We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for your money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gardenia Inn

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gardenia Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gardenia Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle El Carmen y Prolongacion Alameda Juan Pablo II, Col Escalon, San Salvador 0000, El Salvador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 50 hotels in San Salvador
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best value for your money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I try to visit my home land every year and when I do I always stay at this hotel. It has a great location in San Salvador, it is very clean, service is awesome from the moment you enter the building. It has all you need in the rooms. House keeping is excellent and they have honest people working for them so your personal items are always safe. The area around the hotel it's safe but you always take caution of your surroundings in El Salvador any where you go. I recommend this hotel to any one that visit El Salvador that makes use of a hotel room to have a good sleep and keep your belongings safe. This hotel gives you the best for the value of your money. I will keep on staying at this hotel every time I visit El Salvador.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that have a living room area. Those rooms are the best when traveling with kids. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
2
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

This is a great hotel with great service and outstanding value. Located very close to everything you want to see in the city.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the 3rd floor towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We arrived from a red-eye flight at 1 am, all that we wanted was go to the hotel and sleep nice, well, from the very first moment in the middle of the night the front desk person was very nice. He informed that our room included free breakfast too, our first good surprise was when we got to the room, it has a small kitchen with pretty much everything except a stove, I tough that was wonderful, specially when you have a 8 months old baby.
We did like a lot too, that was simple but neat, and spacious we were 2 adults with 2 kids, there were 2 queen beds, and we still setup the travel crib for our little one.
At breakfast this was the best!!!, we were expecting the typical "American" breakfast....NO WAY, they have a chef! with a table buffet style, my husband and big kid are very picky and didn't like the eggs with vegetables that they were offering..., when I asked her if she could get me some eggs without anything.., she even asked me, if I really didn't want to add something..., well she cooked eggs with ham, just at the way my family likes, and that right there, I can not give them less than 5 stars.
This people really care about COMFORT and pamper their guest!
By the way I am bilingual English-spanish (I know not so good in the first one, hehehe), but my Hubie doesn't talk Spanish in all. But the front desk people were full bilingual in a dawn good English!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

This hotel is very clean and has security at the doors outside. You feel very secure when staying here. Nice beds and showers.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

This is not a luxurious hotel, but it definitely has everything one needs for a comfortable stay as far as business trips go. I have stayed here a few times in the past 18 months.

Some of the things I like
* Free and fast wifi
* Nice and clean rooms (at least the last three times that I have visited)
* Buffet breakfast, though not the most extravagant and varied in San Salvador, has enough of the basics to keep one happy (variety of fruits, egg menu varieties, cereals, types of bread, etc)
* Secluded area not in the business district
* Nice lush patio area makes one forget one is in the most deforested country in Central America
* Good ol' true Salvadoran hospitality

Some of the things I do not like
* Towels have low thread count, leading one to need two towels instead of one to get oneself dry after a shower
* Not all cabbies know this address by heart, unlike bigger hotels like Holiday Inn, etc (better to keep the address on record)
* No external restaurants within walking distance

Overall, I think that looking at the price vs. what one gets (in other words, value) this is a great option for a business traveller in San Salvador

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

I've been to El Salvador three times and the hotels can be sketchy. The only hotels I have no complaints about are Comfort Inns. They are very clean. The food is excellent. Friendly staff. The floors are not carpeted and there are no comforters, only sheets and blankets. These are good things since it makes the place more clean. No complaints.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panajachel, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2007

I stayed here four times whilst travelling throughout Central America. The rooms were a standard chain room but that meant that everything worked, they were clean and cool and had a nice solid feel about them. I liked the open plan layout of the floors and the free wirleless internet in the rooms was a real bonus. The breakfast was good and the location not bad at all. I enjoyed my walks to the nearby shoping mall and further afield. The security was first class, staff excellent and helpful to a tee. I would thoroughly recommend staying here if you need to spend a day or two in San Salvador. The laundry service was excellent. A large washing machine and dryer downstairs allowed me to get all of my laundry done in one go for 8 US. Yes I know that a cheap laundry would be cheaper but you have to find one, then carry all of the clothing and then collect it. For 8 US dollars I doubt you could get more than two or three drinks back in the US.

  • Liked — Solid feel and facilities
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gardenia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardenia Inn

Address: Calle El Carmen y Prolongacion Alameda Juan Pablo II, Col Escalon, San Salvador 0000, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 50 hotels in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Gardenia Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gardenia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn San Salvador
San Salvador Comfort Inn
Hotel Gardenia Inn El Salvador/San Salvador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gardenia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.