely have avoided this.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Martijn t,

We always love to know about your experience in our hotel since it helps us to find ways to make memorable stays for our guests. We are very happy to learn you enjoyed our rooms, location, views, and restaurant area. Please accept our apologies regarding noise during your stay; we have informed the related departments and are taking measures to prevent it from happening again. Thank you for your feedback.

We hope you will grant us the opportunity of creating a delightful stay in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    76
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
16
9
17
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Upon our arrival from SAL airport we were immediately greeted by a bellman and directed to reception. We prepaid for a 1BR Master Suite @ $255 USD/night and joked about wanting to get upgraded to the Presidential and to our surprise we were!!! I am sure it had something to do w/ the fact that we are Priority Club Rewards Platinum members. The only down side was that the Executive Lounge was closed on the weekend but who cares, right, it's the Presidential Suite! As previous reviews mentioned, the rooms are dated w/ somewhat of a musty smell and the A/C not up to par.

The hotel itself looks to be in great condition, very clean, very open w/ a warm feeling. The gym has everything you need to get a good workout. The pool is huge and warm. The restaurant is so so for dinner but great for breakfast w/ pupusas made to order.

The Staff is awesome and totally believes in customer service! I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Many benefits for Priority Club Rewards members.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Iv2trvlevrywer,

Thank you for this fantastic review! We encourage our team to create delightful experiences for our guests. Your comments have been shared with our staff and we are thrilled to learn you enjoyed a pleasant stay and are satisfied with our service. Your feedback is of great importance for us since it allows us to find areas of opportunity. We look forward to having the privilege of your visit on your next trip to El Salvador.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was for many decades the best place in town: the San Salvador Interkontinental. Today, it is the Crown Plaza of the same group, but the infrastructure has aged. Some new additions have been built, but the rooms show signs of aging. Nevertheless, service is still prime, and the hotel remains a popular place for weddings and other fiestas.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear CESLB,

Thank you for reviewing us! We love to learn that you enjoyed our service during your stay at Crowne Plaza San Salvador. We are always thrilled and grateful to know about your experience with us since it helps us to find areas of improvement. Currently, we are reconditioning our guestrooms to assure guest satisfaction. We hope to enjoy the pleasure of your visit in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed in this hotel during a business trip to San Salvador. The facilities are fine, the service is "american standards'". There are two different rates for the rooms; you can stay either in the main building or behind the pool. I stayed in the main building and the room suited all my needs; I have heard that the rooms behind the pool aren't so great but they are substantially cheaper.
Breakfast is buffet and is fine.
I was very happy with the staff.

Room Tip: If you are on business or can spent more, stay in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Marieta_77,

We are very happy to learn that our rooms suited your needs and you were pleased with our staff. Thank you for preferring us; it was delightful to have you as our guest.
Your comments are very important to our team since we are always working towards your satisfaction. Thank you for reviewing us!
We hope to have the opportunity of having you with us in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in June 2012, it is a small hotel with good service and courteous staff. Breakfast has variety and many choices, good quality food. The hotel is conveniently conected to a plaza with few restaurants, great choice for dinner. In general, good rooms, no late amenities, service was good and staff is courteous. The best, the coffee shop

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Mr. Rarvelo,

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed our breakfast, location, coffee shop and service. Your comments are an invaluable instrument to continue working towards guest satisfaction and will be shared with our staff.

It has been delightful to have you as our guest. We hope to have the opportunity of having you with us in the future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, San Salvador, El Salvador
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Mostly all-Spanish speaking staff, basic to sub-par amenities, zero ambiance, boring breakfast buffet. I was taken aback by how sub-standard this hotel was compared to other medium-tier hotels in the same price range in Costa Rica/Panama etc. This is what I would have expected in 1985 not 2012.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania H, Front Desk Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Cameltoe69:

Thank you for your feedback. We are deeply sorry to hear you did not enjoy our amenities, ambiance and breakfast buffet. We are fully committed to guest satisfaction and appreciate your remarks. Your comments have been shared with all the related departments to find opportunities of improvement in these areas. Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts; we hope to have the pleasure of having you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed here for a meeting in late March - excellent service, clean facilities, and friendly staff. Would definitely recommend for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Priya B,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our service, facilities and staff. It has been a pleasure to have you with us. We hope to have the privilege of your visit on your next trip to El Salvador.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador

Address: 89 Avenida Norte y 11 Calle Poniente, San Salvador, El Salvador
Phone Number:
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson San Salvador
San Salvador Radisson
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador El Salvador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.