We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not-Intercontinental Standard” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall

Save Saved
You added Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd. de los Heroes and Avenue Sisimiles, San Salvador AP 05 44, El Salvador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 50 hotels in San Salvador
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not-Intercontinental Standard”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Traveled here for business this week. After staying in Intercontinental Hotels all around Central and South America, this one really stands out in a bad way. I am an Ambassador Club member which costs $200 year and they refused my entry to the Club Level which is standard for my membership. In addition, the service staff was not helpfull; the General Manager did not present himself when I attempted to escalate the problem. All in all, not a pleasant experience for someone that is flying in and working deals to promote growth in El Salvador. As a result, I plan to quit the entire program due to the Intercontinental inconsistency. Look elsewhere...

BTW, the rooms are not very nice with towels that appear to be 20 years old and no bath robe as is standard at other hotels. Good riddance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear gammish:

Thank you for sending us your comments. Receiving feedback from our guests is very important to us and we take each observation very seriously. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us. We have taken note of your comments and are committed to improving our service.
Please give us the opportunity to serve you again and we will make sure that you enjoy staying with us.

Please do not hesitate to write me at: miriam.melendez@r-hr.com

Sincerely yours,

Miriam Melendez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    93
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
31
39
31
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Fl
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I was told it's too dangerous to go to El Salvador. We only found friendly people, an incredibly clean & enjoyable hotel, and amazing people. The hotel has it all: 4 restaurants, a clean room, great spa, attentive staff & great location. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear gravelson:

Thank you very much for this wonderful comment, we really appreciate it.

We hope to you with us again.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the intercontinental on a business trip and was very happy with the stay. The breakfast was sumptuous and beautiful. The only complaint that I have is that my room was adjacent to a night club across the street and the music after 10pm made it less restful. The other perk is that there is a large shopping center across from the hotel that made souvenir shopping a snap. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall a enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Jonathan E:

Thank you for sending in your review! We are delighted that you came to visit us and share you experience; we are going to take into account your remarks that help us to improve our service.

We hope to have you again with us and thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Everyone, and I mean EVERYONE was friendly. I was greeted from the front door to the maid service with a smile and "Can I help you?". This was one of the best hotel experiences I have had in a long time, and I travel a great deal. I am scheduling a return next June -- and can't wait for the comfortable bed, the great food (especially breakfast!), the very fast wifi, and service par excellence.

Room Tip: I stayed in the "odd" side -- with a view of the mall across the street. I'm not sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear BpDianeBruce:

We are delighted with your comments and are committed to maintaining the great level of service that you received during your stay.

Thank you very much!!!

We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I like this place. A bit dated, but for the most part well maintained. Nice gardens, restaurants and club on the executive floor is perfect for quick breakfast or happy hour. Staff were friendly and taxis generally available on demand.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Jason P:

Thank you very much for this time you took writing this comment, we are glad to know that you have enjoy your stay with us.

We hope to have you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I am a frequent traveler and booked this hotel using award points from Priority Club.
The hotel looks nice and feels safe, but that is about all it has to offer.
The valet parking attendants are not helpful at all. We used the service twice and had to wait way too long to get our car even though they were not busy at all.
The non-smoking rooms smell of cigarettes and when people in the other rooms smoke, the smoke and smell come in through the vents.
They nickel and dime you to death. The internet is outrageously priced, specially for this market. $4 for two hours access that keeps dropping, and this is the first hotel I've stayed at in 15 different countries that charges to use the business center computer - $4 for 15 minutes and $0.50 per page to print??? plus, you need to get two separate attendants to help you out, one to get you logged and one to get the printing done. Neither sits in the business center and neither can do the others job so it took me almost 45 minutes and cost me over $10 to print one page of directions to my customer's site.
The staff is not very friendly - probably because I used points I am not considered a "paying customer" so they don't need to help out. Barely a "hello" when you walk in and they are very condescending to guests. When I complained about the cost and difficulty of using the business center the front desk clerk told me that they operate hotels all over Central America and Colombia so they can do that if they want. As true as that may be, you don't respond to a customer like that.

The breakfast buffet is outrageously priced at $20 per person with poor service and not very good food. I wanted to try the Brazilian steak house, but I am afraid to eat in this place.

The last time couple of times I came to San Salvador I stayed at either the Marriott or the Hilton Princess. Either hotel is a much better value for the money and the staff at both places goes out of their way to help you out. There are some great hotels in this city, but The InterContinental Real San Salvador is not one of them. They fail to deliver value and/or service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Front Office Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear rockingordo

Regards from the family of Real InterContinental San Salvador

I would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know all the inconveniences you had during your stay. I am very sorry to find out that you did not enjoy your time with us and I would like to express our most sincere apologies.

We really appreciate your comments and we know there is nothing we can do now to amend it; however, we would like to have the opportunity to contact you to know more details in order to amend these situations. Please be sure all of our Priority Club members are very important to us, please give us the opportunity to stay with us in a new future and I will make sure we will avoid all of these or any other kind of incidents.

Please do not hesitate to write me at: alba.alfaro@r-hr.com

Sincerely,

Alba Lilian Alfaro.
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BXL
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Good business Hotel. Provides all the necessary services needed by a business traveler.
Moreover rooms are spacious and beds confortable.
The surprise were the restaurants. Both the mexican and the brazilian restaurants are quite quite good. A special remark must go to the brazilian restaurant, where the meat really tastes like brazilian meat, which is no easy feat.
All in all, thumbs up for hotel and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear NunoMS:

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the time you spent with us and it is great to know that you enjoyed our mexican and brazilian restaurants.
We hope you will come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall

Address: Blvd. de los Heroes and Avenue Sisimiles, San Salvador AP 05 44, El Salvador
Phone Number:
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Salvador
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Salvador
#4 Family Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de lujo ubicado en el centro de entretenimiento y negocios de la ciudad, frente al Centro Comercial mas grande de Centro America, con facil acceso al aeropuerto. Habitaciones recientemente renovadas con ventanas anti ruidos, internet 50MB, camas especialmente disenadas con sabanas de algodon egipcio y otras comodidades. Disfruta del restaurante Faisca al estilo brasileno, Picasso de cocina mediterranea y el NAU Lounge Sushi bar. Explora los lugares locales como la Villa Maya Joya de Ceren ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotels Real San Salvador Hotel San Salvador
Intercontinental San Salvador
San Salvador Intercontinental
Real InterContinental San Salvador At Metrocentro Mall El Salvador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.