We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is a plus!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Salvador

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn San Salvador to your Saves list
Holiday Inn San Salvador
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd y Urbanizacion Santa Elena, San Salvador, El Salvador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazan, Honduras
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Location is a plus!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Went with my wife and had some issues during the check in, but the staff got it solved asap. The rooms are very clean and the room was spacious. Had two smalls food malls just in front of the Hotel which made it the best location. Please try San Martin at the left hand corner of the Hotel, best breakfast and pastry. The bathroom is very clean but needs some maintenance since it seems a bit old. Besides that I totally recommend you stay at the Holdiay Inn, everything is near by. The big shopping malls, fine restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Salvador, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Jose Luis A,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Holiday Inn San Salvador.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed our location and the size of our guestrooms. We value your feedback since it allows us to find areas of improvement and create memorable experiences for our guests. It will be shared with all related departments.

We would like to thank you again for your comments. It has been delightful to have you as our guest; we hope you will prefer us on your next trip to El Salvador.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    56
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
10
14
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I decided to give a second chance to this property and I do not regret it. The service overall has improved significantly. I liked he room quality and distribution. The breakfast buffet was very good and they changed some things from one day to the next, good!. The assistance the staff provided to the meeting we had here was very good and reliable. I think I will consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Look for a room in the floors four and higher to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Salvador, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear TucanTico,

Thank you for reviewing us.
We are elated to learn that you liked our guestrooms, breakfast and service. Our team is constantly searching for opportunities of improvement and your comments are an invaluable tool to continue working towards guest satisfaction.
It has been a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to have the opportunity of your visit in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs UK
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
158 hotel reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
338 helpful votes 338 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Arriving at this attractive looking hotel as a stopover on our way to Belize (although this hotel is not particularly near the airport - may be there are no hotels near by?). A "15 year old party" was in full swing - the very friendly & helpful receptionist gave us a room on the top floor facing over the front of the hotel (as opposed to the rear of the hotel, overlooking the pool where the party was being held).

We enjoyed a light supper at the very pleasant cafe on the ground floor, before retiring to bed for a peaceful night's sleep. Room & breakfast were fine. We had a walk around the shopping mall opposite - many well known American food establishments there - before departing for the airport & our onward flight

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Salvador, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear Kaw118,

We are delighted you had the opportunity to visit us on your way to Belize. Thank you for your feedback; we feel motivated by your comments and are very proud of our team. We hope you had a great trip!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

The hotel is fine, good reception, services, etc. The problem comes when in the rooms, at about 4.30am starts coming in all type of food smells from the air conditioning. Something's wrong in the engineer who designed this since most probably they are taking the air right from beside the kitchen is sending out its smells. So waking up with such a smell has made my stay terrible. I would never come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: not room 421 at least!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro B, Director de Recepción at Holiday Inn San Salvador, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Gonzalo Y,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy our guestroom experience. We have studied the issue to find its possible causes. Our results have been shared with the appropriate departments to prevent it from happening in the future. Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts; we hope to have the opportunity of seeing you on your next trip to El Salvador.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Very good hotel, clean rooms with a friendly staff and very helpful concierge that gave me very nice recommendations about tour agencies and things to do in San Salvador. Right across the street you will find Starbucks, McDonalds, but also a "mall" with good restaurants, so you won´t need to worry about taking a cab to find somewhere to eat at night, for example. At the hotel there is also a little charming café with really friendly staff and a delicious brownie - among other things!! And don´t worry about safety, it´s located in a very safe zone of the city and they have safe cabs parked all day long just outside the hotel. The best shopping malls of the city are not far away either, you won´t pay more than US$5 to go to Gran Vía, for example. Very nice place to stay, nothing to complain!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Salvador, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear Celso C,

We are thrilled to learn you enjoyed our rooms, staff and coffee shop. Thank you for sharing your kind comments. It has been a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

The staff was very helpful and the rooms were very clean. I would definitely stay there again and would also recommend it to others who are traveling to the area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

This is a good Holiday Inn.
Front desk people is really kind.
Fitness center is OK, and it is open until 11 pm (one thing I really value).
Not been able to have dinner at the hotel's restaurant this time, although it is really well situated.
Just in front, you can have plenty of dinning alternatives, and if you are willing to take a walk, "La Gran Via" is not far away (probably a 10 minute walk, which is not recommended to be done at night, better taking a taxi at that time).
The pool is kind of small, and not really sunny, so would not take it as a decision driver.
Great for business trips.
If you are going in December, I would recommend taking a street view room. Back rooms face to the pool, and might be a bit noisy, as the hotel rents some saloons for year end parties (in my case, there were graduation parties every night). No big deal if you can manage some noise when going to sleep, but might be disturbing for some people. This happened only in my last visit, in December, all other visits were OK.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn San Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Salvador

Address: Blvd y Urbanizacion Santa Elena, San Salvador, El Salvador
Phone Number:
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Salvador 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn San Salvador. Attractions: El Salvador Int'l Airport 27.5 Mi./44 Km., US Embassy 4 blks, Feria Int'l 1.8 Mi./3 Km., Botanic Garden 1/2 Mi./1 Km.,Arts & Crafts Market 1.5 Mi./2.5 Km., Casinos Nearby, Beaches and Ruins 30 min., Basilica de Guadalupe, 1/2 Mi./1 Km., La Gran Via 1/2Mi./1Km,Multiplaza 1/2Mi./1Km,Zona Rosa 2 Mi./3.5 Km., Flor Blanca Stadium 3.2 Mi./5 Km., Metro Cathedral 8 Mi./13 Km. Facilities: 126 rooms, 7 floors, 3 Suites, Mtgs/Banq. to 1000, int. corridor, elevator, free parking, Non-smoking floors. Features: outdoor pool, El Balsamo Restaurant, lounge bar, local and cable TV w/HBO/ESPN/CNN/TBS/TNT, Pay-Per-View movies, wheelchair acom., in-room coffee maker, hairdryer, in-room safety deposit box, smoke detector, gym/exercise room. Services: Business Center, scheduled airport shuttle ($18.00 each way). MISC.: No pets, no kennels Directions: From El Salvador Int'l Airport, take Comalapa Hwy to the Autopista Sur. Head Toward San Salvador City. Turn Left onto Autopista Sur, toward Santa Tecla City. Stay on Santa Tecla Hwy, turn left Toward Urb. Santa Elena, turn left onto Santa Elena Blvd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn San Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Salvador Hotel San Salvador
San Salvador Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Salvador El Salvador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Salvador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.