We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey before the add ons...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall to your Saves list
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd. de los Heroes and Avenue Sisimiles, San Salvador AP 05 44, El Salvador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pricey before the add ons...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a standard featureless corporate hotel - we only stayed here as we were using San Salvador as a hub to get around Central America on our honeymoon. Previous reviewers are correct - it's in a safe part of town, it's got some decent food and is a flat $25 from the airport but at a cost of over $150 a night (in El Salvador!) you shouldn't have to pay for breakfast and Wifi. In fact in over a months travel this is the first place to charge for the Internet. I can't offer an alternative but its worth searching for one in my experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Keven P:

We really thank you for this comment. Receiving feedback from our guests is very important to us and we take each observation very seriously.

We hope to have you again with us in a near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    114
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
46
52
37
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If I were to be asked one word to describe this hotel it would be drab. Firstly, even if you get a good rate, the way they nickel and dime you for everything increases your stay by atleast another US$30-50 (ie: US$20 for shuttle/ US$15 x day for wifi/ US$15 x day for breakfast) Also, be aware that the best rate is usually prepaid. Secondly, the location is not the best. About a 10-15 minute cab ride to the best restaurants bars. The shopping "mall" across the street from the hotel is old and drab. Although the hotel is modern and clean don't let the pictures fool you, it has a drab feel to it. The only positive note is that there is a good seafood restaurant around the back of the hotel, La Ola Beto, but it is not high end. It is a local seafood dive, but good. Will not stay here again.

Room Tip: High floor away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear perudallas:

We really thank you for this comment. Receiving feedback from our guests is very important to us and we take each observation very seriously.

We have taken note of your comments and we are going to work on your remarks.

Thank you Very much!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Traveled here for business this week. After staying in Intercontinental Hotels all around Central and South America, this one really stands out in a bad way. I am an Ambassador Club member which costs $200 year and they refused my entry to the Club Level which is standard for my membership. In addition, the service staff was not helpfull; the General Manager did not present himself when I attempted to escalate the problem. All in all, not a pleasant experience for someone that is flying in and working deals to promote growth in El Salvador. As a result, I plan to quit the entire program due to the Intercontinental inconsistency. Look elsewhere...

BTW, the rooms are not very nice with towels that appear to be 20 years old and no bath robe as is standard at other hotels. Good riddance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear gammish:

Thank you for sending us your comments. Receiving feedback from our guests is very important to us and we take each observation very seriously. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us. We have taken note of your comments and are committed to improving our service.
Please give us the opportunity to serve you again and we will make sure that you enjoy staying with us.

Please do not hesitate to write me at: miriam.melendez@r-hr.com

Sincerely yours,

Miriam Melendez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was told it's too dangerous to go to El Salvador. We only found friendly people, an incredibly clean & enjoyable hotel, and amazing people. The hotel has it all: 4 restaurants, a clean room, great spa, attentive staff & great location. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear gravelson:

Thank you very much for this wonderful comment, we really appreciate it.

We hope to you with us again.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at the intercontinental on a business trip and was very happy with the stay. The breakfast was sumptuous and beautiful. The only complaint that I have is that my room was adjacent to a night club across the street and the music after 10pm made it less restful. The other perk is that there is a large shopping center across from the hotel that made souvenir shopping a snap. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall a enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Jonathan E:

Thank you for sending in your review! We are delighted that you came to visit us and share you experience; we are going to take into account your remarks that help us to improve our service.

We hope to have you again with us and thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Everyone, and I mean EVERYONE was friendly. I was greeted from the front door to the maid service with a smile and "Can I help you?". This was one of the best hotel experiences I have had in a long time, and I travel a great deal. I am scheduling a return next June -- and can't wait for the comfortable bed, the great food (especially breakfast!), the very fast wifi, and service par excellence.

Room Tip: I stayed in the "odd" side -- with a view of the mall across the street. I'm not sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear BpDianeBruce:

We are delighted with your comments and are committed to maintaining the great level of service that you received during your stay.

Thank you very much!!!

We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I like this place. A bit dated, but for the most part well maintained. Nice gardens, restaurants and club on the executive floor is perfect for quick breakfast or happy hour. Staff were friendly and taxis generally available on demand.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Jason P:

Thank you very much for this time you took writing this comment, we are glad to know that you have enjoy your stay with us.

We hope to have you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall

Address: Blvd. de los Heroes and Avenue Sisimiles, San Salvador AP 05 44, El Salvador
Phone Number:
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Salvador
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Salvador
#2 Family Hotel in San Salvador
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de lujo ubicado en el centro de entretenimiento y negocios de la ciudad, frente al Centro Comercial mas grande de Centro America, con facil acceso al aeropuerto. Habitaciones recientemente renovadas con ventanas anti ruidos, internet 50MB, camas especialmente disenadas con sabanas de algodon egipcio y otras comodidades. Disfruta del restaurante Faisca al estilo brasileno, Picasso de cocina mediterranea y el NAU Lounge Sushi bar. Explora los lugares locales como la Villa Maya Joya de Ceren ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotels Real San Salvador Hotel San Salvador
Intercontinental San Salvador
San Salvador Intercontinental
Real InterContinental San Salvador At Metrocentro Mall El Salvador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.